The Orphanage

Shilling Grange Children's Home

Book 1
Bookouture
2
Free sample

What an emotional read!At parts I found myself shouting “no”. At others I just criedAbsolutely loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Shilling Grange Orphanage, England, 1948. She was their only hope. Now they are hers. A gritty, heartbreaking and unforgettable story of love and hope in the darkest of times.

 

Clara Newton is the new Housemother of Shilling Grange Orphanage. Many of the children have been bombed out of their homes and left without families, their lives torn apart by the war, just like Clara’s. Devastated by the loss of her fiancé, a brave American pilot, she is just looking for a place to start again.

 

But the orphans are in desperate need of her help. Funds are short, children cry out in the night, and tearful Rita tells Clara terrible stories about the nuns who previously ran Shilling Grange. Clara cannot bear to see them suffer, but what does she know about how to look after eight little ones?

 

Clara can’t get anything right, and then she accidentally ruins Rita’s only memento of her mother. Overwhelmed, she wonders if they’d be better off without her. But she’s not completely alone. Living next door is Ivor: ex-Shilling Grange resident, war hero, and handyman with deep brown eyes. He doesn’t trust Clara and she is fiercely independent, but he has a way with the children. And with his support and the help of other locals, Clara begins to find her way.

 

As she heals from her grief and adjusts to her new life, Clara wonders if she has finally found her home and family among the orphans. Can she find the strength to fight for them when nobody else will? And dare she open her heart to love again?

 

A heart-wrenching and totally gripping read. Fans of Before We Were Yours, Diney Costeloe and The Orphan Sisters won’t be able to put this book down.

 

Readers absolutely love The Orphanage:



My heart is full! Oh, I adored this book so much!… There were moments of pure joy and the book left me feeling uplifted and with a full heart.’ Motherhood for Slackers ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Exceptionalhits you for sixI am over the moon… brilliantly written and you fall in love… a feel good book that will make you cryoh my word I loved this.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wow… this book is outstanding… I couldn't put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I took to all the children with all my heart, such an emotional tale… full of love, compassion and humour… a truly remarkable touching story.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Absolutely loved thisI could hardly bear to finish it... Highly recommend!’ Jill Mansell ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


It took me about two pages to fall in love with Clara… this book just kept me wanting to know more.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘This book warmed my heart… Each character is so very special. You will laugh at their childish pranks, their little escapades and cheer at their successes… A delightful, heart-warming story.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘All I can say is I can’t wait for book 2, I'm dying to know what happens next. The writing is gripping… As a child survivor of children’s homes I wish we had had a Clara!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Read more
Collapse
5.0
2 total
5
4
3
2
1
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 27, 2021
Read more
Collapse
Pages
449
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781800192058
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Sagas
Fiction / War & Military
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.