The House at Magpie Cove: A gripping and emotional page-turner full of secrets and second chances

Bookouture
5
Free sample

The Cornish beach house creaked in the salty sea wind and, from the weathered wooden porch, Mara watched a lone magpie circle above. It was silly to think that it somehow represented her mother’s spirit, but she had the feeling that her mother was with her, somehow. That she still hadn’t moved on: there was something keeping her here. A secret that needed to be told.

 

When Mara Hughes inherits her late mother’s tumbledown beach house overlooking the bright, sandy sweep of Magpie Cove, it couldn’t have come at a worse time. With her marriage on the rocks and her husband threatening to take the family home, the beach house – with all the bittersweet memories it holds – might be the thing that finally sends Mara’s world crashing down around her. She tells herself she’ll only spend a few days there: sell it and move on to figuring out how to rebuild her life.  

 

When Mara arrives, the house is in a worse state than she feared – holes in the bedroom ceiling, birds’ nests in the attic and the beautiful, wrap-around porch on the brink of collapse… but she loves it anyway. With all its history it feels like the last link to her late mother and, determined to do whatever it takes to keep it in the family, Mara strikes a deal with local handyman – and town heartthrob – Brian Oakley to save the crumbling cottage from ruin.


But when a box of unopened old letters arrives on her new doorstep – a bequest from her mother’s will – Mara’s resolves to save the beach house will be tested to the limit. Because Mara’s mother’s perfect childhood in Magpie Cove was forever spoiled by one haunting day in July, and the letters contain a secret about her family that Mara can scarcely believe to be true… 

 

A story of secrets, family and forgiveness, this heartfelt summer read is perfect for fans of Pamela Kelley, The Hideaway and Liz Fenwick.

 

What readers are saying about The House at Magpie Cove:

I loved this book. Read in a night. Brilliant… All the secrets Mara's mother had made a great story. A must read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Totally transported to the windswept shores of Cornwall for the most intriguing read… this book was full of fabulous surprises, I cannot praise it enough.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A delightful story about new beginnings and healing.’ Goodreads reviewer


Had trouble putting it down… Would highly recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘I really enjoyed this book. I loved the setting. Set in Cornwall… It’s such a good page turner… it’s definitely a book that will have its readers captivated.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Read more
Collapse
4.4
5 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 3, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
244
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781838888848
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Holidays
Fiction / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Holiday
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Fiction / Small Town & Rural
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.