The Little Wedding Island: Book 2

Sold by HarperCollins UK
3
Free sample

‘Just fabulous!’ Sparkly Word ‘Will you... pretend to marry me?’

Bonnie Haskett loves everything about weddings. She loves her job at a national bridal magazine and even has a deposit down on her dream dress. The only problem? She doesn’t have a fiancé!

So when Bonnie is sent to Edelweiss Island, known as ‘The Little Wedding Island’, it’s a dream come true. She’s heard the rumours, every wedding that takes place in the tiny chapel ends in a happy-ever-after.

But there’s a catch! Investigating the story, Bonnie needs to pose as a blushing bride – and the only man up for posing as her groom is her arch rival (and far too handsome for his own good) journalist Rohan Carter...

A gorgeously uplifting summer romance. Perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Caroline Roberts.

What readers are saying about The Little Wedding Island:

‘Such a delightful and engaging read.’ Renee Cupp (NetGalley reviewer)

‘One of the best books I have read.’ Annette Naish (NetGalley reviewer)

‘You don’t want it to end.’ Kat Robson (NetGalley reviewer)

‘Absolutely fantastic!’ Lynn McCrum (NetGalley reviewer)

Read more
Collapse

About the author

JAIMIE ADMANS is a 32-year-old English-sounding Welsh girl with an awkward-to-spell name. She lives in South Wales and enjoys writing, gardening, watching horror movies and drinking tea, although she’s seriously considering marrying her coffee machine. She loves autumn and winter, and singing songs from musicals despite the fact she’s got the voice of a dying hyena. She hates spiders, hot weather and cheese & onion crisps. She spends far too much time on Twitter and owns too many pairs of boots. She will never have time to read all the books she wants to read.

Jaimie loves to hear from readers, you can visit her website at www.jaimieadmans.com or connect on Twitter @be_the_spark.

Read more
Collapse
5.0
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 2, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
384
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780008271572
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Fiction / General
Fiction / Mashups
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Holiday
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Fiction / Sea Stories
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Wall Street Journal • O: The Oprah Magazine • The Economist • Vogue • Slate • Chicago Tribune • The Seattle Times • Dayton Daily News • Publishers Weekly • Alan Cheuse, NPR’s All Things Considered
 
SELECTED ONE OF THE TOP 10 BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times • Entertainment Weekly • The Christian Science Monitor • The Kansas City Star • Library Journal

Weaving a brilliant latticework of family legend, loss, and love, Téa Obreht, the youngest of The New Yorker’s twenty best American fiction writers under forty, has spun a timeless novel that will establish her as one of the most vibrant, original authors of her generation.

In a Balkan country mending from years of conflict, Natalia, a young doctor, arrives on a mission of mercy at an orphanage by the sea. By the time she and her lifelong friend Zóra begin to inoculate the children there, she feels age-old superstitions and secrets gathering everywhere around her. Secrets her outwardly cheerful hosts have chosen not to tell her. Secrets involving the strange family digging for something in the surrounding vineyards. Secrets hidden in the landscape itself.

But Natalia is also confronting a private, hurtful mystery of her own: the inexplicable circumstances surrounding her beloved grandfather’s recent death. After telling her grandmother that he was on his way to meet Natalia, he instead set off for a ramshackle settlement none of their family had ever heard of and died there alone. A famed physician, her grandfather must have known that he was too ill to travel. Why he left home becomes a riddle Natalia is compelled to unravel.
 
Grief struck and searching for clues to her grandfather’s final state of mind, she turns to the stories he told her when she was a child. On their weeklytrips to the zoo he would read to her from a worn copy of Rudyard Kipling’s The Jungle Book, which he carried with him everywhere; later, he told her stories of his own encounters over many years with “the deathless man,” a vagabond who claimed to be immortal and appeared never to age. But the most extraordinary story of all is the one her grandfather never told her, the one Natalia must discover for herself. One winter during the Second World War, his childhood village was snowbound, cut off even from the encroaching German invaders but haunted by another, fierce presence: a tiger who comes ever closer under cover of darkness. “These stories,” Natalia comes to understand, “run like secret rivers through all the other stories” of her grandfather’s life. And it is ultimately within these rich, luminous narratives that she will find the answer she is looking for.

I know everything about you.

And you know everything about me... except



WHO I AM.

Andi met Camilla at university. Instantly best friends, they shared everything together. Until their long-planned graduation celebration ends in tragedy...

Years later, Andi is living a seemingly perfect life on the rugged Cornish Coast with her loving husband, happy children and dream home. Yet Andi is haunted by a secret she thought only she knew.

Someone out there is bringing Andi's deepest fears to life. And she knows there's no escaping the past that has come back to haunt her...

You trusted me with your secrets, you told me everything, you thought I was your best friend... but you have no idea WHO I AM.

Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Lucy Clarke and Theresa Driscoll.

Praise for Sarah Simpson:

'Dark and twisty; devious and taut ... Will keep you from sleep and in suspense!' Diane Jeffrey, author of Those Who Lie.

'I found myself fully hooked right from the start' Jade Gillan.

'A great debut novel ... Will definitely read another by this author!' Johnna Whetstone.

'A book to take your breath away. The layers are unpeeled slowly and deliberately and it is deep, dark and tantalising!' Grace J Reviewerlady.

'I love mystery books and this one kept me guessing ... Highly recommended!' Erika Estrela.

'Get ready, it's unlike anything you've read before. WOW!' Sherri Thacker.

'A really great book with some tough scenes to read. Highly recommend' Mandy White.

'A tense and exciting psychological thriller ... The plot was unbelievably chilling and culminated in a nerve-racking conclusion' Joan Clapham.

'Congratulations on a well-crafted, emotionally challenging debut novel' Jeannette McAnderson.

'Wonderful debut psychological thriller' Annie McDonnell.

'Probably the best book I read this year which is even more amazing for a debut novel' Breakaway Reviewers.

'Wow! This book certainly packed some punch!' Heidi F, NetGalley.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.