Ink In The Blood

· Sold by HarperCollins
3.7
3 reviews
Ebook
464
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

A lush, dark YA fantasy debut that weaves together tattoo magic, faith, and eccentric theater in a world where lies are currency and ink is a weapon, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.
 
Celia Sand and her best friend, Anya Burtoni, are inklings for the esteemed religion of Profeta. Using magic, they tattoo followers with beautiful images that represent the Divine’s will and guide the actions of the recipients. It’s considered a noble calling, but ten years into their servitude Celia and Anya know the truth: Profeta is built on lies, the tattooed orders strip away freedom, and the revered temple is actually a brutal, torturous prison.
 
Their opportunity to escape arrives with the Rabble Mob, a traveling theater troupe. Using their inkling abilities for performance instead of propaganda, Celia and Anya are content for the first time . . . until they realize who followed them. The Divine they never believed in is very real, very angry, and determined to use Celia, Anya, and the Rabble Mob’s now-infamous stage to spread her deceitful influence even further.
 
To protect their new family from the wrath of a malicious deity and the zealots who work in her name, Celia and Anya must unmask the biggest lie of all—Profeta itself.
3.7
3 reviews
Harshita Mahajan
February 18, 2020
Title- Ink In The Blood Author- Kim Smejkal Genre- Young Adult & Fantasy Publisher- HMH Books Review- I am so happy that I got the chance to read such an amazing book. Full of magic, magic of Ink. I had so much reading this book. Book revolves around the divine power of Inkling. Mob follows what ink says. They do as the ink says to them. If there is something good, evil will be right beside it. Just like it, if Divine which is symbol of good is present, Diavala will be. She symbolize the evil. This is a story of Inkling Celia, who wants to escape her mob, and be a part of theater, which she always dreamt of doing. The mob becomes her family but when Diavala comes in the scene everything starts to turn to worse. Diavala resembles so much of Hela (Thor sister), if you are a Marvel fan you will know. Gosh, her personality pretty accurate for a devil. The best part of the book is the play. What they perform in front of people is JUST WONDERFUL. I loved the play. It was the highlight of this book. Apart from this, there is a truth that needs to be unfold. Truth which is bitter but necessary to be spoken. I will highly recommend this book if you are a fan of fantasy. This book is THE ONE.
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
4.25 Intense. Dark. Atmospheric. A circus. A God. A Devil. A strong friendship. A Battle, and a commentary on religious zealots. What was not to love?
A Google user
Series Info/Source: This is the first book in the Ink in the Blood duology. I got an ARC of this to review through Amazon Vine. Story (3/5): I am kind of on the fence about this one. I really loved ...

About the author

Kim Smejkal lives with her family on Vancouver Island in Canada, which means she’s often lost in the woods or wandering a beach. She writes dark fantasy for young adults and not-so-young adults, always with a touch of magic.
kimsmejkal.com
Twitter: @KimSmejkal
Instagram: @kimsmejkal
 

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.