Furyborn

· The Empirium Trilogy Book 1 · Sourcebooks, Inc.
4.0
41 reviews
Ebook
512
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

The first book in the instant New York Times bestselling series, the Empirium Trilogy!

Furyborn is an epic YA fantasy about two fiercely independent young women, centuries apart, who hold the power to save their world...or doom it.

When assassins ambush her best friend, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing herself as one of a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light, and one of blood. To prove she is the Sun Queen, Rielle must endure seven elemental magic trials. If she fails, she will be executed as the Blood Queen...unless the trials kill the queen first.

One thousand years later, the legend of Queen Rielle is a fairy tale to Eliana Ferracora. A bounty hunter for the Undying Empire, Eliana believes herself untouchable—until her mother vanishes. To find her, Eliana joins a rebel captain and discovers that the evil at the empire's heart is more terrible than she ever imagined.

As Rielle and Eliana fight in a cosmic war that spans millennia, their stories intersect, and the shocking connections between them ultimately determine the fate of their world—and of each other.

Perfect for:

  • Epic fantasy and dark fantasy YA readers
  • Fans of To Kill A Kingdom and Ash Princess
  • Lovers of dual POVs and epic world building
  • Those who enjoy fiction about strong girls and women

The Empirium Trilogy:

  • Furyborn (Book 1)
  • Kingsbane (Book 2)
  • Lightbringer (Book 3)

Praise for Furyborn:

"Set in an immersive world of elemental magic, legendary godsbeasts, and cutthroat assassins, Claire Legrand's Furyborn is an addictive, fascinating fantasy." — Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series

A BuzzFeed Most Anticipated Title of Spring 2018

A Goodreads Most Anticipated Title of Spring 2018

A Bustle Most Anticipated Title of Spring 2018

"A must-read." —Refinery29

"A series to watch." —Paste Magazine

"Visionary." —Bustle

"One of the biggest new YA Fantasies." —Entertainment Weekly

"Empowering." —BuzzFeed

4.0
41 reviews
Aditi Nichani
July 25, 2018
Furyborn was surrounded by ALL THE HYPE for MONTHS before it released. It was EVERYWHERE, and as a huge YA Fan, I knew I would have to read it, sooner rather than later. Furyborn was essentially: 1) A magnificent tale told across two millennia by two young girls 2) One lives in a land surrounded my magic, and the other in a land where magic is a fairy-tale of the past and all they know is the Empire that conquers all 3) One of these girls is an assassin and one is a temple acolyte 4) A story surrounding a prophecy about these two girls – a Sun Queen and a Blood Queen, one with the power to destroy the world and the other with the power to save it. 5) It has kingdoms, swoony princes, power, magical trials, angels and it’s just SUCH A GORGEOUS BOOK TO OWN! MY THOUGHTS: 1) I expected a LOT going into this book. A majority of the early reviews I read RAVED about this book, and I was very hopeful that I had found the NEXT THING I WOULD FALL HEAD OVER HEELS IN LOVE WITH. Now, as I sit at the end of Furyborn, I find that while I ENJOYED it, for the most part, this story was predictable and kind of MEH, except for ONE TWIST on page 343. 2) If I had to choose between Rielle and Eliana, I would definitely choose Rielle’s story. They were both a little predictable, but I definitely loved Rielle’s dark and twisty viewpoint better! 3) Furyborn was QUITE a long book. I feel like a lot of it was running around, especially in Eliana’s story when she kept travelling from place X to place Y, and not much happened that we DIDN’T ALREADY KNOW? 4) I ABSOLUTELY LOVED Audric and Rielle together, with their forbidden, best-friend romance. Honestly, I liked Furyborn, but I didn’t fall in love with it. There was a lot of hype around it, and it just didn’t live up to all that hype for me. A 3.5 star novel, but I hope I will continue on with the series!
5 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
July 23, 2018
Furyborn is a gloriously ambitious book, written by a writer who knows exactly what she's doing. From the first pages, I trusted that Legrand had control of her world--she revealed characters, motivations, and backstory in a way that stuck, made me intrigued to know more, and yet felt like it was only scratching the surface of a much larger world. I feel like every side character has a backstory, every city has real streets that are just around the corner, even if the book will never take the reader there. The real strength of this book is the two main characters. Rielle and Eliana are very different and have very different arcs, and yet are both compelling, complex, and challenging. From the start, both Rielle and Eliana have things to do in the story that are compelling. They trade off chapters--and somehow, every chapter seems to end on a perfect cliff hanger that makes me want to read more. The prologue establishes that Rielle is set out towards a tragic end. But in this book, we only see the start of it. She must compete in different magical tests to prove she is the sun queen. Legrand does a fantastic job of crafting cinematic magical tests for Rielle--and for making each one feel different and more important. Never is the action mechanistic--it always teaches Rielle something about herself, or her enemies. And it's fun and exciting to read. (Magical contests are hardly new, but this one is done well). Eliana is essentially a killer for hire, who works for the corrupt empire to keep her family safe. Eliana is such a perfect execution of that particular character type. She cares about other people, and yet is messy and complicated and sometimes betrays them, and will definitely do bad things for them. And yet she also wants to be better, and she is willing to do a lot for the people she cares about. Both are "chosen ones" - but in this story it doesn't feel trite. Their lives don't become easier after that revelation. They still have to fight for their titles and the victories feel hard earned. Finally, I was impressed with how much narrative ground this one book covered. I appreciate authors who move ahead at full speed, not drawing out things. I am sure the sequel will be even more epic because Legrand hasn't pulled punches here--this first installment matters: characters die, people betray others, things will never be the same again. And I can't wait for more.
4 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Hannah Ens
March 30, 2018
This book has absolutely earned its hype, the "most anticipated" title that it's being marketed with it is also well-deserved. It's a rare thing to find a single fantasy story that is original, exciting and full of powerful, intriguing characters, let alone two within one book. Rielle and Eliana's stories are connected, yes, but it's not in an in-your-face obvious way, which serves Furyborn very well. But for a few overlapping elements, they each read as fantastic, nearly standalone stories in their own right, and the way author Claire Legrand deftly weaves them together adds tremendously to the depth and magnitude of the plot. It's so interesting to see both sides of the coin in one story - Rielle's story provides the lead-up to an earthshaking event (which we get tantalizing hints of in the prologue), and Eliana's story is set in the devastatingly brutal Empire left in the aftermath of Rielle's time. In books with multiple POVs, I personally find it nearly impossible to not have a clear favorite, but in Furyborn, both Rielle and Eliana are strong, compelling, and fascinating in their own ways. I truly did not have a favorite, and was only tempted once to skip a chapter and get a peek ahead, and skimming can be a huge problem for me in other books. Fabulous writing, action, character development, worldbuilding, magic...everything. Fabulous everything.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Claire Legrand is the author of several novels for children and young adults, most notably The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, Some Kind of Happiness, Winterspell, and The Empirium Trilogy. Claire lives in New Jersey. Visit claire-legrand.com.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.