· The Frey Saga Book 1 · Melissa Wright
307 reviews

About this ebook

Nothing is as it seems.

Frey's life is a lie. She doesn't remember being bound from magic. She didn't intend to discover this dangerous secret, to get entangled in Council business. But she did.

And now she's on the run.

With the aid of a stranger, she discovers a world beyond the elves who bound her. But it's a world of shadows and dark magic, a world she's been warned not to trust. The farther she strays, the more she finds a forgotten past. As she fights to reclaim her true identity, Council trackers hunt her down.

If they find her, she will burn.

The stranger offers her a way out, but it's a path of no return. How do you know who to believe when you don't even know who you are?

Ratings and reviews

307 reviews
John smith
September 18, 2018
This book has issues, you read it with no reason to care about the main character and it's written from her point of view. I understand that she as a character is supposed to be curious about and discovering her missing past. Even so there isn't enough world building early on or character building in the first 1/3 of he book. The author has potential but this reads like a plot outline, with some individual finished scenes, not a finished or near finished book
94 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Michael Mohale Mokhatle
May 31, 2019
The book had potential to explore the main characters development further but was a bit hurried towards the end as if the writer just wasn't interested anymore. Some scenes are not explained or fully described even in later chapters and leaves question marks, even the fight scenes towards the end are just a blur and then she wakes up. No details were further given, the wolves, the binding and unbinding, the significance of the other role players like Steel and Chaves could have been further explored. Having learned of her origins, and the secret power of her family, I expected more in the final fight especially with all the training that was constantly brought up but never used. The next thing it's the end. I feel robbed of a good story that could have been.
39 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Sarah Cheeseman
October 25, 2019
Interesting concept of the Fey. I like how human the author has made her Fairy Folk. Frey is dealing with so much on so many fronts. She doesn't really have any time to sort through all that's coming her way. You can feel/ relate all the tension and turmoil this poor kid is going through. This turmoil is what pushes the story along. Great book and a wonderful start to the new series. Pick it up and read it today. You will find it and enjoyable, hard to put down read
28 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Melissa Wright is the author of the Descendants Series, The Frey Saga and the Shattered Realms Series. Her best selling titles include: Frey, Pieces of Eight, Bound By Prophecy, and King of Ash and Bone.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.