Playing with Matches: A Novel

Sold by Simon and Schuster
1
Free sample

Named a Best Book of Summer by Refinery 29, Bustle, and PopSugar

“The best rom-com of the season…overflowing with charm and heart.”—Bustle

“The perfect Summer read—smart, funny, escapist, and bursting with charm.”—PopSugar

In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients.

Sasha Goldberg has a lot going for her: a recent journalism degree from NYU, an apartment with her best friend Caroline, and a relationship that would be amazing if her finance-bro boyfriend Jonathan would ever look up from his BlackBerry. But when her dream career falls through, she uses her family’s darkest secret to land a job as a matchmaker for New York City’s elite at the dating service Bliss.

Despite her inexperience, Sasha throws herself into her new career, trolling for catches on Tinder, coaching her clients through rejection, and dishing out dating advice to people twice her age. She sets up a TV exec who wanted kids five years ago, a forty-year-old baseball-loving virgin, and a consultant with a rigorous five-page checklist for her ideal match.

Sasha hopes to find her clients The One, like she did. But when Jonathan betrays her, she spirals out of control—and right into the arms of a writer with a charming Southern drawl, who she had previously set up with one of her clients. He’s strictly off-limits, but with her relationship on the rocks, all bets are off.

Fresh, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny, Playing with Matches is the addictive story about dating in today’s swipe-heavy society, and a young woman trying to find her own place in the world.
Read more

About the author

Hannah Orenstein is a writer and editor in New York. She's the dating editor at Elite Daily. Previously, she was a writer at Seventeen.com. At twenty-one, she became the youngest matchmaker at an elite dating service. She was born and raised in Boston, studied journalism and history at NYU, and lives in Manhattan with her fat cat, Eloise.

Read more
4.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
Jun 26, 2018
Read more
Pages
320
Read more
ISBN
9781501178504
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Family Life
Fiction / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.