The Invisible Man

Sold by Simon and Schuster
6
Free sample

From the founding father of science fiction H.G. Wells, a masterpiece about a man trapped in the terror of his own creation.

The Invisible Man inspired The Map of Chaos by New York Times bestselling author Félix J. Palma. As a gift to readers, this ebook edition includes an excerpt from The Map of Chaos.
Read more

More by H. G. Wells

See more
Widely regarded as the father of science fiction, H. G. Wells was also a prolific author of history, politics and social commentary, whose works from an early date were renowned for their outspoken socialist views. This comprehensive eBook presents the most complete edition of Wells’ works possible in the US, with numerous illustrations, rare novels and tales, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 7)

* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Wells’ life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* ALL 32 novels in the US public domain, with individual contents tables
* Rare novels appearing for the first time in digital print
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* All of the short stories – including rare tales available in no other collection
* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories
* Easily locate the short stories you want to read
* Includes a wide selection of Wells’ non-fiction - spend hours exploring the author’s varied works
* Special criticism essay, evaluating Wells’ contribution to literature
* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres
* UPDATED with rare novels and many improvements (Major update)

Please note: due to US copyright restrictions, post-1922 works cannot appear in this edition. When new texts become available in your public domain, they will be added to the eBook as a free update.

Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting titles

CONTENTS:

The Novels
THE TIME MACHINE
THE WONDERFUL VISIT
THE ISLAND OF DOCTOR MOREAU
THE WHEELS OF CHANCE
THE INVISIBLE MAN
THE WAR OF THE WORLDS
WHEN THE SLEEPER WAKES
LOVE AND MR. LEWISHAM
THE FIRST MEN IN THE MOON
THE SEA LADY
THE FOOD OF THE GODS AND HOW IT CAME TO EARTH
KIPPS
A MODERN UTOPIA
IN THE DAYS OF THE COMET
THE WAR IN THE AIR
TONO-BUNGAY
ANN VERONICA
THE HISTORY OF MR. POLLY
THE SLEEPER AWAKES
THE NEW MACHIAVELLI
MARRIAGE
THE PASSIONATE FRIENDS
THE WIFE OF SIR ISAAC HARMAN
THE WORLD SET FREE
BEALBY: A HOLIDAY
BOON
THE RESEARCH MAGNIFICENT
MR. BRITLING SEES IT THROUGH
THE SOUL OF A BISHOP
JOAN AND PETER: THE STORY OF AN EDUCATION
THE UNDYING FIRE
THE SECRET PLACES OF THE HEART

The Short Story Collections
THE EARLY SHORT STORIES
SELECT CONVERSATIONS WITH AN UNCLE
THE STOLEN BACILLUS AND OTHER INCIDENTS
THE PLATTNER STORY AND OTHERS
TALES OF SPACE AND TIME
TWELVE STORIES AND A DREAM
THE COUNTRY OF THE BLIND AND OTHER STORIES
THE DOOR IN THE WALL AND OTHER STORIES
UNCOLLECTED SHORT STORIES

The Short Stories
LIST OF SHORT STORIES IN CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER
LIST OF SHORT STORIES IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER

Selected Non-Fiction
TEXT-BOOK OF BIOLOGY
CERTAIN PERSONAL MATTERS
ANTICIPATIONS OF THE REACTIONS OF MECHANICAL AND SCIENTIFIC PROGRESS UPON HUMAN LIFE AND THOUGHT
THE DISCOVERY OF THE FUTURE
PREFACE TO ‘Underground Man by Gabriel Tarde’
MANKIND IN THE MAKING
THE FUTURE IN AMERICA
THIS MISERY OF BOOTS
NEW WORLDS FOR OLD
FIRST AND LAST THINGS
FLOOR GAMES
LITTLE WARS
THE WAR THAT WILL END WAR
AN ENGLISHMAN LOOKS AT THE WORLD
WHAT IS COMING?
THE ELEMENTS OF RECONSTRUCTION
INTRODUCTION TO ‘Nocturne by Frank Swinnerton’
INTRODUCTION TO ‘The Pivot of Civilization by Margaret Sanger’
GOD THE INVISIBLE KING
WAR AND THE FUTURE
IN THE FOURTH YEAR
THE IDEA OF A LEAGUE OF NATIONS
THE OUTLINE OF HISTORY
RUSSIA IN THE SHADOWS
THE SALVAGING OF CIVILIZATION
A SHORT HISTORY OF THE WORLD
WASHINGTON AND THE HOPE OF PEACE

The Criticism
H. G. WELLS by J. D. Beresford
3.3
6 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
Nov 18, 2014
Read more
Pages
400
Read more
ISBN
9781476797496
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Classics
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.