The Fallen Girls: An absolutely unputdownable and gripping crime thriller

· Detective Clara Jefferies Book 1 · Bookouture
4.4
18 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

She didn’t notice the corn stalks shiver a few feet to her right. By the time she looked up, the man towered above her. In a single movement he wrapped one thick hand around her waist, the other he clamped over her mouth, muffling her screams.


Detective Clara Jefferies has spent years running from her childhood in Alber, Utah. But when she hears that her baby sister Delilah has disappeared, she knows that the peaceful community will be shattered, her family vulnerable, and that that she must face up to her past and go home.


Clara returns to find that her mother, Ardeth, has isolated her family by moving to the edge of town, in the shadow of the mountains. Ardeth refuses to talk to the police and won’t let Clara through the front door, believing she and her sister-wives can protect their own. But Clara knows better than anyone that her mother isn’t always capable of protecting her children.


When Clara finds out that two more girls have disappeared, all last seen around the cornfields near her family’s home, she realizes it’s not just Delilah who’s in danger. And then she gets a call that a body has been found…


Clara will have to dig deep into the town’s secrets if she’s going to find Delilah. But that will mean confronting the reason she left. And as she gets closer to Delilah, she might be putting her more at risk…


Gripping and spine-chilling, readers will love Detective Clara Jefferies, reading The Fallen Girls deep into the night. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh won’t stop turning the pages of this unforgettable new series from bestselling and award-winning author Kathryn Casey.


What readers are saying about The Fallen Girls:

WOW, WOW, WOW, WOW!... Kathryn Casey has written an amazing book… I cannot wait to pick up where this novel left off! You will not be able to put this book down - fabulous!” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


“I could not put it down! I rarely give a book 5 stars and can't put it down but this one deserves it!... I read it in three days only because my iPad was running out of battery so I couldn't read it sooner. This was the first book I have ever read by Kathryn Casey and I can't wait to read more!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I absolutely LOVED this book… The book jumps right into the story and catches your attention from page one and holds it throughout.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“I loved this book!!... It’s absolutely brilliant… A compulsive read.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“I was absorbed in the story from page one until the explosive and exciting ending… Intense and heart-pounding… I’m excited to read more in this series, and I want more!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I was sucked in from page one and couldn’t put it down… I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series!... A cracking read.” Bonnie’s Book Talk, 5 stars


“Wow… Kept me interested from page one. I didn't want the book to finish. Brilliant mystery… Can’t wait to read more by this author.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


“An addictive read, entirely enthralled with the book within the first twenty pages… Looking most forward to the next book in the series!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“The start of a new series and I can't wait to read more… This book kept me reading late into the night I HAD TO KNOW THE TRUTH. Full of tension and suspense.” Goodreads reviewer


First I’ve read by this author and it will not be the last. I thoroughly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. It had a great storyline that kept you guessing until the end. Could not put this one down.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“An amazing start to a new series… Suspenseful from beginning to end… full of twists and turns… I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys mysteries and thrillers. I cannot wait to see what comes next in this series.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

4.4
18 reviews
Linda Strong
June 5, 2020
Detective Clara Jeffries was raised in a polygamist community with 3 mothers and multiple siblings of one sort or another. Being physically abused by her father led her to leaving the community and her family secretly. She never looked back. Receiving a phone call from the deputy sheriff in her hometown asking for her to return, she at first says no .. until she's told her younger sister has disappeared. Clara does return to the scorn of her family and other members of the community. Worse.. her family denies that her sister is missing. Supposedly she's on a mission with another family, although she's only 12 years old. Other than the deputy who called her, law enforcement resent her presence and does little to help. They, too, believe the young girl is not actually missing. But what Clara discovers is that other young girls have gone missing over the years. No one has been looking for them. Clara is absolutely positive that something evil is happening and she's determined to find the answers. And then a young woman's body is found ....... This was like a peek through the curtains of a polygamy community .... the way they looked after each other .. the way they have nothing to do with outsiders .... the way men and women view each other and how they are a law unto themselves. Its also a look at how our roots and how we were raised affect every decision we make .. right or wrong. It's well written with skillfully drawn characters. Clara makes a terrific series character and I really look forward to seeing more of her. Lots of action leads to a terrifying, surprising ending. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime fiction. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Did you find this helpful?
DJ Sakata
June 7, 2020
While perusing this craftily written tale, I was well aware that I over-identified with the protagonist of Clara. Although I did not grow up in a cult, my parents were weirdly and stridently religious. Even as a child I knew it was strange and deeply resented the vile coercion, bombastic oratory, and blatant hypocrisy. I rarely read books with a religious theme as I find most religious dogma and rhetoric deeply annoying and tiresome with the essence of most being that everything is a sin that will be severely punished and anyone who does not follow their faith is doomed to an eternity of teeth gnashing. I’d rather be an altruistic, kind, and nonjudgmental person; believe as I please, and be proactive by obtaining dental implants. Ms. Casey’s writing was emotive and atmospheric yet easy to follow and her storylines were well-plotted, shrewdly paced, taut with tension, maddeningly intriguing, loathsomely realistic, and sneakily unpredictable. I remain deeply curious about the details of Clara’s personal escape eight years prior. The Mormon sect that Clara’s family adhered to is a prime example of the idiocy of the devout who blindly follow teachings that allow and condone child abuse. Deplorable cretins such as this cause me to grind my teeth in the here and now, making those planned dental implants a probable need.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Cathy Geha
June 7, 2020
The Fallen Girl by Kathryn Casey Detective Clara Jeffries #1 Twisted tortured tale of crime in a closed community with polygamous families, lost boys and secrets hidden behind walls of the stalwart believers leads one outsider, once a member, to return in search of her missing sister. As an introduction to a new series the story was superb, well-crafted and filled with interesting characters that I can see in future books of the series. That said, where Clara will be in the second book of the series is left up in the air at the end of the book. What I liked: * Clara: forced to make a difficult choice when young then forging ahead alone after having left her close huge family behind. She has found her niche in serving the Dallas community as a police detective. I found her an intriguing person that I would like to learn more about. * Max: a “lost boy” that was sent away from Alber, Utah. He had a tough time and found his way on the outside only to have it fall apart and then return to Alber. He is a man willing to do whatever is necessary to keep his daughter safe. I wonder what his part will be, if any, in the future. * The glimpse into what it might be like to live in a fundamentalist polygamous sect – not one I believe I would be comfortable in but I do understand the indoctrination from childhood and how it would impact this story and the lives of the characters within it. * The twists, turns and red herrings * The plot and pace of the story * That the community beliefs and behaviors were well explained for reader understanding * That the mystery and the baddies finally were dealt with * The ending…and wondering what will happen next * That there will be more books to look forward to. What I didn’t like: * Being reminded of just how twisted and evil some people can be * Knowing that though this is fiction there are innocents that suffer and die due to the twisted evil people they sometimes encounter * Having to wait to read book two in the series Did I enjoy this book? Yes Would I read more books in this series? Definitely Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC – This is my honest review. 5 Stars
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.