The Time to Kill: Carter Blake, Book 3

Hachette UK


'One of the best new series characters since Jack Reacher' Lisa Gardner


It's been five years since Carter Blake parted ways with top-secret government operation Winterlong. They brokered a deal at the time: he'd keep quiet about what they were doing, and in return he'd be left alone.

But news that one of Blake's old allies, a man who agreed the same deal, is dead means only one thing - something has changed and Winterlong is coming for him.

Emma Faraday, newly appointed head of the secret unit, is determined to tie up loose ends. And Blake is a very loose end. He's been evading them for years, but finally they've picked up his trace. Blake may be the best there is at tracking down people who don't want to be found, but Winterlong taught him everything he knows. If there's anyone who can find him - and kill him - it's them.

It's time for Carter Blake to up his game.


High-stakes action, blistering tension and a deadly game of cat and mouse, THE TIME TO KILL is the must-read new thriller from Mason Cross:

'Terrific stuff!' Ian Rankin

'Mason Cross is a thriller writer for the future who produces the kind of fast-paced, high octane thrillers that I love to read.' Simon Kernick

'So pacy I'm exhausted! Definitely one to read if you like your thrillers thrilling.' Emma Kavanagh

'One of the most interesting 'loner' heroes to have arrived in recent years . . . Told with pace and vigour by a writer who seems to have a natural aptitude for thrillers, it is not to be missed.' Daily Mail

'My kind of book.' Lee Child


If you like Lee Child's Jack Reacher, you will LOVE the race-against-time Carter Blake series:

1. The Killing Season
2. The Samaritan
3. The Time To Kill
4. Don't Look for Me
5. Presumed Dead

* Each Carter Blake thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Read more

About the author

Mason Cross was born in Glasgow in 1979. He studied English at the University of Stirling and currently works in the voluntary sector. He has written a number of short stories, including 'A Living', which was shortlisted for the Quick Reads 'Get Britain Reading' Award. He lives in Glasgow with his wife and three children.

Find out more at or follow him on Twitter @MasonCrossBooks

Read more


32 total

Additional Information

Hachette UK
Read more
Published on
Jun 30, 2016
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Espionage
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Military
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Mason Cross
Första boken i den nya serien om Carter Blake
»Skoningslöst effektiv action och all spänning du kan önska dig.« | KIRKUS

»Det första du bör veta om mig är att mitt namn inte är Carter Blake. Det namnet är lika lite mitt som hotellrummet jag bodde i när de anlitade mig.«

När Caleb Wardell, den ökände Krypskytten från Chicago, rymmer från death-row två veckor före sin avrättning vänder sig FBI till Carter Blake. Han är en man med en unik förmåga att spår upp personer som inte vill bli hittade, och en person som Wardell dessutom är bekant med sedan tidigare.
Tillsammans med Elaine Banner - en ambitiös FBI-agent som förenar livet som singelmamma med en alltmer framgångsrik karriär - måste Carter spåra Wardell, som nu förflyttar sig över USA och dödar till synes slumpmässigt.
Men Carter och Elaine finner sig snart vara åskådare mer än aktörer i fallet. Och medan de desperat försöker förstå sig på en man som dödar av ren lust, uppdagar de ett virrvarr av lögner och korruption som ska skaka om hela landet.

MASON CROSS är en brittisk kriminalförfattare, född 1979 i Glasgow. Ett långt spår av blod [The Killing Season] är hans hyllade debutroman och den första boken i serien om Carter Blake, som också nominerades till Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2015. Mason Cross bor fortfarande i Glasgow tillsammans med hustru och tre barn.

»Får pulsen att gå upp i högvarv. Förbered dig på att läsa hela natten.« | LISA GARDNER
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.