Last Day Alive: An absolutely gripping mystery thriller

· Bookouture
4.9
7 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

‘OHHH SNAP!!! This book was GOOD!!... incredibly twisted, fascinating and had mind-blowing shocking revelations!... I was literally yelling into my Kindle!... Just WOW!! What an ending to an amazing read!!’ Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


One hot summer’s evening, ten-year-old Piper Chase went off on her pink bicycle towards the dark woods on Black Heart Lane.


Detective Kimberley King knows that the first twenty-four hours in a missing child investigation are the most critical. Piper was heading to a sleepover at her best friend Miley’s house, just like a hundred times before. But now Piper’s grandparents are blaming themselves, shaking with grief, and Kimberley knows the family will never be the same. With no witnesses, and darkness falling, she begins to fear the worst. She longs to find the little girl with wide blue eyes and an infectious smile, but when her team discovers Piper’s body in a woodland clearing, lying on a bed of moss, something inside her dies.


Then she gets a call that chills her to the bone. Piper’s friend Miley has gone missing too.


Desperate to find the monster who has taken these little girls, Kimberley chases down all the leads she has. The summer camp counsellor, who the little girls hero-worshipped. Piper’s downbeat uncle, who arrived back in town the day she disappeared…


And as another dark night descends, Kimberley can’t stop thinking about Miley, trapped and frightened. With the clock ticking, Kimberley knows she must act fast, before another innocent life is stolen.


A gripping, heart-wrenching crime thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat, holding your breath. Last Day Alive is perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Carol Wyer.


What everyone’s saying about Last Day Alive:


I’m pretty sure my head is still spinning and I’m still like WHAT right now… had me guessing literally the ENTIRE book and sitting on the edge of my seat… This was an exciting one. And I love how badass Kimberley King is. I want to be her when I grow up… 5/5 from me!” Shebagsaboutbooks, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Truly unputdownable and kept me guessing until the end! This story kept me on the edge of my seat and I could not turn the pages fast enough!… If you love crime and thriller books as much as I do, definitely you will love this book too. Highly recommend you read it. Absolutely this book deserved 5 stars.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“She’s done it again!! I read this book in 24 hours (68% in the first sitting); it truly is UNPUTDOWNABLE! We need more Kimberley King!” Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I read this in one sitting, I could not put it down… I loved everything about this book, and that ENDING. I need book number 3 ASAP!!!” Boozin’ With Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“An absolutely captivating, fast paced, brilliant book!!… I can't wait for the next one. Definitely deserves five stars.” Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Detective Kimberley King kept me on the edge of my seat throughout this book and I could not turn the pages fast enough!… I highly recommend reading Last Day Alive, and everything else by J.R. Adler.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I’m a first-time reader of J.R. Adler, and I am hooked!... A great read!!’ Tropical Delusions ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“I’m a thriller junkie and this is the kind of book where you just don’t know who did it, you’re completely surprised at the end and then left hanging! I cannot wait for book 3.’” Jayme Reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Ratings and reviews

4.9
7 reviews
A Google user
June 10, 2021
My Review: Loved, loved, loved this book. This was my first book by this author and I loved every minute of it. It was a shorter book which made this a fast and easy read. It was part of a series but could definitely be read as a stand alone. I became aware of this author because of another book she wrote under a different name of Jeneva Rose. There was a controversy over that book with her marketing strategy of using Tik Tok to promote the book. People were believing that the book was real and she was defending her husband after killing his mistress. Jeneva Rose got a lot of attention from it and that book became a hit. I can’t wait to read that one by her as well. Ok more on this book. What didn’t I love about this book is the real question. I loved every character in this book but I especially loved Kimberly and Sam the most. They had such great chemistry together and I was rooting for them the whole entire book. I just knew they would solve the case and save the day. What really caught my eye when I picked up this book was the blurb. I read it and knew right away I had to read this book. Who doesn’t love a good mystery and this book had it all. On to that shocking of a twist ending. This author really has a warped mind to come up with that. Boy was I floored on who done it and why but I wouldn’t have it any other way. The twisty endings are the reason why I read these books. I love being shocked to the core and this book sure did that. Kudos to this author for writing such an amazing book. Between the plot, characters and all the twists in this book it made it an easy and fast read. I would definitely recommend it and happily give it 5 Hearts❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
DJ Sakata
April 24, 2021
I am continuing to enjoy this series and new author. It is surprisingly enjoyable to read a story that incorporates a small rural area that I was once familiar with. I felt so engaged and familiar with the unfolding story that I was expecting to see family names and gossip of the actual denizens reported. The storylines were active, tragic, and tense with anxiety, grief, and frustration as the small rural county police force labored to find a missing child, only to experience the heartbreak of finding her body and then endeavoring past exhaustion to solve her murder with little to go on. So much for a peaceful downsized job after leaving the NYPD. In addition to the murder case bonus entertainment value was provided by additional servings and tasty offerings of family drama, potential romantic considerations, and observations of small-town issues and the off-beat and eccentric characters residing there. I’m always eager to get the down-low on secrets and amusing sightings of quirk. But, of course, my favorite character continues to be Barb, the ever cheerful, spunky, genius baker, and gun-toting senior citizen who seems to be three steps ahead of everyone's needs, both in and outside the office. We all need a Barb in our lives.
1 person found this review helpful
Cathy Geha
April 22, 2021
Last Day Alive by J.R. Adler Detective Kimberley King #2 Two little girls Close as sisters One disappears Then the other. Gripping story Beginning to end Once I began reading I couldn’t stop till the end. What I liked: * Kimberley: mother, daughter, detective, professional, experienced, focused, dedicated, may be ready for a bit of romance but…with whom? * Sam: widow, lost both son and wife, lost at times, professional, focused, conflicted, may have potential romance brewing…if/when he is ready * Caleb: single father, new in town, works construction, interested in Kimberley, intriguing but is he the one for Kimberley or not? * The police procedural aspects of the story * The writing style and how it drew me in * The setting of the story * Barb: an anchor for the police department * Most of the team that works with Sam and Kimberley * Jessica: Kimberley’s toddler * Wondering if Nicole would get her act together * The HEA for at least one character in the book * Looking forward to what comes next What I didn’t like: * The psycho killer on the loose * Knowing that people are as crazy and lethal as the psycho killer * Having to wait for the next book to come out Did I enjoy this book? Yes Would I read more in this series? Definitely Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC – This is my honest review. 5 Stars

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.