What Ever Happened to Jerry Picco?

· null
Ebook
260
Pages

About this ebook

WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO JERRY PICCO?

*** Farewell My Lovely meets Californication ***


Meet Jack Storm PhD, disgraced ex-college professor and unlicensed PI. Since getting turfed out of Berkeley for violent misconduct, he’s turned his brains and his 250-pound frame to solving crimes. Working out of Los Angeles (and the trunk of his 20 year-old Mercedes Benz), Jack has finally found his true place in life: the gutter.

When Jerry Picco goes missing, Jack is called in to help. Picco is the world’s greatest ‘erotic actor’, and his disappearance has come at a difficult time for the diminutive porn star. He’s left a heap of debt, a career in nosedive, and a screen partner with plenty reasons to want him gone.

Jack has his own reasons for trying to find him. Apart from anything else, he’s one of Jerry’s biggest fans. The only clues he’s got: a Polaroid of seven little men in the woods, and some story about a princess.

***

For fans of Carl Hiaasen and Janet Evanovich, What Ever Happened to Jerry Picco? is a humorous literary spoof, an unusual, quirky detective novel... a romp of a noir from prize-winning author John Barlow.

About the author

JOHN BARLOW won the Paris Review’s prestigious Discovery Prize for his first published story, and went on to publish fiction and non-fiction with HarperCollins, Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 4th Estate and various others in the UK, US, Australia, Russia, Italy, Germany, Spain and Poland. His current project, the LS9 crime mystery series, is set in Leeds and follows the life of John Ray, the half-Spanish son of crime boss Antonio ‘Tony’ Ray.

***

John was born in 1967 in West Yorkshire, England. He left school to become a musician, playing piano and organ in bars and clubs. He then studied English Literature at Cambridge University, followed by a PhD in Language Acquisition at Hull University.

He held teaching posts in a number of universities, before moving to Spain to write full-time, and currently lives in the Galician city of A Coruna with his wife and two sons.

Apart from his own writing, he works as a ghost writer, journalist and translator. He has written for the Washington Post, Slate.com, Penthouse and Departures magazine, among others, and was a feature writer for award-winning food magazine Spain Gourmetour.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.