De syv søstre

Rosinante & Co
1
Free sample

Den internationale bestsellerforfatter Lucinda Riley udfolder sit fortælletalent som aldrig før i dette medrivende første bind i en ny stor serie baseret på legenden om stjernebilledet De syv søstre.

Schweiz 2007. Maia D’Apliese og hendes fem søstre er blevet kaldt hjem til deres barndomshjem Atlantis – en stor, smuk villa ved Genèvesøen – da deres elskede far, den sky mangemillionær, som de kalder Pa Salt, er død. De er alle blevet adopterede som små, og nu har Pa Salt efterladt dem hver især en ledetråd, der kan føre dem tilbage til deres sande ophav. Maias ledetråd fører hende til den anden side af Jorden, til en forfalden herskabsvilla i Rio de Janeiro i Brasilien.

Rio 1927. Midt i byens storhedstid har Izabela Bonifacios far store forhåbninger om at gifte sin datter ind i aristokratiet. Samtidig arbejder arkitekten Heitor da Silva Costa på det, der skal blive den berømte Kristusstatue, og planlægger en rejse til Paris for at finde den rette skulptør til opgaven. Den lidenskabelige Izabela længes efter at se verden og overtaler sin far til at lade hende tage med Silva Costa til Paris, inden hun skal giftes. Dér, i Paul Landowskis studie og i Montparnasses livlige caféer, møder hun den ambitiøse, unge skulptør Laurent Brouilly og indser, at hendes liv aldrig vil blive det samme igen.


Pressen skriver:

»En rigtig flot roman, der er helt på niveau med forfatterens tidligere udgivelser. [...] Sproget er let, og historien fanger fra start.«
– Dorthe Marlene Jørgensen, Lektør

»I virkeligheden burde jeg elske komplicerede værker allerhøjst – men nogle gange er de bedste læseoplevelser dem, der "kun" har til formål at rive os med til en lidt mere glamourøs side af verden. Sådan en forfatter er Lucinda Riley, og hun skriver fantastiske romaner.«
**** – Femina

»et absolut must-read! Det er en fantastisk historie om kærlighed og tab. Læs den!«
****** – Charlotte Weisenfeld, chri chri

Read more
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Rosinante & Co
Read more
Published on
Sep 8, 2016
Read more
Pages
560
Read more
ISBN
9788763844123
Read more
Language
Danish
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Tredje bind i Lucinda Rileys store serie De syv søstre, der denne gang tager læseren med til England – fra det smukke og idylliske Lake District i nord til storbyen London i syd – hvor den tredje søster Star leder efter sit ophav.

Star d’Aplièse står ved en skillevej i sit liv, efter at hendes elskede adoptivfar, Pa Salt, er død. Ligesom sine fem søstre har Star også modtaget en ledetråd til at finde sine rødder. Men Star – der er den mest forsigtige og tryghedssøgende af søstrene – er bekymret for, hvad det kan betyde for hendes forhold til de andre søstre, ikke mindst til den dominerende CeCe. Hun beslutter sig dog alligevel for at følge det første spor, Pa Salt har efterladt hende, hvilket fører hende til et gammelt antikvariat i London, hvor hun skal spørge efter en kvinde ved navn Flora MacNichol.

Hundrede år tidligere lever den nittenårige Flora MacNichol et lykkeligt og ubekymret liv i det naturskønne Lake District, hvor hun bor tæt på sit store idol, forfatterinden Beatrix Potter. Men skæbnen vil det anderledes og fører Flora til London, hvor hun indlogeres hos en af selskabslivets største personligheder, Alice Keppel, der er kong Edward 7.s elskerinde. Her bliver Flora en uskyldig brik i et spil, som hun ikke kender reglerne til.

Efterhånden som Star dykker længere og længere ned i Floras utrolige historie, bliver hun også klogere på sin egen og måske klar til endelig at træde ud af sin søsters skygge.

Pressen skriver:

»Læs den. Det er underholdning og medrivning på højt plan.«
****** – Femina

»[...] en selvstændig og spændende historie fuld af gennemtænkte detaljer, twists og uforudsigelighed.«
***** – ChriChri

»Det er simpelthen god underholdning hele vejen igennem [...]«
**** – Bogrummet.dk

The first book in a major new series from #1 internationally bestselling author Lucinda Riley, author of The Midnight Rose—hailed as “an extraordinary story [and] a complex, deeply engaging tale filled with fascinating characters” (Library Journal).

Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each sister is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue that takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story.

Eighty years earlier in the Rio of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to complete his vision. Izabela—passionate and longing to see the world—convinces her father to allow her to accompany him and his family to Europe before she is married. There, at Paul Landowski’s studio and in the heady, vibrant cafes of Montparnasse, she meets ambitious young sculptor Laurent Brouilly, and knows at once that her life will never be the same again.

In this sweeping, epic tale of love and loss—the first in a unique, spellbinding new series—Lucinda Riley showcases her storytelling talents like never before.
"Riley's engaging and mezmerizing story of self-discovery and love...can be perfectly read as a standalone. This book will appeal to readers of Edwardian novels and Jane Austen-style fiction." —Library Journal (starred review)

“[Lucinda Riley] is a master of plotting… This substantial book is a surprisingly quick and easy read, with engaging characters, a tantalizing glimpse of Edwardian society, and dual storylines that are inventive and intriguing.”—Historical Novel Society

In this spellbinding novel, two independent women—separated by a hundred years but linked by forces larger than themselves—discover the secrets of their birth in the spellbinding third book of an epic series by New York Times bestselling author Lucinda Riley.

Star D’Aplièse is at a crossroads in her life after the sudden death of her beloved father—the elusive billionaire, affectionately called Pa Salt by his six daughters, all adopted from across the four corners of the world. He has left each of them a clue to their true heritage, and Star’s clue leads her to an antiquarian bookshop in London, and the start of a new journey.

A hundred years earlier, headstrong and independent Flora MacNichol vows she will never marry. She is happy in her home in England’s picturesque Lake District—just a stone’s throw away from her childhood idol, Beatrix Potter. But when circumstances carry her to London, and into the home of one of Edwardian England’s most notorious society hostesses, Alice Keppel, she finds herself a pawn in a larger game; forced to choose between passionate love and duty to her family. That is, until a meeting with a mysterious gentleman reveals answers Flora has been searching for…

Star’s voyage of discovery takes her deep into Flora’s remarkable story, and into her own past. But the more she uncovers, the more Star begins to question herself, and her place in the world.

Ideal for fans of Downton Abbey and the historical fiction of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah, The Shadow Sister is the “perfect curl-up-in-an-armchair read” (Daily Mail) for anyone who wants to travel through the lush English countryside and explore the lives and loves of the British aristocracy.
A sweeping and spellbinding love story spanning the warm waters of the Mediterranean to the cold, clear skies of Norway—the second in an epic new series of novels by #1 internationally bestselling author Lucinda Riley.

Ally D’Aplièse is about to compete in one of the world’s most perilous yacht races when she hears the news of her adoptive father’s sudden, mysterious death. Rushing back to meet her five sisters at their family home, she discovers that her father—an elusive billionaire affectionately known to his daughters as Pa Salt—has left each of them a tantalizing clue to their true heritage.

But the timing couldn’t be worse: Ally had only recently fallen into a new and deeply passionate love affair, but with her life now turned upside down, she decides to leave the open seas and follow the trail that her father left her, which leads her to the icy beauty of Norway…

There, Ally begins to discover her roots and how her story is inextricably bound to that of a young unknown singer, Anna Landvik, who lived over a century before and sang in the first performance of Grieg’s iconic music set to Ibsen’s play Peer Gynt. As Ally learns more about Anna, she also begins to question who her father, Pa Salt, really was—and why is the seventh sister missing?

Following the internationally bestselling novel The Seven Sisters, this novel, “full of drama and romance” (Daily Mail), continues Lucinda Riley’s spellbinding series inspired by the mythology surrounding the famous star constellation.
Note to readers: In the UK, this book is published under the title Hothouse Flower.

From beloved New York Times bestselling author Lucinda Riley, a “sweeping, poignant saga that will enthrall fans of The House at Riverton, Rebecca, and Downton Abbey” (Shelf Awareness).

Spanning from the 1930s to the present day, from the Wharton Park estate in England to Thailand, this sweeping novel tells the tale of a concert pianist and the aristocratic Crawford family, whose shocking secrets are revealed, leading to devastating consequences.

As a child, concert pianist Julia Forrester spent many idyllic hours in the hothouse of Wharton Park, the grand estate reminiscent of Downton Abbey where her grandfather tended exotic orchids. Years later, while struggling with overwhelming grief over the death of her husband and young child, she returns to this tranquil place. There she reunites with Kit Crawford, heir to the estate and her possible salvation.

When they discover an old diary, Julia seeks out her grandmother to learn the truth behind a love affair that almost destroyed the estate. Their search takes them back to the 1940s when Harry, a former heir to Wharton Park, married his young society bride, Olivia, on the eve of World War II. When the two lovers are cruelly separated, the impact will be felt for generations to come.

This atmospheric story alternates between the magical world of Wharton Park and Thailand during World War II. Filled with twists and turns, passions and lies, and ultimately redemption, The Orchid House is a beautiful, romantic, and poignant novel.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.