The Bad Die Young

Open Road Media

A black defense attorney struggles with his obsession with the laziest whore in Harlem
From his penthouse in posh Sugar Hill, Edward Parkchester rules over Manhattan. A silver-tongued defense attorney with a flourishing criminal sideline, he has fame, fortune, and the respect of uptown and downtown alike. But for the right working girl he will throw it all away. He meets her at the Brig—a high-class cathouse that caters to the upper crust of Harlem society. Her name is Carla, and she does not bother to seduce him. She just lies there, munching on chocolate and working her way through the great books of Western literature. She is hypnotically indifferent, and he can’t get enough. His empire is crumbling beneath him, but Parky doesn’t notice. He’s too entranced by a prostitute who doesn’t give a damn.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Jerome Charyn (b. 1937) is the critically acclaimed author of nearly fifty books. Born in the Bronx, he attended Columbia College. After graduating, he took a job as a playground director and wrote in his spare time, producing his first novel, a Lower East Side fairytale called Once Upon a Droshky, in 1964. In 1974, Charyn published Blue Eyes, his first Isaac Sidel mystery. This first in the so-called Sidel quartet introduced the eccentric, near-mythic Sidel, and his bizarre cast of sidekicks. Although he completed the quartet with Secret Isaac (1978), Charyn followed the character through Under the Eye of God. Charyn, who divides his time between New York and Paris, is also accomplished at table tennis, and once ranked amongst France’s top 10 percent of ping-pong players.  
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 9, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
38
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781480410978
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"Elliott has a real feel for comedic noir in the Elmore Leonard vein, and his debut novel screams cult classic" —Booklist


Eddie Vegas made a terrible mistake. Now he has to pay the price. After a botched debt collection turned double murder, Eddie splits, desperate to avoid his employer, notorious L.A. crime boss Saul Benedict, and his men (and Eddie’s ex-partners), Floyd and Sawyer, as well as the police. Soon he becomes entangled with the clever and beautiful Dakota, a Native American woman fresh in the City of Angels to find her missing friend—someone Eddie might know something about. Meanwhile in Texas, ex-assassin Rufus, seeking vengeance for his murdered brother, takes up his beloved daggers one final time and begins the long drive to L.A. When the bodies begin to mount, Detective Alison Lockley’s hunt for the killers becomes increasingly urgent. As paths cross, confusion ensues, and no one’s entirely sure who’s after who. But one thing is clear: They’re not all getting out of this alive.


Praise for Nobody Move


“A multifaceted series opener by a promising new voice in hard-boiled crime fiction. Fans of Elmore Leonard and Jim Thompson will find much to savor”

—Kirkus Reviews


"a new spin on the genre"

—San Francisco Book Review


"makes reading fun again"

—US Review of Books


"impossible to put down"

—Kevin Wilson, NYT bestselling author of Nothing to See Here


"fast-paced and chock full of interesting characters [and] chillingly delicious evil"

—IndieReader


"first class neo-noir"

—Murder, Mayhem & More


"not a single dull moment"

—Online Book Club


"satire at its best"

—Readers' Favorite


"like Tarantino on the page . . . rushes at you from page one"

—Dietrich Kalteis, award-winning author of Poughkeepsie Shuffle


"Elliott has a gift for upholding momentum that never slows. The characterization is great, but it’s the high-octane action and a horde of twists along with tight plotting that make the book a winner"

—The Prairies Book Review

This taboo erotic novel is so sexy that we can't tell you about all the things in store for you in this blurb. Check out the "Free Excerpt" below for all the sexy details!

***Excerpt***
Sophia Loring emptied a handful of heavily-scented bubble-bath powder into the bathtub, and opened the water taps. She tested the flow with her fingers, then increased the hot water. She liked her baths steaming--hot as her sensitive skin could endure. It was her way of relaxing, a daily ritual after she had gotten Carl off to work and had a cup of coffee and a cigarette.

Clad in the blue robe Carl had given her for Christmas, Sophia walked into the bedroom and pulled out a dresser drawer. She selected a neatly folded pair of blue silk panties and matching bra, then walked back into the bathroom. She tested the water in the tub again, then sloshed it with her hands to build up the bubbles. She sat down on the side of the tub and sighed. Reflectively, she parted the robe at her thighs and thrust out a slender, tapered leg. Were her calves getting heavy, or was it only her imagination? She raised the leg higher and rotated her foot in the air--an exercise she had learned in her high school physical education class. Balancing delicately on the side of the tub, she thrust out the other leg and rotated both feet, watching the muscles in her calves knot and shimmer under the smooth, white skin.

Sophia rose and walked to the mirror. She wiped away the steam with the back of her hand, picked up a comb from the side of the lavatory, and ran it through her short-cropped hair. She examined her dark locks critically, deciding she could get by another week without a visit to the hairdresser. When one was running a budget fitted to a police sergeant's salary, there was little left for luxuries.

* * * *

Warning: This ebook contains explicit and forbidden descriptions of taboo sexual activity. It may include themes or elements of taboo, forbidden, and adult topics. It is intended for open minded mature readers who will not be offended by graphic depictions of sex acts between consenting adults.

XXX Adults Only 18+ Graphic Content
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.