The One Who's Not the One: A feel good, laugh out loud romantic comedy

· Bookouture
4.0
14 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

‘I absolutely loved this book! I was laughing out loud at certain scenes and when I tried to go to bed I ended up giggling myself into a fit thinking about them. Absolutely amazing… A delightful, HILARIOUS book.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

Cat’s life has hit a brick wall. Since her ex ditched her without ceremony five years ago she’s quit stand-up comedy, landed in a steady but dull job, and lives in a tiny flat with roommates she knows only as The One Who Eats All My Food and The One Who Has Really Loud Sex.

 

So when she bumps into old friend Harvey and sparks fly, Cat is surprised – and horrified, because Harvey is her ex’s brother, and so absolutely, 100% off-limits romantically. Even if his dimples do make her insides fizz…

 

When she’s offered a new job abroad, Cat is tempted to accept – and leave her depressing flat and mess of a love life behind her. But will running away from her problems really solve them?

 

A hilarious rom com about falling in love, falling out of love, and finding out who you really are. Fans of Jenny Colgan, Marian Keyes and Mhairi McFarlane will love Keris Stainton!

 

Read what everyone is saying about The One Who's Not the One:

 

‘A fabulous feel-good read… This book had me in tears, both happy and sad ones in equal doses! It had me hooked from the first page and it certainly had me laughing out loud unashamedly!Stardust Book Reviews

 

I absolutely adored this book from start to finish. All the characters were so lovable and the story was lovely and totally laugh-out-loud funny… I love funny and heartwarming love stories so this ticked all my boxes.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

I couldn’t put it down. It’s funny, engaging and thoroughly relatable. I really enjoyed it. It’s got some genuinely laugh-out-loud moments while being full of real heart as well. Loved it!Bibliophile Book Club

 

‘Another Keris book I absolutely adored!I instantly fell in love with Cat, Kelly and Harvey! Oh my god, Harvey what a soft space nerd! I love him! Cat felt so very real and I just want to sit and have a glass of wine with her and Kelly!… Like one big hug from a friend.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

What a great book! Romantic, funny and easy to read. Cat is the type of character you would like to hang out with every day. I didn't want this story to end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

I was laughing a lot… I had a lot of fun reading it… Cat and Harvey were utterly charming in this contemporary romantic comedy!.. The ending… My goodness, folks… Just read to the end. Trust me… This is the first book I have read by Keris Stainton, and I look forward to reading future books by her! Anyone that can make me laugh out loud while reading has a gift.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘An adorable rom com! I read it in one sitting… There are hilarious antics, laugh-out-loud moments. ’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘This was my first Keris Stainton book and I'm actually so angry that I haven't read anything by her before! I read this book in one go… I just couldn't put it down!I loved everything about Cat and Harvey… I couldn't stop thinking about them all morning.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

Highly enjoyable!… A delight to read… The relationship between Cat and Kelly (and her family) is what makes this book special. What a fantastic friendship.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

I absolutely loved this book… It's warm and funny and the characters are so relatable… Her friendship with Kelly is wonderfulAnother triumph of a book!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

4.0
14 reviews
Gaele Hi
March 4, 2019
Five years ago, Cat and her boyfriend were both doing stand up comedy and life was moving forward. Then Sam went off to Australia to ‘gig’ and never asked Cat if she wanted to go. She, of course, felt this was the fulfillment of the repeating issue in her life – everyone leaves. And rather than asking Sam to stay, or go along with him with help from friends and his family she stayed behind. Now in a crappy flat share, working as an accountant in a job that bores her, her one real friend Kelly and her husband Sean have always been about to pick up the pieces – and occasionally offer her a bit of tough love. See, Cat’s been pushing people away since she was 12 and her father left. She never really got an answer from her mother about the specifics, and has never forgiven or even really allowed her father a chance to explain, and with her best work friend transferring to New York and her spotting an ad for Sam performing in town, she’s full of ‘what if’s’ and questions. With her best friend pregnant with her second child, and Cat being ‘honorary auntie’ to her older son, Cat finds herself running into Sam’s brother Harvey and sparks are flying. Kelly thinks that Cat should explore this new thing with Harvey, Cat is in the middle of a push-pull with him, and tossing about the idea of moving to New York. But when she’s given notice on her flat share, and her trip to New York to ‘explore’ options leaves her more intrigued (and confused) than ever, she’s pushed to make some choices. Cat was a bit of a struggle for me, and fortunately (or sadly) the only one challenging her on the running away and pushing others away was Kelly – and she truly tried desperately to push Kelly away and aside when some hard truths were brought up. Cat was all too willing to quickly dismiss people, confirming her “everyone leaves’ statements, and being butthurt when her overreactions aren’t instantly met with ingratiating adjustments and soothing. As a friend, Cat would have been exhausting and superficial – who needs the aggro of all that ‘making up’ on a near constant rotation from someone old enough to speak their mind and ask for what they want? But, it takes some doing, and a determination from her father that we never would have expected, to get her to finally start to see sense – and take those chances she’d only dreamed of. Stainton brought a lovely story here with a frustrating protagonist who has so much potential all hidden behind a childish wall of fear, with friends who really carried the burden of her misapplied emotions and pushed her to stand and face her problems and see what was presented as an opportunity. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
4 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Alison Robinson
February 26, 2019
Five years ago Cat had it all, the boyfriend, the promising career in stand-up comedy. Then Sam, her boyfriend went to Australia and didn't invite her. Since then she's given up on the stand-up comedy, she flat shares with 'The One Who Eats All My Food' and 'The One Who Has Really Loud Sex', she has a job she despises (and that pays a pittance) and she hasn't had sex in two years. Then one day, travelling home on the tube (train), she sees an article about Sam in the London Metro (newspaper), he's back from Australia, still doing stand-up comedy, and getting good reviews. Obsessed by the one that got away (just one in a long list of people that have left Cat), Cat stalks Sam on Facebook and Google and is determined to see his show, especially once she finds out it is entitled 'Cat Amongst the Pigeons' - is that a reference to her? Is his show all about her? At Sam's show Cat runs into his younger brother Harvey, and then again when she takes her best friend Kelly's little boy to see Father Christmas at John Lewis (British department store). Then sexy Nick at work announces he is moving to the new office in New York and asks Cat to join him - suddenly Cat has three potential beaus - which one will she choose? I liked this, it was very down-to-earth, very realistic, this is the way that women talk to each other about men and relationships and sex (and willys). However, I did think that this was both very British and very 'of the moment' with references to current events which may make the book less accessible to readers from outside the UK and readers in a few years' time. The book started a bit slowly for me, so much so that I stopped reading after a few chapters and reread the blurb, worried that I was reading a different book (easy to do when you have a TBR pile as big as mine) but it soon picked up again. reminiscent of Bridget Jones (without the dear diary entries) it was amusing and a fun read. My only criticism was that the ending was a bit too sudden (even with an epilogue), I would have liked there to have been more of a build up to the end. I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Celia Lightfoot
March 18, 2020
Its complicated. A very easy read, I read it on one go. The ups and downs of love within a family including 2 brother's but only one girl, sharing is not an option. May the best man win.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.