The Daughter: A gripping psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming

· Bookouture
4.4
59 reviews
Ebook
286
Pages

About this ebook

'Gripped me and didn’t let go until the wickedly twisted ending.’ Jenny Blackhurst, author of How I Lost YouA heartbreaking and unputdownable psychological thriller perfect for fans of Linda Green, K.L. Slater and Teresa Driscoll.

You lost your daughter. You will never forgive yourself. Now someone's determined to make you pay… Seventeen years ago, something happened to Jess’s daughter Beth. The memory of it still makes her blood run cold. Jess has tried everything to make peace with that day, and the part she played in what happened. It was only a brief moment of desire… but she’ll pay for it with a lifetime of guilt.

To distance herself from the mistakes of the past, Jess has moved away and started over with her family. But when terrifying things begin happening in her new home, Jess knows that her past has finally caught up with her. Somebody feels Jess hasn’t paid enough, and is determined to make her suffer for the secrets she’s kept all these years.

What everyone's saying about The Daughter:


Omg this book was soooo good. I couldn't put it down… It was such a shocking twist at the end. All the revelations that came to light at the end were fantastic. This book had everything. Great characters, content and a shocking ending. What more do you want from a book?’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

Full of suspense and had me biting my nails down to my knuckles!!... This was a fantastic book, which I would highly recommend if you love a good thriller! You will certainly not be disappointed with this one!’ 5 stars, Stardust Book Reviews

Tense, twisty and all too close to home: Lucy Dawson is brilliant at spinning our worst nightmares from everyday scenarios.’ Erin Kelly author of He Said/She Said

I flew through it. It's a hold your breath, race to the end, one-sitting read. Delicious twists!’ Jo Spain, author of The Confession

This book is INTENSE. Be prepared for one heck of a thrilling ride!’ Goodreads reviewer

Holy twist and turns!!… There will be moments of awe, surprise, shock, a few shakes of the head, and tons of questions, but this story caters to the readers who love a good psychological thriller that will have you questioning every single character in the book.’ Goodreads reviewer

Oh MY, OHH MYY! WOOW, this was soo INTENSE!!... Kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. The first few chapters just tore at my heartstrings! This riveting story will definitely have you reading until the small hours… Let's just say, this book is the reason I love this genre!’ Goodreads reviewer

I didn’t want to stop!... It was a surprising ending, not what I was expecting at all.’ Goodreads reviewer

I loved it!! I read it in around a day as I found the really hard to put down. A fabulous read that I can highly recommend’ Goodreads reviewer

‘The first chapters are a heart-wrenching, one tissue won't be enough, tearjerker… The ending is a never-saw-it-coming surprise.’ Goodreads reviewer

From the first page, I was drawn to the story and I couldn’t wait to finish it.’ 5 stars, Books in the Dark

Wow... I couldn’t put this book down.’ Goodreads reviewer

A scary psychological novel with an exceptionally well-written plot… the end was completely unexpected and left me open-mouthed.’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

I read it in 24 hours, could not put it down. I could not have foreseen the ending in a million years.’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

A brilliant read with huge suspense! I was genuinely frightened at times which was fantastic. A brilliant twist at the end!!’ 5 stars, Goodreads reviewer

Ratings and reviews

4.4
59 reviews
Christina “The_Cherokee_Gypsy” Raney
May 6, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, until about half way through. My rating for the book lowered, because nothing exciting was happening. The characters were kinda just going through the motions, then it all changed. Towards the end, when the truth all comes out, I was super surprised! Very unexpected, and gave the story an even more interesting twist, and also got a 4 star rating because the ending was so good and something I wasn't prepared for. If you like surprises, then you will enjoy this book.
14 people found this review helpful
Linda Strong
January 2, 2018
Something tragic happens to Jess's daughter. To distance herself from the guilt she feels, she starts over. With a new husband and a young son, she still tries to make peace with herself. But someone doesn't want her to forget the mistakes she has made or forgive herself for them. They don't think she's suffered enough. Someone is terrifying her and her family. The first chapters are a heart-wrenching, one tissue won't be enough, tearjerker. And then 17 years later the fright begins. Who would want to hurt her? Ex-husband? Ex-Lover? Present Husband? Jess can't believe any of them would intentionally set out to hurt her. This is a well written psychological thriller with twists and turns that don't quit. The ending is a never-saw-it-coming surprise. This is a compelling read that you won't want to miss. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the advanced digital copy of this compelling book. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
7 people found this review helpful
A Google user
December 22, 2017
Omg this book was soooo good. I couldn't put it down. Such an easy and fast read. Definitely a five star read. It starts off with Jessica losing her young daughter and having to face the consequences of her past actions that led up to her daughter dying. Fast forward many many years later. Jessica has rebuilt her life and is now haunted by the past. Someone is trying to make her relive what happened sooo many years ago. I couldn't believe who it was trying to hurt her. I would've never guessed it in a million years. It was such a shocking twist at the end. All the revelations that came to light at the end were fantastic. This book had everything. Great characters, content and a shocking ending. What more do you want from a book???
18 people found this review helpful

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.