A Vision of Light

The Margaret of Ashbury Trilogy

Book 1
Canelo
16

A village girl receives a divine vision that will lead her into the chambers of the English Inquisition...

Young, wealthy and twice married, Margaret has a modest enough ambition: she wishes to write a book. But this is 1355, and the notion of a woman wanting to record her experiences and thoughts is not just arrogant, it’s possibly heretical.
Three clerics contemptuously decline to be Margaret’s scribe, and it is only starvation that persuades Brother Gregory, a renegade Carthusian friar with a mysterious past, to take on the unseemly task of chronicling her life. As she narrates her life story, an extraordinary tale unfolds filled with perilous brushes with death, where a mix of miracle and Margaret’s innate intellect pull her through. But this is a world where a clever woman is at constant risk of being accused of witchcraft...
A Vision of Light, first in the critically acclaimed historical Margaret of Ashbury Trilogy is a remarkable novel that challenges all of our notions about women’s roles in the medieval era, perfect for fans of Ariana Franklin, Sarah Perry and Jessie Burton.
‘Both arresting and absorbing’ The New York Times
‘Fascinating and factual...If all chronicles of earthly life were recorded with such drama, flair, and wit, the world would be full of history majors’ Los Angeles Times
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Judith Merkle Riley was a professor of political science at Claremont College in California. Her bestselling books include The Margaret of Ashbury Trilogy, The Oracle Glass, The Serpent Garden, and The Master of All Desires. Her books have been heralded by The New York Times as ‘absorbing and arresting’ and by The Los Angeles Times as ‘fascinating and Factual.’ They have been sold in twelve countries and have made The New York Times and USA Today’s bestseller lists.

Read more
Collapse
4.0
16 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 15, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
350
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781788633130
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Fantasy / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Fantasy / Historical
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Historical / Medieval
Fiction / Thrillers / Historical
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.