The Jilted: A Novel

Pygmalion Publishing
3
Free sample

A violent history lurks beneath the white-washed facade of Cicatrice, Louisiana. And that evil is waking up.


"An expertly layered work of impressive scope, The Jilted will leave you pondering the real-life differences between good and evil.”

~Kristen Mae, bestselling author of Red Water

 

BLOODIED HANDS. WHISPERED WORDS. BURIED TRUTHS.


It’s been two weeks since Chloe Anderson’s fiancé, Victor, disappeared with his daughter, and each night since, Chloe has awakened from the same horrible dream. She’s convinced the nightmares are trying to tell her something, especially when she finds Victor’s camera at an old antique shop downtown—a place where the shadows of the past roam the cobbled streets.


Chloe takes a job at the shop, hoping Victor will return for his prized possession. But when she’s sent to do an antiques appraisal on the outskirts of New Orleans, she feels the energy of the sprawling plantation like an icy hand on her back, drawing her away from the shop—and sucking her in. Perhaps it’s the plantation’s mysterious owner triggering her long-dormant intuition. But intuition doesn’t explain the terrifying visions that now plague her waking hours, or the mutilated girl who stalks her from the shadows, vanishing when Chloe tries to speak to her. And the voices . . . 


Come to me.

Watch out for the dark, child.


Is this what Victor meant when he told her he’d felt possessed? Is she losing her mind the way he did? 


Now Chloe must look deep within herself, summoning a power she’s tamped down since childhood, because the thing that took Victor is an old, vicious darkness, far more ancient than the horrors that seep from every branch on the white-washed plantation—more appalling than the hideous acts of violence that lurk in each long-abandoned cemetery. And if she cannot defeat the evil, if she succumbs to the madness, the creature stalking the town will take Victor, take Chloe . . . and make sure no one leaves Cicatrice alive.



For fans of Stephen King, Nick Cutter, and Thomas Heuvelt, this breathtaking supernatural thriller is a masterfully crafted novel about what horrors might exist on the other side—whether we believe they are there or not.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Meghan O’Flynn is a clinical therapist, writer, artist, wife, and mom. She adores her amazing little boys, dark chocolate, tea, dirty jokes, and back rubs with no strings attached, in that order. Meghan is the bestselling author of the Ash Park series—which includes Famished, Conviction, Repressed, Hidden and Redemption—and has penned a number of short stories including “Crimson Snow” and "Alien Landscape." She is frankly amazed that her wonderful husband still agrees to live with her after reading them and even more shocked that he seems to sleep soundly.


Sign up for Meghan’s newsletter at meghanoflynn.com and get a FREE SHORT STORY. You'll also be first in line for new release information. No spam, ever.

Read more
Collapse
4.0
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Pygmalion Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 23, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
310
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781947748927
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Can you escape the nightmare? Men imprisoned, one in war and one in an asylum, these two novelettes are packed with twisted psychological suspense and spine-tingling horror at its darkest. One man, a prisoner of war; and the other, a disturbed young man who wants out of a hospital for the criminally insane – at any cost! New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg brings together two dark classics with The Dark Game and I Am Infinite, I Contain Multitudes.


Note: These two short novellas/novelettes can also be found together in the collection Lights Out.


Don't miss Douglas Clegg's other books of horror, suspense and dark fantasy:


Stand-Alone Novels


Afterlife
Breeder
The Children's Hour
Dark of the Eye
Goat Dance
The Halloween Man
The Hour Before Dark
Mr. Darkness
Naomi
Neverland
You Come When I Call You

The Harrow Series:


Nightmare House
Mischief
The Infinite
The Abandoned
Isis (prequel novella)

The Necromancer (prequel novella)


The Criminally Insane Series:


Bad Karma
Red Angel
Night Cage


The Vampyricon:


The Priest of Blood

The Lady of Serpents

The Queen of Wolves


The Chronicles of Mordred:


Mordred, Bastard Son (Book I)


Short Novels & Novellas:


The Attraction
The Dark Game
Dinner with the Cannibal Sisters
Isis
The Necromancer
Purity
The Words


Short Story Collections:


The Nightmare Chronicles
Night Asylum
Wild Things
Lights Out

Box Sets:


Dark Rooms
Halloween Chillers
Night Towns
Coming of Age
Lights Out 
Criminally Insane
The Vampyricon
Harrow 3 Novels (Books 1-3)
Harrow 4 Novels (Books 1-4)

Short Stories:


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Helvetica; color: #323333} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Helvetica; color: #323333; min-height: 16.0px} span.s1 {font-kerning: none}

Belinda in the Pool
Funerary Rites
The Stain

JOHN SINCLAIR. A Horror Series Compilation. Episode 4-6.

Episode 4. A FEAST OF BLOOD: "She had no more than one or two days left to live. She could feel it. The agonizing pain in her throat, the blinding headaches ... there wasn't much time left. She had tried everything, absolutely everything, and the only thing that could save her now was a miracle ..."
When the Lady Laduga is sentenced to death in 1722, she makes a pact with a mysterious stranger ... a pact that will grant her eternal life. But there is a price to pay. Three-hundred years later, her ancient evil awakens and a small town in England is plunged into a blood-soaked nightmare.

Episode 5. DARK PHARAOH: Dr. Kenneth Hopkins, a renowned Egyptologist, wakes up from uneasy dreams to find himself engulfed in darkness. Within seconds, he realizes that he's in a coffin. He's been buried alive ... and a voice inside his head is laughing.
In his latest adventure, Detective Chief Inspector John Sinclair travels to Egypt to stop an unspeakable evil. When a British expedition uncovers the tomb of an ancient sorcerer, they unwittingly open a portal into another dimension ... and awaken a demonic force intent on destroying our world.
This case takes John Sinclair from the back alleys of London to the Egyptian desert. A heart-pounding race against time begins, and John faces an evil that is older than our world.

Episode 6. THE VAMPIRE GRAVEYARD: Dr. Boscombe and his team are about to make a historic discovery: Britain's only "vampire graveyard", an unmarked cemetery at the edge of a marsh in Yorkshire. It was here, 230 years ago, that the villagers buried the victims of the mysterious widow, Simona Grace. Boscombe has no idea of the terrors he is about to unleash ...
When the only surviving member of Boscombe's team is consigned to a madhouse in London, Detective Chief Inspector John Sinclair is sent to Yorkshire, to unveil the secrets of the "vampire graveyard". What he encounters in Yorkshire is no ordinary evil. It is an infection, an intelligent virus that is about to devour our world ...

"A hero so suave and dashing, he makes James Bond look like a grubby detective sergeant, a plot that reads like it came straight from the great vaults of Hammer, and enough action and derring do to keep even the most ardent pulp fan smiling with glee.[...] A tight, punchy read that heralds the start of a great new series of pulp horror. Highly recommended." Ginger Nuts of Horror.

"John Sinclair" is the relaunch of Europe's longest running horror series. Originally conceived in 1973 by Jason Dark and still going strong, the "John Sinclair" novellas are firmly rooted in the finest pulp traditions: true page turners with spine-tingling suspense, exquisite gore, and a dash of adventure.

For fans of the dark visions of Stephen King, Clive Barker and the "X-Files" and the fast-paced action and globe-trotting excitement of James Bond.

Gabriel Conroy was born in Los Angeles, California, in 1967. After high school, he joined the armed forces and was stationed in Germany for several years. He discovered his love for writing while traveling through Europe. When he returned to the States, he studied Journalism at Los Angeles City College and UCLA, and currently works as a freelance journalist, writer, and translator. Mr. Conroy is married and has a dog and a cat.
An idyllic family. A detective with a past. And the sadistic kidnapper hell-bent on destroying them all. 


"Chilling, suspenseful, and impossible to put down."~Kristen Mae, bestselling author of Red Water



WHERE YOU GO, YOUR PAST FOLLOWS.


For once in his life, Curtis Morrison has it good.


A newly-married detective on the Ash Park police force, Morrison spends his days working to heal the ails of society to make up for his own checkered past. But though he's come a long way from a life of deadly, bloody secrets he can't fully recall, not even his wife and baby daughter can silence the old addiction still rattling around in his brain. 


And he's about to learn that a history like his is not the kind you can escape from.


When his wife and child go missing, Morrison finds himself dragged into a nightmare game controlled by a sadistic monster hell-bent on making him pay for sins he's repressed for nearly twenty years. Whoever took his wife isn't after her--they want Morrison to suffer. And with each day that passes, his family's situation grows more dire. 


Now Morrison must explore a past he'd hoped he'd left behind to save the people he loves, awakening the beast he's tried so hard to forget. What he uncovers is far worse than he imagined, every clue dragging him away from the life he's painstakingly built and back to a place he'd very nearly succumbed. 


The clock's ticking. And this time, he might not make it out alive.



This dark and gritty third novel in the Ash Park series from bestselling author Meghan O’Flynn will keep you awake far past your bedtime. “A worthy heir to Patricia Cornwell and Tana French, Repressed is a heart-racing reminder that some people aren't who they seem to be." (NYT bestselling author Andra Watkins)

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.