Rainseeker: A Thrilling Retelling of Beauty and the Beast

Price World Publishing
Free sample

 Tavia Osraige is the princess of the vast kingdom of Siddel. Her physical beauty is unmatched, but her heart is mired in selfishness and conceit. When her father, the King, falls into an inexplicable coma, Tavia is left unprotected from mystical forces that rob her of her attractiveness, leaving Tavia with the face of hideousness.  Made an outcast, Tavia is all but willing to disappear into exile until she meets two kind commoners whose world is devastated by a merciless villain known only as The Knox. 


Relegated to her cursed façade, Tavia chooses to don a black hood and a warrior’s sword to fight with Siddel’s army to defeat The Knox and his band of murderous thugs. Only when she falls in love with the brave commander of Siddel’s forces does Tavia learn that the only way to break her curse is with her willingness to live and die for a credo that promises to make her into the woman she was destined to be.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

 Jeanette Matern received her Bachelor's degree in journalism from the University of Utah and did her post graduate work at the University of Phoenix in Secondary Education. She works as a private teacher and musician in Sandy, Utah where she lives with her husband and two young sons.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Price World Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 31, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
294
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781619843639
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Juvenile Fiction / Girls & Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.
 
Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that’s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette
 
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.