ViolinMind: Intonation and Technique

· Ovation Press, Ltd.

About this ebook

ViolinMind is a pedagogical method book that focuses on intonation. It is a transcription for the violin of CelloMind published in 2017 by Ovation Press, Ltd. The co-authors of ViolinMind are Hans Jørgen Jensen, Professor of Cello at the Bienen School of Music at Northwestern University and Grigory Kalinovsky, Professor of Music (Violin) at Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. The mystery of intonation is dissected by defining the scientific principles behind it, and providing easy, intuitive examples of the three main kinds of intonation systems used today: Equal Temperament, Just, and Pythagorean. Playing with exquisite intonation has mostly been reserved for those who possess a strong intuitive sense of pitch and harmonic color; however, ViolinMind breaks down this barrier using a highly detailed, systematic approach, making the process of acquiring a sophisticated sense of intonation similar to any other technical skill. Chapters in the book explore in great detail topics such as the harmonic overtone series, the scientific principles behind Cents, the syntonic comma, the just scales, the Pythagorean comma, the Pythagorean semitones, advanced sympathetic vibrations, Tartini tones, and double stops studies in tritones. All chapters in the book include numerous practical samples and listening exercises that bridge the gap between the theory and its application. The chapters on intonation conclude with practical examples from the following repertoire: intonation performance practice in the Bach Sonatas and Partitas for Violin Solo (BWV 1001-1006), and intonation performance practice with piano. The appendices in the book provide detailed explanations about the Helmholtz intonation chart, the harmonic series, just intonation, the Schisma, as well as an illustration of two violin fingerboards from two method books from the 18th century showing pitch distribution for just intonation and Pythagorean intonation respectively.

About the author

Hans Jørgen Jensen, Professor of Cello at Northwestern University Bienen School of Music, is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including the 2010 Artist Teacher Award from the American String Teacher’s Association (ASTA), the Presidential Scholars Program Teacher Recognition Award from the U.S. Department of Education, and the Danish Music Critics Award in Copenhagen, one of Denmark's most prestigious awards. Professor Jensen has performed and taught master classes across the United States, as well as in Canada, Australia, Brazil, Europe, Israel, Japan, and South Korea. Many of his students are first prize winners in numerous national and international competitions, as well as members of major U.S. orchestras and leading music schools. Professor Jensen is also a faculty member of the Glenn Gould School in Toronto, Canada, the Young Artists Program at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, Canada, and the Meadowmount School of Music in Westport, New York. Jensen studied at the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Denmark with cellist Asger Lund Christiansen, and at the Juilliard School with Leonard Rose and Channing Robbins.

Dr. Chung has an international career in all performance milieus (solo, chamber, and orchestral), has taught master classes across four continents, and is a frequent guest artist at music festivals worldwide. She has been reviewed as “a bright light, her intelligent musicality and rich resonance a wonderful addition to any ensemble” by the Winnipeg Free Press. Dr. Chung is also the recipient of numerous awards, including the University of Manitoba’s Rh Award for Outstanding Contributions to Scholarship and Research.

Dr. Chung earned her degrees in cello performance at Oberlin Conservatory of Music (B.Mus.) with Norman Fischer and Peter Rejto, Northwestern University Bienen School of Music (M.Mus.) with Hans Jørgen Jensen, and SUNY Stony Brook University College of Arts and Sciences (D.M.A.) with Colin Carr.

Grigory Kalinovsky, Professor of Music (Violin) at Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, has performed at some of the world’s major venues, from all three stages of Carnegie Hall in New York to Musikhalle Grosser Saal in Hamburg. He has taught at many music festivals, including Zukerman’s Young Artists Program, Heifetz Institute, Bowdoin, Summit Music Festival, Pavel Vernikov’s “Il Violino Magico”, Manhattan in the Mountains, and IU Summer String Academy. In just the last few years, he has given over a hundred masterclasses at major conservatories across the US, Europe, Asia, and in Israel. His students have won top prizes at major international competitions, including Menuhin Young Violinists Competition and Tibor Varga Junior Violin Competition. Recordings include a critically acclaimed Centaur disk with pianist Tatiana Goncharova featuring Shostakovich’s Violin Sonata and Twenty-Four Preludes and a recent Naxos release of the complete Weinberg Sonatas for Violin and Piano. Mr. Kalinovsky started his violin studies with Tatiana Liberova in his native St. Petersburg, Russia, and graduated from Pinchas Zukerman’s Performance Program at the Manhattan School of Music where he studied with Mr. Zukerman and Patinka Kopec, later serving on the school’s faculty until his move to Indiana in 2013.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.