Rainseeker: A Thrilling Retelling of Beauty and the Beast

Price World Publishing
Free sample

 Tavia Osraige is the princess of the vast kingdom of Siddel. Her physical beauty is unmatched, but her heart is mired in selfishness and conceit. When her father, the King, falls into an inexplicable coma, Tavia is left unprotected from mystical forces that rob her of her attractiveness, leaving Tavia with the face of hideousness.  Made an outcast, Tavia is all but willing to disappear into exile until she meets two kind commoners whose world is devastated by a merciless villain known only as The Knox. 


Relegated to her cursed façade, Tavia chooses to don a black hood and a warrior’s sword to fight with Siddel’s army to defeat The Knox and his band of murderous thugs. Only when she falls in love with the brave commander of Siddel’s forces does Tavia learn that the only way to break her curse is with her willingness to live and die for a credo that promises to make her into the woman she was destined to be.

Read more

About the author

 Jeanette Matern received her Bachelor's degree in journalism from the University of Utah and did her post graduate work at the University of Phoenix in Secondary Education. She works as a private teacher and musician in Sandy, Utah where she lives with her husband and two young sons.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Price World Publishing
Read more
Published on
Mar 31, 2014
Read more
Pages
294
Read more
ISBN
9781619843639
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Juvenile Fiction / Girls & Women
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The epic million-copy bestseller, available as an ebook for the first time

The moles of Duncton Wood live in the shadow of Mandrake, a cruel tyrant corrupted by absolute power. A solitary young mole, Bracken, is thrown into leading the fight to free Duncton Wood. Only by putting his trust in the ancient Stone, forgotten symbol of a great spiritual past, can he find the strength to challenge Mandrake’s darkness.

When Bracken falls in love with Rebecca, Mandrake’s daughter, the moles must make life and death choices as their extraordinary search for freedom and truth begins... Together Bracken and Rebecca will embark on moving journey that will challenge them in ways they could never have imagined. But can they save Duncton before it’s too late?

Duncton Wood is the first instalment in The Duncton Chronicles, an unforgettable six-book series now widely regarded as a fantasy classic. For readers of J.R.R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques and Richard Adams’ Watership Down, this is a quest into the heart of nature, the redemptive power of love and the triumph of spirit.

The Duncton Chronicles

Duncton Wood

Duncton Quest

Duncton Found

Praise for Duncton Wood

‘An inspiring novel... An epic in the tradition of The Lord of the Rings’ Sunday Times

‘A breathtaking achievement’ Washington Post

‘A passionate, lyrical, appealing tale... Consistently absorbing... Enchanting’ Cosmopolitan

‘A great big mole-epic with a great big theme’ Daily Mail

‘Horwood has placed his astute ear to the ground and fashioned... a modern masterpiece... Classic themes of conflict are here, good and evil, love and hate, the clash of traditional and modern values.’ Houston Chronicle

‘Destined to be a classic... A beautiful story.’ Little Rock Arkansas Gazette

'An earthy epic fantasy... The themes of power, survival, passion, courage, sacrifice, love and devotion are presented with astonishing clarity.' Los Angeles Times Book Review

‘An absolute spell-binder, by Lord of the Rings out of Watership Down. I found it enchanting, compulsive reading... I am still haunted by its beauty’ Magnus Magnusson

‘The stuff of legend... Horwood’s natural world is lyrically realised, his mole empire a delight, his romantic tale full of adventure, suspense, battle and searchings... A rich, cautionary fairy tale.’ Publishers Weekly

‘More readable and more rewarding than The Lord of the Rings’ The Times

‘Special, endearing, successful... truly touching... This is a novel for the pure-at-heart and slightly naive, for the childishness in the weary, and the children we should be having... Allegorically fabulous.’ Village Voice

‘Luxuriantly written... richly drawn, painting a detailed and loving panorama.’ Associated Press

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.