Gone in Seconds: A gripping and addictive crime thriller

· Bookouture
4.5
4 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

Spectacular read. It had me on the edge of my seat and I just couldn’t stop reading. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


A baby missing. A family in pieces. A shocking secret that can’t be told.


Landon and Jennifer Bartlett have everything—money, influence and a picture-perfect family. But it means nothing when their lives are torn apart the day someone breaks into their plush mansion and takes their newborn child right from his cot.


FBI Agent Max Carter investigates child abduction cases. He has a reputation for working all hours to find every missing child on his watch—after all, he was once one himself. When he visits the Bartletts’ sprawling home in an exclusive estate in the suburbs of Seattle, he’s immediately suspicious of Landon Bartlett and his brother Chase.


As Carter delves deeper into the lives of the brothers, he finds a web of dubious business deals and lies that could cost the Bartlett’s their entire family fortune. And it’s clear they will do anything to keep their secrets—but would they withhold vital information that could lead him to baby Ky’s kidnapper?


As Carter begins a cat-and-mouse game with the kidnapper, he receives some startling news from home, which stops him in his tracks. And when a young woman is spotted boarding a bus out of town with a baby fitting Ky’s description, he must decide whether to risk everything to find the missing child or save his own family.


Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Robert Dugoni will love this heart-pumping, pulse-racing crime thriller from bestselling author Ed James.


What readers are saying about Gone in Seconds:

‘Talk about a total thriller. I could NOT put this one downI really loved this book. It was super fast-paced and a quick read. I read it all in one sitting.’ Mama’s Book Ramblins’ Blog


‘Wow, wow, wow, wow. What a book!! I enjoyed every minute… A definite must-read!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Captivating… I was utterly gobsmacked by the ending… A real cracker of a page-turner.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I couldn’t put this book down! I began reading in the afternoon and had to finish it tonight. It’s THAT GOOD.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A great story with some gobsmacking revelations and a chilling finish that will make you want to pull your hair out because you have to wait for book three… Just loved it.B for Book Review, 5 stars


‘A spectacular read. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I loved this bookEvery page kept me wanting more and I finished it in a day.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Another great story full of twists and turns… A book you can’t put down until you finish it.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


‘Kept me up until the early hours of the morning because once I was hooked, I couldn’t put it down!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Excellent mystery novel… The storyline literally kept me glued to the pages.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Gritty and suspenseful… I didn’t want it to end.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


‘Had twists I never saw coming. I couldn’t put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘I can’t wait for the next instalment.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘I loved how every page left me wanting more. 5 stars!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Ratings and reviews

4.5
4 reviews
Marnie Harrison
June 17, 2020
When I was made aware of this book, I was instantly drawn to its cover and blurb. A police procedural with its lead character, a Special Agent from the FBI’s Child Abduction Rapid Deployment team, I was ready for this story to pull on the heartstrings. Ed transports the reader back to Seattle Washington where you are reunited with Special Agent Max Carter for his next assignment, when wealthy couple Landon and Jennifer Bartlett’s six-week-old son Ky, is kidnapped right under the babysitter’s nose. As with the majority of these cases, they are never cut and dry and it’s not long before Max uncovers more than a few skeletons in the Bartlett’s closet which becomes more than he bargained for. There are a number of characters in the mix that all have different motives, to throw you off the scent and the story is told from not only Max’s point of view, but from three of the other characters, which I enjoyed. Far from perfect and not without his own personal demons, I really liked Max’s character and he makes for a good strong lead to carry the weight of the series along on his shoulders. Although you can read Gone In Seconds as a stand-alone, there is a storyline from the first in the series, Tell Me Lies, that is carried over into this second instalment. I haven’t read this first book, but Ed gives the reader enough background information so there is no disadvantage here and it is very easy to pick it up and follow along. Gone in Seconds is a slow burn to start with, but does gain momentum along the way to a thrilling second half, as secrets and lies are exposed. There are also some thrilling twists and turns along the way to keep you on your toes and ones that you don’t see coming, which does make for an enjoyable and exciting read. It was a pleasure to read and review Gone in Seconds which I recommend. Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Ed James for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Gone In Seconds which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
Judy Odom
June 12, 2020
Kidnapping , murder , the Russian mob and most of all Max Carter , Special Agent to the FBI. Although this is book 2 in the series it can be read as a standalone (but I am off to read book 1) There are stories within stories in Gone in Seconds and that just keeps you on your toes, dodging curve balls and storing clues. Lots of action, the pages flew by for me and I for one am now a Max Carter fan ! Can't wait for book 3.
Kathleen Hughes
June 12, 2020
Gone in Seconds is a fantastic read! It’s a police procedural, a family drama, the story of a kidnapping and a fast-paced psychological thriller with the Russian mob thrown into the mix. It’s definitely a 5 star read! Landon and Jennifer Bartlett have a picture perfect life in their Seattle home with their 6 week old baby boy Ky. He’s the millionaire head of a family foundation, she’s a stay at home mother. When after a fundraising gala, they discover that Ky is missing, the FBI is called to investigate. Agent Max Carter is the lead investigator. He soon discovers that there is something off about this family. Landon’s brother Chase is definitely hiding something. And what is the connection between Kaitlyn, the young kidnapper, and the mysterious Layla, wanted for her involvement in another crime? And who owes money or favors to Boris Zangiev, a ruthless Russian mobster who is taking an unusual interest in the kidnapping case? All these questions will be answered but not before secrets are peeled away to reveal the truth that has been hiding just below the surface. Thanks to NetGalley, Bookouture and Ed James for this ARC.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.