Running Wide Open

Webfoot Publishing
58
Free sample

Cody really blew it this time.

Now he’s getting shipped off to live with a black-sheep uncle who hasn’t spoken to the family in years.

Is the guy completely crazy, or is he the first person in Cody’s life who actually makes sense?

Cody might be willing to stick around long enough to find out—if his lousy luck doesn’t yank the opportunity out from under him first.

If you’re a fan of true-to-life books about kids with real problems, you’ll love this humorous and heartwarming story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Laurie Halse Anderson, and John Green.

Buy it now to get started on the ultimate feel-good read.

“Nowak capably depicts a realistic, likable teenager with typical teenager flaws.... An endearing story about a teenager, his mentor, and what a difference true, unselfish love can make.” ~ Kirkus Reviews

Named one of BookBub's “6 Seriously Awesome YA Books Even Adults Can Get Into.”

“The roar of engines practically explodes off the page in this compelling, heart-thumping debut. Cody Everett is a straight-shooter with attitude, smarts, and whip-cracking wit; he doesn't pull any punches, and neither does author Lisa Nowak. The collision of Cody and the world of stock car racing makes for a great story, one of the best I've read in a long time. Running Wide Open is a book not to be missed.” ~ Christine Fletcher, author of Tallulah Falls and Ten Cents a Dance

Book 1 in the Full Throttle Series

“I thoroughly enjoy Lisa Nowak’s books and have especially enjoyed using her Full Throttle series in working with my students. The characters are all so believable and definitely relatable to adolescents. I find that the lessons they learn are valuable and at times similar to things my students are dealing with. In one student's case, I was able to draw from situations in the books to use as comparisons and possible solutions. It was great to not have to ‘lecture.’” ~ Linda Ryan, School Counselor, Londonderry H.S.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

In addition to being a YA author, Lisa Nowak is a retired amateur stock car racer, an accomplished cat whisperer, and a professional smartass. She writes coming-of-age books about kids in hard luck situations who learn to appreciate their own value after finding mentors who love them for who they are. She enjoys dark chocolate and stout beer and constantly works toward employing wei wu wei in her life, all the while realizing that the struggle itself is an oxymoron.

Lisa has no spare time, but if she did she’d use it to tend to her expansive perennial garden, watch medical dramas, take long walks after dark, and teach her cats to play poker. For those of you who might be wondering, she is not, and has never been, a diaper-wearing astronaut. She lives in Milwaukie, Oregon, with her husband, four feline companions, and two giant sequoias.
Read more
Collapse
4.2
58 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Webfoot Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 2, 2011
Read more
Collapse
Pages
329
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781937167011
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Young Adult Fiction / Boys & Men
Young Adult Fiction / Coming of Age
Young Adult Fiction / Family / Marriage & Divorce
Young Adult Fiction / Humorous / General
Young Adult Fiction / Loners & Outcasts
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / New Experience
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Physical & Emotional Abuse
Young Adult Fiction / Sports & Recreation / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.