Am I Allergic to Men?: A completely laugh-out-loud and addictive page-turner

· Bookouture
4.6
7 reviews
Ebook
309
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

‘OMG!!!! I CANNOT REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I LAUGHED SO MUCH!!! What an absolutely page-turning, refreshing, laugh-a minute-read!!!!… I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this… Absolutely devoured it… I genuinely couldn't recommend this book any more!!!!’ Bookworm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Could things get any worse?! I lost my memory, I’m so single I’ve basically got an allergy to men, and my own cat despises me.

 

‘Lucy! If you can hear me, squeeze my hand!’

 

That’s the first thing I hear when I wake up in hospital. Then my sister drops a bombshell: I’ve been in a coma.

 

It gets worse. In my head, it’s 2009 and I’m seventeen. Somehow, I need to remember the last decade…

 

Plan A: Track down my exes. Highlights include a one-night stand with someone in a Batman costume, and balcony sex that gave the neighbours a nervous breakdown.

 

Plan B: Get flirty. Lowlights include a fling with someone hairier than a yeti.

 

Plan C: Figure out why I have more exes than underwear. Am I allergic to men?

 

As I piece together my past, I find a mysterious note: ‘Oscar, 9th February’. But I have no idea who Oscar is… Determined to find out, I uncover a secret I’ve been hiding from everyone.


When the truth comes out, will my memory return? Will I get my life back? Will I ever cure my singledom? And how can I make my cat stop hating me?!

 

You’ll laugh so much your abs ache! The perfect page-turner for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and TV shows like Schitt’s Creek.

 

Readers love Am I Allergic to Men?:

 

‘I LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I could not put it down. It was hilarious and heartwarming. The character development was A+ and kept me devouring page after page. I read this in one sitting!A Hopeless Romantic’s Booklandia, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Can be summed up in one word: HILARIOUS! This book is a RIOT, a SCREAM, and I guarantee you will have an absolute blastI LOVED IT… I even had a tear in my eyeYou will laugh so hardAMAZING5 ⭐️ doesn’t do it justice.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Absolutely hilarious. I can’t recall the last time I laughed so hard.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I kept giggling until I sounded like a hyena!… I loved this book. A 5-star read!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘I’ve laughed… I’ve criedSaying goodbye was HARD!… Made me fall in love… Perfect.’ Diagnosis Bookaholic, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Hilarious… It’s safe to say I loved it!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Love, love, loved this!Full of laughs… Making people cry with laughter is an amazing thing. I’d give this way more than 5 stars if I could.’ @its.a.booklife, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Hysterically funny. The writing style is fantastic and ABSOLUTELY hilariousHad me snorting… Hilarious and even tear-jerking.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘After 35% of the way through I had to message Kristen because I was crying so much! I am so in loveBrought me so much joy.’ @mrslaurenoliverreads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

From the first line, I fell in love I had tears streaming down my face.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

From laughing out loud to ugly crying, this book brought me so much joy.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

OMG! I LOVE Lucy!… And I loved this book… Kristen Bailey is a superb writer with a wicked sense of humour… I ran the gamut of emotions, and it’s been a while since I’ve been teary-eyed. I would give this book six stars if I could!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Absolutely brilliantLaugh out loud, hilariously funnyHad me giggling awayJust brilliant.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

AmazingI have a serious book hangover now.’ @julesthebookworm, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Kept me with a smile plastered on my faceI genuinely loved this book. You’ll instantly love it.’ @RubieReads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.6
7 reviews
DJ Sakata
February 5, 2022
This was a fun, dynamic, and energetic read that kept me wildly amused and gleefully giggle-snorting with abandon. The writing was crisp, breezy, sweary, and delightfully snarky while the sharp visuals conjured were diabolically humorous and colorful in every sense of the word. In the previous installments, Lucy’s character was the most eccentric of the five sisters. Lucy was the fiercely independent, feisty, and predictably unpredictable free spirit and youngest of the Callaghan clan. So I was doubly impressed with the insightful observations and emotive underpinnings permeating the unfamiliar sense of vulnerability Lucy was experiencing as she struggled to regain a sense of self during her period of memory loss following a head injury. Having lost twelve years would be quite unsettling for anyone but Lucy had packed a lot of living her best life and unusual adventures and eye-opening experimentation into those years. I was fascinated and deliciously entertained by each new development. This being the last of the series, I am experiencing a sense of rueful melancholy, I will greatly miss this irreverent, divinely inappropriate, and tightly bonded family unit. They were good fun and their hijinks provided me with not only smirk-worthy entertainment but several unusual entries of British vernacular to my Brit Words and Phrases list. Many of which I cannot add to my reviews for fear of being censored, but this installment has produced the current publishable new addition of gurn, which Mr. Google indicates is to grimace or make an ugly face. I would expect nothing less from the lascivious Lucy.
Did you find this helpful?
Samantha Markham
February 11, 2022
The 5th book in Kristen Bailey’s ‘The Callaghan Sisters’, but you don’t need to have read any of the others to enjoy this one. This is the first Kristen Bailey I’ve read and Lucy is our protagonist, happy-go-lucky Lucy, the sister with the wild streak and a devil-may-care attitude. I loved her, her free spirit, her unconditional love for her family, and simply her energy. Lucy has it tough throughout much of the story. Following a head injury, she has no memory of the last ten years and has to fight hard to recover what she’s lost. She meets up with friends, colleagues and anyone that may be able to help her work out what she has been up to in the years she’s missing. Her sisters are with her every step of the way and for this, Lucy is thankful. I loved the easy reading of ‘Am I Allergic to Men’. I could put it down and pick it back up again without having to remember what I’d read before. However, if you pick a day when you’re not doing much else, if it’s wet and windy outside or you’re lucky enough to be lying in the sunshine in the warmer weather, it will be difficult to even think about putting it down! I will definitely add the rest of the Callaghan Sisters books to my TBR list and try to fit them all in soon! I was lucky enough to be included in the blog tour for this book, so thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the opportunity to read and review an ARC of Am I Allergic to Men by Kristen Bailey.
Did you find this helpful?
Andrea Romance
February 4, 2022
Lucy loves her life, even if it's unconventional. Until she wakes from a coma with no memory of the past decade. In her mind, she's seventeen. She can't believe twenty-nine-year-old Lucy doesn't have more to show for her life. No husband, no kids, no steady job, and a communal living arrangement you'd expect of a college student, not a woman on the cusp of thirty. She slowly puts together the pieces of her life, reconnecting with friends and past lovers she doesn't even remember. In the process, she learns that life is more than bullet points on a CV, and wealth is more than a bank account balance. This is not the rom com I expected from the cover and title. It's so much better than that. Lucy is an absolute delight. I love how close and protective her family are. I love her quirky, funny friends. She's charming and wise and offers a unique view of the world. And as funny as the book is, it's also like a big, warm, cozy quilt to wrap up in on a cold winter night. Don't miss this emotional, feel-good read. Thanks, NetGalley, for the ARC I received. This is my honest and voluntary review.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.