The Fallen Girls

Detective Clara Jefferies

Book 1
Bookouture
12
Free sample

She didn’t notice the corn stalks shiver a few feet to her right. By the time she looked up, the man towered above her. In a single movement he wrapped one thick hand around her waist, the other he clamped over her mouth, muffling her screams.


Detective Clara Jefferies has spent years running from her childhood in Alber, Utah. But when she hears that her baby sister Delilah has disappeared, she knows that the peaceful community will be shattered, her family vulnerable, and that that she must face up to her past and go home.


Clara returns to find that her mother, Ardeth, has isolated her family by moving to the edge of town, in the shadow of the mountains. Ardeth refuses to talk to the police and won’t let Clara through the front door, believing she and her sister-wives can protect their own. But Clara knows better than anyone that her mother isn’t always capable of protecting her children.


When Clara finds out that two more girls have disappeared, all last seen around the cornfields near her family’s home, she realizes it’s not just Delilah who’s in danger. And then she gets a call that a body has been found…


Clara will have to dig deep into the town’s secrets if she’s going to find Delilah. But that will mean confronting the reason she left. And as she gets closer to Delilah, she might be putting her more at risk…


Gripping and spine-chilling, readers will love Detective Clara Jefferies, reading The Fallen Girls deep into the night. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh won’t stop turning the pages of this unforgettable new series from bestselling and award-winning author Kathryn Casey.


What readers are saying about The Fallen Girls:

WOW, WOW, WOW, WOW!... Kathryn Casey has written an amazing book… I cannot wait to pick up where this novel left off! You will not be able to put this book down - fabulous!” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


“I could not put it down! I rarely give a book 5 stars and can't put it down but this one deserves it!... I read it in three days only because my iPad was running out of battery so I couldn't read it sooner. This was the first book I have ever read by Kathryn Casey and I can't wait to read more!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I absolutely LOVED this book… The book jumps right into the story and catches your attention from page one and holds it throughout.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“I loved this book!!... It’s absolutely brilliant… A compulsive read.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“I was absorbed in the story from page one until the explosive and exciting ending… Intense and heart-pounding… I’m excited to read more in this series, and I want more!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I was sucked in from page one and couldn’t put it down… I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series!... A cracking read.” Bonnie’s Book Talk, 5 stars


“Wow… Kept me interested from page one. I didn't want the book to finish. Brilliant mystery… Can’t wait to read more by this author.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


“An addictive read, entirely enthralled with the book within the first twenty pages… Looking most forward to the next book in the series!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“The start of a new series and I can't wait to read more… This book kept me reading late into the night I HAD TO KNOW THE TRUTH. Full of tension and suspense.” Goodreads reviewer


First I’ve read by this author and it will not be the last. I thoroughly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. It had a great storyline that kept you guessing until the end. Could not put this one down.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


“An amazing start to a new series… Suspenseful from beginning to end… full of twists and turns… I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys mysteries and thrillers. I cannot wait to see what comes next in this series.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Read more
Collapse
4.5
12 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 3, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
350
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781838886011
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Romance / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.