What He Did: A totally gripping crime thriller

· Bookouture
4.5
6 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

‘Loads of twists and turns… I read it in a day because I couldn't put it down… I certainly didn't see the final twist!! Absolutely brilliant!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Your husband’s car crash wasn’t an accident…


Maddy Shaw learns the life-shattering news in the most horrific way: live on air. As the shaky mobile phone recording pans over the terrible crash, she recognises her husband Simon’s car in the wreckage… He is critically injured, and she rushes to his side.


Detective Rachel Hart hurries to support her friend Maddy, and decides to investigate. It’s not her case, but she knows how it feels to have a loved one’s life hanging in the balance, and if she can give her friend answers, she will. But when she watches the footage, she sees a motorbike chasing the car at a dangerous speed. Simon didn’t crash because he was distracted, or because a tyre blew. Someone made this happen. Someone who wants Simon dead…


After the discovery of a threatening letter, buried in Simon’s diary, Maddy has to ask how well she knew her husband. Then a new victim is found – an old friend of Simon’s, a man he hasn’t seen in years. It seems a dark secret from their past has finally come to light… Is Maddy’s whole life built on a lie?


Can Rachel find the murderer and protect her friend, before time runs out? And will Maddy ever forgive her if the truth about Simon destroys everything she thought she knew?


A twisty and breath-taking thriller for fans of Rachel Abbott, Cara Hunter and Angela Marsons.


Readers absolutely love What He Did:


Twists and cliffhangers abound and I loved it!... Marvellous character development and stellar storytelling… an absolute page turner’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘J.G. Roberts certainly has my vote! A thriller that captivated me from the start. The amazing twists in this story are what hooked me into reading in one day… One heck of a book. Recommend!’ Goodreads Reviewer


‘What a thrilling read! I am loving this new series… intense, emotional, entertaining… This series has made my must-read list’ Goodreads Reviewer


‘As an avid reader of crime thrillers, this has got to be the best I’ve read for a long while... Great read’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘The ending just leaves the reader begging for more so I hope it won't be too long before book 3 comes along. I may just be first in the queue.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Hooked from the first page… tension and suspense, twists and turns galore… gripping and addictive… so Highly Recommended.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Amazing… had my attention from start to finish. Plenty of suspense and twists and turns… Can't wait for more.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A roller coaster of a read… kept me on the edge of my seat throughout… thoroughly recommend this book and will definitely be reading Rachel Hart Book 3.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘The first book in this series was great but this is even better… an intense and emotional read that grips you from page 1… can’t wait for book 3.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘If you want a book that keeps you hooked then I recommend you read this, it was channelling every emotion possible and leave you gasping for breath and just wanting to read one more page’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Ratings and reviews

4.5
6 reviews
Marnie Harrison
October 23, 2019
What He Did, is one hell of a read! Right from the beginning I was hooked and glued to the pages as I was taken on a wild ride, full of twists and turns. On many occasions throughout I was holding my breath with a racing heart as to how this was all going to unfold. It all wraps up nicely but then Julia throws in an OMG ending that has set up and now has me waiting very impatiently for the third instalment! For the second instalment, we see Rachel embroiled in a new case when Simon the husband of her friend Maddy is involved in a horrific car accident. What appears to be just any other road accident, soon becomes clear to Rachel that there is more to it and is in fact the work of a killer. While Rachel has her work cut out for her in finding out why Simon has been targeted and to solve the crime before the killer strikes again, Maddy finds a threatening letter that has been sent to Simon and must comes to terms that Simon has been hiding something from her and just may not be the man she has thought him to be. Julia has created a strong character in Rachel which I love and has been brought to life perfectly in these two instalments. She has an extremely strong work ethic and gives it her all when solving a case. She is a no nonsense person, but does also have a caring side. If I have seen correctly where the next book is going to go, I think we will see more of a vulnerable side to her which I look forward to exploring. Tom, who Rachel is seeing is a character that has me in two minds. I really want to believe he is a good guy but I always had a feeling of unease when reading scenes he was in. I also look forward to seeing how he is going to play out. I also enjoyed the character of Maddy and hope to see her again in future stories Julia has a writing style that flows well, is articulate, succinct and captivating. The story moves at a fast pace, to the point that I was so caught up in the story that I was unaware how much I had actually read in one go. If it hadn’t been for life rudely interrupting my reading time I would actually have read this in one sitting. When I did get to the end I was disappointed that it was over but satisfied that I had just read another thrilling story from such a talented author. What He Did, can be read as a standalone and you are given enough information from the first book to be able to follow along, but you would be doing yourself an injustice in not reading Little Girl Missing. I can see that this series is just going to keep going from strength to strength and I look forward to the next instalment and many more to come. It was an absolute pleasure to read and review What He Did. Thank-you to NetGalley, Bookouture and J.G. Roberts for allowing me to read an advanced copy of What He Did which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
3 people found this review helpful
Linda Strong
June 1, 2020
Detective Rachel Hart gets a call from her good friend, Maddy. Maddy's husband, Simon, has been involved in a horrific car crash and is critically injured. Although not her case, Rachel decides to investigate .. and finds that someone on a motorbike caused the crash. Upon watching all the tapes, that someone fired a bullet into Simon's car, causing the accident. During the ongoing investigation, Maddy begins to have doubts about her husband. He took out a second mortgage on their home by forging her signature. She's also found a threatening letter to Simon with a list of names of the back of the note. Giving this information to Rachel, the detective finds that the names belong to friends from the past.... and one of those names recently died. And then there's another death ..another of the names that can be scratched off the list. And yet another .... What is their connection? Is Simon even who his wife thinks he is? Does he have secrets so deep, so dark that they rip the very fabric of their relationship? A solidly written plot with deftly drawn characters and loads of action makes this a real page turner. Rachel is an ideal serial character and I like how the author has blended both her professional and personal lives. There is a slight cliff-hanger, making me whet my appetite to start book 3 in this series. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime fiction. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
1 person found this review helpful
Andrea Ashurst
November 7, 2019
Very good read, would recommend this author 100%

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.