The House We Called Home

Sold by HarperCollins UK
Free sample

'Love, humour, family and hope – the perfect ingredients for a summer read' Debbie Johnson ‘Dramatic and fun!’ My Weekly

Irresistible, feel-good summer fiction, from Top 10 bestseller Jenny Oliver

***Shortlisted for The Golsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award***

The house where Stella and her sister Amy grew up never changes – the red front door, the breath-taking view over the Cornish coast, her parents in their usual spots on the sofa. Except this summer, things feel a little different...

Stella’s father is nowhere to be seen, yet her mother – in suspiciously new Per Una jeans – seems curiously unfazed by his absence, and more eager to talk about her mysterious dog-walking buddy Mitch.

Stella’s sister Amy has returned home with a new boyfriend she can barely stand and a secret to hide, and Stella’s husband Jack has something he wants to get off his chest too. Even Frank Sinatra, the dog, has a guilty air about him.
This summer, change is in the air for the Whitethorns...

Warm, funny and gloriously feel-good, this is the perfect summer read for fans of Veronica Henry and Milly Johnson.

Praise for Jenny Oliver:

‘This book made me want to fly to Spain and dance on the beach with a glass of sangria in my hand. The perfect summer read.’ Sarah Morgan

‘Brilliantly written, this is packed full of humour and there is a wonderful thread of love... A perfect holiday read.’ The Sun

‘Heartwarming, funny and wonderfully observed, The House We Called Home explores one family's wake-up call with wit and wisdom. Jenny Oliver's characters are so real and relatable they could just walk off the page.’ Fiona Harper

Read more
Collapse

More by Jenny Oliver

See more
'You know you're in for a treat when you open a Jenny Oliver book' Debbie Johnson From the top 10 best-selling author of The Summerhouse by the Sea

Welcome to Jenny Oliver’s brand new Cherry Pie Island series!

Home, Sweet Home....?

There’s nowhere more deliciously welcoming...

When Annie White steps back onto Cherry Pie Island, it’s safe to say her newly inherited Dandelion Café has seen better days! And while her childhood home on the Thames-side island idyll is exactly the same retreat from the urban bustle of London she remembers, Annie’s not convinced that Owner of The Dandelion Cafe is a title she’ll be keeping for long. Not that she can bear the idea of letting her dedicated, if endearingly disorganized staff lose their jobs. Plus café life does also have the added bonus of working a stone’s throw away from millionaire Matt and his disarmingly charming smile!

One (shoestring budget) café makeover, a few delightful additions to the somewhat retro menu and a lot of cherry pie tastings later, The Dandelion Café is ready for its grand reopening! But once she’s brought the dilapidated old café back to life, Annie finds herself wishing her stay on the island was just a bit longer. She always intended to go back to the big city...but could island living finally have lured her back home for good?

Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Sophie Kinsella and Cathy Bramley.

The Cherry Pie Island series

The Grand Reopening of Dandelion Café – Book 1

The Vintage Ice Cream Van Road Trip – Book 2

The Great Allotment Challenge – Book 3

One Summer Night at the Ritz – Book 4

The Grand Reopening of Dandelion Café is Book 1 in The Cherry Pie Island series.

Each part of Cherry Pie Island can be read and enjoyed as a standalone story – or as part of the utterly delightful series.

Praise for Jenny Oliver

'I thoroughly enjoyed this book it had a sprinkling of festivity, a touch of romance and a glorious amount of mouth-watering baking!' - Rea Book Review on The Parisian Christmas Bake Off

'With gorgeous descriptions of Paris, Christmas, copious amounts of delicious baking that’ll make your mouth water, and lots and lots of snow – what more could you ask for from a Christmas novel!' – Bookboodle on The Parisian Christmas Bake Off

'The baking part of the book is incredibly well written; fans of The Great British Bake Off will not be disappointed to see all their favourites in here! This is a lovely little read that is perfect for the festive period!' - Hanging on Every Word on The Parisian Christmas Bake Off

’ ideal for a summer read.' – Catch a Single Thought on The Vintage Summer Wedding

'Jenny Oliver writes contemporary women's fiction which leaves you with a warm, fuzzy feeling inside.’ – Books with Bunny on The Vintage Summer Wedding

'...it was everything I enjoy. Oliver did a wonderful job of allowing us to immerse ourselves in the lives of the pair, she created characters that were likeable and well rounded...I couldn’t find a single flaw in the book.' - 5* stars from Afternoon Bookery to The Little Christmas Kitchen

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 28, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
384
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780008217990
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / General
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Fiction / Small Town & Rural
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Sometimes having it all isn’t enough...

Emma has everything she’s ever wanted. Her boyfriend’s just proposed and her career has finally taken off. And so what if her latest client just happens to be downright gorgeous? She’s getting married. Isn’t she?

Rachel’s married with 2.4 children (well, actually, 3) and life is all about trying to leave the house in a non-stained top. Once it was about skinny cappuccinos, cocktails and dynamic ad agency meetings. She wants her old life back, but can it ever be the same?

A gripping and laugh out loud story of two sisters and how often you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone.

Don't miss Annie Lyons' new novel: Life or Something Like It out now!

What readers are saying about Not Quite Perfect

'a humorous, lighthearted read' - Fiona's Book Reviews

'A great holiday read!' - Jill Steeples, author of Let's Call the Whole Thing Off

'Not Quite Perfect is such a page turner... I couldn’t put this book down and found myself crying with both laughter and sadness at this touching and thought-provoking story.' - Bookaholic Confessions

'Not Quite Perfect is a mixture of heart warming situations and light comedy. I found myself having a giggle and thinking ‘that’s so like my family’, on several occasions and that was nice and refreshing. Also, I will admit that I even cried in a few places because it pulled on my heart strings so much.' - A Book and a Tea

'Not Quite Perfect is a great title for this book. The writing is bubbly and vivid and very entertaining. It’s a story about trying to find out what is important in life and also that live can’t be perfect all the time.' - Sky's Book Corner

The laugh-out-loud new novel from the bestselling author, perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Jo Watson and Holly Martin.

Daisy’s had a tough year. After losing her mother and struggling with a job she hates, she really needs a break.

So, when her boyfriend suggests a summer getaway, Daisy jumps at the chance, organising a romantic trip to her friend Clemmy’s new glamping site. What better to help her heal than long walks in the fresh air and sipping prosecco under the stars?

But Daisy didn’t realise Toby hates all things outdoorsy – he’s far more bothered about working on the WiFi than walking in the wilderness. And when Toby isn’t there for Daisy when she needs him most, she starts to question whether he really is The One... especially with writer Jake distracting her from across the lake.

Will this be the relaxing getaway Daisy was hoping for? Or is this summer destined to end in disaster...?

Readers love Catherine Ferguson:

‘A lovely story about second chances and true love.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘A very sweet, feel-good love story with a few surprises thrown in.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Cecelia Ahern and Jill Mansell. I loved it [and] read in just one sitting.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘A lovely, cosy read.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘This is such a sweet read for summertime!’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘A great beach read, this book makes you cry and laugh throughout.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘A lovely, feel-good book that will leave you smiling from ear to ear and your heart soaring. One not to be missed.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘So fun and summery, it made me wish I was reading this book under the stars.’ NetGalley Reviewer

New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart presents a captivating contemporary romance novel in the tradition of Robyn Carr, Susan Mallery, and Barbara Freethy.

Life was always just about perfect for Brooke Madison Bowers. She was the prettiest, most popular girl in small-town St. Dennis, Maryland, a prom queen, local pageant star, and the pride and joy of her loving parents. She even married the man of her dreams. But the promise of happily ever after fell to pieces when her husband was killed while serving in Iraq. Brokenhearted and longing for the solace of better days, she returns to the idyllic world of St. Dennis, and the familiar comfort of the family farm. Surrounded by her loving family and friends, she’s determined to build a new life, complete with her own cupcake bakery. She’s equally determined never to fall in love again.

For Jesse Enright, life has been a challenge. A fourth-generation attorney, he’s spent his life fighting to escape the shadow of his irresponsible father. Now he’s moved to St. Dennis to run the family law practice, and he’s ready to find the right girl, get married, and settle down. But his carefully laid plans go out the window when he meets Brooke and finds himself caught between the unbreakable law of attraction and Brooke’s resolve to go her way alone—despite the undeniable feelings Jesse stirs in her. But just like catching lightning in a bottle, is it possible to fall head-over-heels, heart-and-soul in love all over again?

BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Mariah Stewart's Long Way Home.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.