The Forgotten Girls: A completely heartbreaking World War 2 historical novel

Bookouture
1
Free sample

It’s a photograph of two little girls, the camera catching the cold whiteness of their legs, the pretty lines of their dresses, the smooth surface of the lake. I know at once it’s my mother and Aunty Barbara, I’ve always known it somehow. But I also know that the camera doesn’t tell the whole story. It can’t.


London, 1943. German bombs rain down on London, but Elaine Parker knows her job transcribing letters from far-away prisoners of war is more important than her own safety. But at home, Elaine’s life isn’t so simple – as the main breadwinner for her struggling family, she doesn’t have much time to consider her own future hopes and dreams.

And then Elaine meets dark-haired and passionate Bobby – a wartime photographer on the dangerous front line – and her world shifts. Will Elaine be forced to choose between her family and her growing passion for Bobby? And how do you let yourself love someone with your whole heart when each moment could be their last?


Present day. Even the kiss of warm sunshine and the musical call of birds at her family’s countryside villa can’t make Jen forget the heartbreak she’s left behind. That is, until she begins to investigate the origins of a tattered family photograph: two sweet little girls gazing out across a sparkling bay, their eyes clear and hopeful – looking for all the world as if England hadn’t just suffered the most terrible war imaginable. What is the story behind the picture, and could it finally be the key to mending the cracks in Jen’s own past? 


A heartbreaking World War Two novel – emotional and unforgettable. Perfect for fans of Orphan Train, Sold on a Monday and Before We Were Yours.


What readers are saying about The Forgotten Girls


‘Twists and turns that keep you turning the page… I must read one more chapter before I turn out the light for the nightfans who enjoyed The Nightingale or Sold on a Monday will love this book as much as me. Authentic, heart-tugging and soul-stirring. Be sure to have tissues nearby.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A heartbreaking tale of life in 1943 living through the war… One of the best historical fiction books I have read in a long while.’ Sean’s Book Reviews, 5 stars


‘It not only brought tears to my eyes when the connection between the two women was revealed, but it pulled on my heartstrings all the way through the book. A story of love and loss, family and friendships, this book will keep you gripped until the very last page. Would definitely recommend.’ Stardust Book Reviews


‘I came to really love the blossoming romance between Robert and Elaine… A beautiful novel, and one I highly recommend.’ Emily Claire Writes


‘A captivating story.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘I absolutely loved The Forgotten Girls. It is a beautiful, compelling read… Lizzie Page writes like a dream… I will be recommending this book to everyone I know.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I really fell in love with this book… Beautifully done, the imagery is well written and I found myself picturing the scenes and living them out in my mind's eye. Well done!’ Goodreads reviewer


Oh, how I loved this book! I smiled, cried, my heart raced and I marvelled at the storytelling… Wonderful!’ Angela Petch, author of The Tuscan Girl, 5 stars


‘I just love the deft and thrilling blend of fact and fiction, and the way Lizzie Page brings characters from the past back to life. I am such a huge fan of her work.’ Bestselling author Jill Mansell

Read more
Collapse
4.0
1 total
5
4
3
2
1
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 13, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
350
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781838881276
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Biographical
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Holidays
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Fiction / Sagas
Fiction / Small Town & Rural
Fiction / War & Military
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.