Rated

Sold by Scholastic Inc.
Free sample

Societies thrive on order, and the Rating System is the ultimate symbol of organized social mobility.

The higher it soars, the more valued you are. The lower it plummets, the harder you must work to improve yourself. For the students at the prestigious Maplethorpe Academy, every single thing they do is reflected in their ratings, updated daily and available for all to see.

But when an act of vandalism sullies the front doors of the school, it sets off a chain reaction that will shake the lives of six special students -- and the world beyond.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Melissa Grey is the author of the Girl at Midnight trilogy and Rated. Her writing has been featured on IGN, Engadget, and Tor websites, and in Starbust magazine. She currently lives in New York.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Scholastic Inc.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 3, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
336
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781338283587
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Dystopian
Juvenile Fiction / School & Education
Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Adolescence
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The much-anticipated sequel to the book Danielle Page, author of Dorothy Must Die, says is "inventive, gorgeous, and epic--Grey dazzles."

   Everything in Echo's life changed in a blinding flash when she learned the startling truth: she is the firebird, the creature of light that is said to bring peace.
   The firebird has come into the world, but it has not come alone. Every action has an equal and opposite reaction, and Echo can feel a great and terrible darkness rising in the distance. Cosmic forces threaten to tear the world apart.
   Echo has already lost her home, her family, and her boyfriend. Now, as the firebird, her path is filled with even greater dangers than the ones she's already overcome.
   She knows the Dragon Prince will not fall without a fight.
   Echo must decide: can she wield the power of her true nature--or will it prove too strong for her, and burn what's left of her world to the ground?
   Welcome to the shadow hour.

Praise for the Girl at Midnight Series:
 
“A stunning debut. . . . Equal parts atmosphere and adventure, Melissa Grey’s The Girl at Midnight is positively divine.” —Victoria Schwab, author of A Darker Shade of Magic
 
“An action- and angst-packed installment reminiscent of Buffy and Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Catnip for fans of Cassandra Clare.” —BookPage.com

“A must-read.” —Paste magazine
 
“You are going to love Echo.” —Bustle.com
 
“Sparks fly. . . . Will please fans of Cassandra Clare and Game of Thrones watchers with its remarkable world building; richly developed characters; and themes of family, power, loyalty, and romance.” —Booklist, Starred

“A feisty heroine, fun supporting characters, a mission to save the world, and some seriously spicy romance.” —SLJ

“Fast-paced, action-packed, and full of laughs.” —Nerdist.com

“Enthralling and pure magic, Grey’s debut is delightful!” —Romantic Times

“A page-turner—I was hooked from start to finish.” —Latina Magazine
[STAR] “Sparks fly. . . . Will please fans of Cassandra Clare and Game of Thrones watchers with its remarkable world building; richly developed characters; and themes of family, power, loyalty, and romance. . . . [Book 2] cannot come soon enough!” —Booklist, Starred

For fans of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.
   Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.
   Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.
   Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.
   But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

[STAR] “[The] perfect blend of action and amour.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred

“A feisty heroine, fun supporting characters, a mission to save the world, and some seriously spicy romance.” —SLJ

“Catnip for fans of Cassandra Clare.” —BookPage.com
 
“Fast-paced, action-packed, and full of laughs.” —Nerdist.com

“Enthralling and pure magic, Grey’s debut is delightful!” —Romantic Times

“A page-turner—I was hooked from start to finish.” —Latina Magazine

“Sharp drama that leads to a conclusion begging for a sequel.” —The Bulletin

"A must-read." —Paste magazine

"Inventive, gorgeous, and epic—Grey dazzles in her debut."— Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of Dorothy Must Die

“A stunning debut. Equal parts atmosphere and adventure, Melissa Grey’s The Girl at Midnight is positively divine.” —Victoria Schwab, author of A Darker Shade of Magic
The series that began with the book Danielle Paige, author of Dorothy Must Die, called “inventive, gorgeous, and epic” comes to its thrilling conclusion.
 
“Catnip for fans of Cassandra Clare.” —BookPage.com on The Girl at Midnight
 
The sides have been chosen and the battle lines drawn.
 
Echo awakened the Firebird. Now she is the only one with the power to face the darkness she unwittingly unleashed . . . right into the waiting hands of Tanith, the new Dragon Prince. Tanith has one goal in mind: destroy her enemies, raze their lands, and reign supreme in a new era where the Drakharin are almighty and the Avicen are nothing but a memory.
 
The war that has been brewing for centuries is finally imminent. But the scales are tipped. Echo might hold the power to face the darkness within the Dragon Prince, but she has far to go to master its overwhelming force. And now she’s plagued by uncertainty. With Caius no longer by her side, she doesn’t know if she can do it alone. Is she strong enough to save her home and the people she loves?
 
Whether Echo is ready to face this evil is not the question. The war has begun, and there is no looking back. There are only two outcomes possible: triumph or death.
 
Praise for the Girl at Midnight series:

“Enthralling and pure magic!” —Romantic Times
 
“A must-read.” —Paste magazine
 
“You are going to love Echo.” —Bustle.com
 
“Fast-paced, action-packed, and full of laughs.” —Nerdist.com

★ “Sparks fly. . . . Will please fans of Cassandra Clare and Game of Thrones watchers with its remarkable world building; richly developed characters; and themes of family, power, loyalty, and romance.” —Booklist, Starred Review
 
“An action- and angst-packed installment reminiscent of Buffy and Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere.” —Kirkus Reviews
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.