Luckiest Girl Alive: A Novel

Sold by Simon and Schuster
2,207
Free sample

***AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER***

Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will thrill at “the perfect page-turner to start your summer” (People, Book of the Week): Luckiest Girl Alive—described by Reese Witherspoon as “one of those reads you just can’t put down!”

Loved Gone Girl? We promise [Luckiest Girl Alive is] just as addictive.”
Good Housekeeping


“Jessica Knoll introduces you to your new best frenemy, and you’re going to love it. . . .Destined to become one of the summer’s most gripping reads.”
—Bustle.com


“With the cunning and verve of Gillian Flynn but an intensity all its own, Luckiest Girl Alive is a debut you won’t want to miss.”
—Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me and The Fever


Luckiest Girl Alive is Gone Girl meets Cosmo meets Sex and the City. . . . Knoll hits it out of the park.”
Fort Worth Star-Telegram


HER PERFECT LIFE IS A PERFECT LIE.

As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiancé, she’s this close to living the perfect life she’s worked so hard to achieve.

But Ani has a secret.

There’s something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything.

With a singular voice and twists you won’t see coming, Luckiest Girl Alive explores the unbearable pressure that so many women feel to “have it all” and introduces a heroine whose sharp edges and cutthroat ambition have been protecting a scandalous truth, and a heart that's bigger than it first appears.

The question remains: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for—or, will it at long last, set Ani free?
Read more

About the author

Jessica Knoll is the New York Times bestselling author of Luckiest Girl Alive, which has been optioned for film by Lionsgate with Reese Witherspoon set to produce. She has been a senior editor at Cosmopolitan and the articles editor at Self. She grew up in the suburbs of Philadelphia and graduated from The Shipley School in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, and from Hobart and William Smith Colleges in Geneva, New York. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and her bulldog, Beatrice. The Favorite Sister is her second novel.

Read more

Reviews

3.3
2,207 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
May 12, 2015
Read more
Pages
352
Read more
ISBN
9781476789651
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Megan Miranda
***A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER***

A New York Times Book Review “Editors’ Choice”
Entertainment Weekly — Thriller Round-Up
The Wall Street Journal — 5 Killer Books for 2016
Hollywood Reporter — Hot Summer Books…16 Must Reads

“This thriller’s all of your fave page-turners (think: Luckiest Girl Alive, The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl) rolled into one.” —TheSkimm

“Both [Gillian] Flynn’s and Miranda’s main characters also reclaim the right of female characters to be more than victim or femme fatale… All the Missing Girls is set to become one of the best books of 2016.” —Los Angeles Review of Books

“Extremely interesting…a novel that will probably be called Hitchcockian.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Are you paying attention? You’ll need to be; this thriller will test your brain with its reverse chronological structure, and it’s a page-turner to boot.” —Elle

Like the spellbinding psychological suspense in The Girl on the Train and Luckiest Girl Alive, Megan Miranda’s novel is a nail-biting, breathtaking story about the disappearances of two young women—a decade apart—told in reverse.

It’s been ten years since Nicolette Farrell left her rural hometown after her best friend, Corinne, disappeared from Cooley Ridge without a trace. Back again to tie up loose ends and care for her ailing father, Nic is soon plunged into a shocking drama that reawakens Corinne’s case and breaks open old wounds long since stitched.

The decade-old investigation focused on Nic, her brother Daniel, boyfriend Tyler, and Corinne’s boyfriend Jackson. Since then, only Nic has left Cooley Ridge. Daniel and his wife, Laura, are expecting a baby; Jackson works at the town bar; and Tyler is dating Annaleise Carter, Nic’s younger neighbor and the group’s alibi the night Corinne disappeared. Then, within days of Nic’s return, Annaleise goes missing.

Told backwards—Day 15 to Day 1—from the time Annaleise goes missing, Nic works to unravel the truth about her younger neighbor’s disappearance, revealing shocking truths about her friends, her family, and what really happened to Corinne that night ten years ago.

Like nothing you’ve ever read before, All the Missing Girls delivers in all the right ways. With twists and turns that lead down dark alleys and dead ends, you may think you’re walking a familiar path, but then Megan Miranda turns it all upside down and inside out and leaves us wondering just how far we would be willing to go to protect those we love.
Jessica Knoll
»Lika smart och med samma kraft som Gillian Flynn, men med en alldeles egen sorts intensitet.« | Megan Abbott, författare till Om du vågar
»Den sortens bok som man bara inte kan lägga ifrån sig.« | Reese Witherspoon

Hennes perfekta liv är en fullkomlig lögn...
Som high school-elev vid prestigefyllda Bradley School fick Ani FaNelli utstå en chockerande, offentlig förnedring efter en serie omskakande och brutala händelser. Något som väckte ett desperat behov av en ny identitet.
I dag har hon ett glamouröst jobb på The Women’s Magazine i New York, en dyr garderob och en snygg framgångsrik fästman – hon är så nära att leva det perfekta liv hon arbetat så hårt för att förverkliga.
Men tonårens förnedring är inte Anis enda sår. Hennes förflutna rymmer också en smärtsam hemlighet. Något som fortsätter att hemsöka henne, som hotar att komma upp till ytan och förstöra allt.
Vad händer om Ani bryter sin tystnad: Skulle det till sist kunna befria henne – eller bara slå allt hon kämpat för i spillror?

JESSICA KNOLL är en amerikansk författare som gjort stor succé med sin debutroman, den listiga psykologiska thrillern Världens lyckligaste kvinna [Luckiest Girl Alive]. Romanen gick rakt in på både New York Times och USA Todays bestsellerlistor och långfilmen kommer att produceras av Reese Witherspoons bolag.

»Mörk, vriden, knivskarp. Som en skräckfilm i slow-motion.« | Entertainment Weekly

»Varje gång vi tror oss veta vart Ani och hennes historia är på väg blir vi överraskade av en ny, skickligt utförd vändning. Oumbärlig läsning!« | USA Today

»En våldsamt framgångsrik debutroman.« | The New York Times

»Kriminallitteratur när den är som bäst.« | L.A. Review of Books

»Lika beroendeframkallande som GONE GIRL.« | Good Housekeeping
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.