The Jilted: A Novel

Pygmalion Publishing
3
Free sample

A vanished loved one. An ancient evil. And only one woman knows the two are connected.


"An expertly layered work of impressive scope, The Jilted will leave you pondering the real-life differences between good and evil.”

~Kristen Mae, bestselling author of Red Water

 

BLOODIED HANDS. WHISPERED WORDS. BURIED TRUTHS.


It’s been two weeks since Chloe Anderson’s fiancé, Victor, disappeared with his daughter, and each night since, Chloe has awakened from the same horrible dream. She’s convinced the nightmares are trying to tell her something, especially when she finds Victor’s camera at an old antique shop downtown—a place where the shadows of the past roam the cobbled streets.


Chloe takes a job at the shop, hoping Victor will return for his prized possession. But when she’s sent to do an antiques appraisal on the outskirts of New Orleans, she feels the energy of the sprawling plantation like an icy hand on her back, drawing her away from the shop—and sucking her in. Perhaps it’s the plantation’s mysterious owner triggering her long-dormant intuition. But intuition doesn’t explain the terrifying visions that now plague her waking hours, or the mutilated girl who stalks her from the shadows, vanishing when Chloe tries to speak to her. And the voices . . . 


Come to me.

Watch out for the dark, child.


Is this what Victor meant when he told her he’d felt possessed? Is she losing her mind the way he did? 


Now Chloe must look deep within herself, summoning a power she’s tamped down since childhood, because the thing that took Victor is an old, vicious darkness, far more ancient than the horrors that seep from every branch on the white-washed plantation—more appalling than the hideous acts of violence that lurk in each long-abandoned cemetery. And if she cannot defeat the evil, if she succumbs to the madness, the creature stalking the town will take Victor, take Chloe . . . and make sure no one leaves Cicatrice alive.




For fans of Stephen King, Nick Cutter, and Thomas Heuvelt, this breathtaking supernatural thriller is a masterfully crafted novel about what horrors might exist on the other side—whether we believe they are there or not.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Meghan O’Flynn is a clinical therapist, writer, artist, wife, and mom. She adores her amazing little boys, dark chocolate, tea, dirty jokes, and back rubs with no strings attached, in that order. Meghan is the bestselling author of the Ash Park series—which includes Famished, Conviction, Repressed, Hidden and Redemption—and has penned a number of short stories including “Crimson Snow” and "Alien Landscape." She is frankly amazed that her wonderful husband still agrees to live with her after reading them and even more shocked that he seems to sleep soundly.


Sign up for Meghan’s newsletter at meghanoflynn.com and get a FREE SHORT STORY. You'll also be first in line for new release information. No spam, ever.

Read more
Collapse
4.0
3 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Pygmalion Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 23, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
310
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781947748927
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.