Running a Restaurant For Dummies: Edition 2

Sold by John Wiley & Sons
1
Free sample

The easy way to successfully run a profitable restaurant

Millions of Americans dream of owning and running their ownrestaurant — because they want to be their own boss, becausetheir cooking always draws raves, or just because they love food.Running a Restaurant For Dummies covers every aspect ofgetting started for aspiring restaurateurs. From setting up abusiness plan and finding financing, to designing a menu and diningroom, you'll find all the advice you need to start and run asuccessful restaurant.

Even if you don't know anything about cooking or running abusiness, you might still have a great idea for a restaurant— and this handy guide will show you how to make your dream areality. If you already own a restaurant, but want to see it getmore successful, Running a Restaurant For Dummies offersunbeatable tips and advice for bringing in hungry customers. Fromstart to finish, you'll learn everything you need to know tosucceed.

  • New information on designing, re-designing, and equipping arestaurant with all the essentials—from the back of the houseto the front of the house
  • Determining whether to rent or buy restaurant property
  • Updated information on setting up a bar and managing the winelist
  • Profitable pointers on improving the bottom line
  • The latest and greatest marketing and publicity options in asocial-media world
  • Managing and retaining key staff
  • New and updated information on menu creation and theimplementation of Federal labeling (when applicable), as well asinfusing local, healthy, alternative cuisine to menu planning

Running a Restaurant For Dummies gives you the scoop onthe latest trends that chefs and restaurant operators can implementin their new or existing restaurants.

Read more

About the author

Michael Garvey is Director of Operations at 'wichcraft, adivision of the renowned Craft restaurant corporation.

Heather Dismore is a professional writer who hasextensive experience in the restaurant business.

Andrew G. Dismore is an award-winning professionalchef.

Read more
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
John Wiley & Sons
Read more
Published on
Sep 13, 2011
Read more
Pages
384
Read more
ISBN
9781118152591
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Business & Economics / Industries / General
Business & Economics / Industries / Hospitality, Travel & Tourism
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Get insider details on how to operate a successful bar

Running a Bar For Dummies, 2nd Edition showsestablished and future bar owners how to establish and maintain asuccessful business. Using clear, concise language, this ForDummies guide contains all the information you need to startyour bar off on the right foot. From grand opening to last call,you'll discover the insider tricks that keep the business endrunning smoothly and the customers happily engaged. With updatedinformation on marketing and social media, the book walks you stepby step through the entire process, revealing the nitty-grittydetails most new bar owners only discover after starting.

The bar business continues to grow; however, securing runningcapital and having knowledge about the business are cited as thetwo biggest reasons new bars fail. Running a Bar For Dummies,2nd Edition shines a light on these issues to helpbar owners prepare properly. The book helps you find your waythrough the maze of licensing and permits, developing a businessplan, and preparing for your grand opening, plus offers clear,no-nonsense guidance on dealing with tough customers. Every step ofthe way, Running a Bar For Dummies, 2nd Editionis a reference you can count on.

Understand the bar business and important legal issuesStock the necessities, including equipment and inventoryPromote your business using marketing and social mediaManage expenses and control cash flow

When run correctly, a bar can be an extremely profitablebusiness, but the key to success is knowing exactly what you'regetting into. By recognizing common problems and teach you how toadapt quickly to changing conditions, Running a Bar For Dummies,2nd Edition provides the information you need todevelop those skills, and get your bar started.

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.

Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you’ll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.

Get insider details on how to operate a successful bar

Running a Bar For Dummies, 2nd Edition showsestablished and future bar owners how to establish and maintain asuccessful business. Using clear, concise language, this ForDummies guide contains all the information you need to startyour bar off on the right foot. From grand opening to last call,you'll discover the insider tricks that keep the business endrunning smoothly and the customers happily engaged. With updatedinformation on marketing and social media, the book walks you stepby step through the entire process, revealing the nitty-grittydetails most new bar owners only discover after starting.

The bar business continues to grow; however, securing runningcapital and having knowledge about the business are cited as thetwo biggest reasons new bars fail. Running a Bar For Dummies,2nd Edition shines a light on these issues to helpbar owners prepare properly. The book helps you find your waythrough the maze of licensing and permits, developing a businessplan, and preparing for your grand opening, plus offers clear,no-nonsense guidance on dealing with tough customers. Every step ofthe way, Running a Bar For Dummies, 2nd Editionis a reference you can count on.

Understand the bar business and important legal issuesStock the necessities, including equipment and inventoryPromote your business using marketing and social mediaManage expenses and control cash flow

When run correctly, a bar can be an extremely profitablebusiness, but the key to success is knowing exactly what you'regetting into. By recognizing common problems and teach you how toadapt quickly to changing conditions, Running a Bar For Dummies,2nd Edition provides the information you need todevelop those skills, and get your bar started.

Millions of Americans dream of owning and running their ownrestaurant — because they want to be their own boss, becausetheir cooking always draws raves, or just because they love food.Running a Restaurant For Dummies covers every aspect ofgetting started for wannabe restaurateurs. From setting up abusiness plan and finding financing, to designing a menu and diningroom, you’ll find all the advice you need to start and run asuccessful restaurant.

Even if you don’t know anything about cooking or running abusiness, you might still have a great idea for a restaurant— and this handy guide will show you how to make your dream areality. If you already own a restaurant, but want to see it dobetter, Running a Restaurant For Dummies offers unbeatabletips and advice of bringing in hungry customers. From start tofinish, you’ll learn everything you need to know tosucceed:

Put your ideas on paper with a realistic business planAttract investors to help get the business off the groundBe totally prepared for your grand openingMake sure your business is legal and above boardHire and train a great staffDevelop a delicious menu

If you’re looking for expert guidance from people in theknow, then Running a Restaurant For Dummies is the only bookyou need. Written by Michael Garvey, co-owner of the famous OysterBar at Grand Central, with help from writer Heather Dismore andchef Andy Dismore, this book covers all the bases, from balancingthe books to training staff and much more:

Designing and theme and a conceptTaking over an existing restaurant or buying into afranchiseStocking and operating a barWorking with partners and other investorsChoose a perfect locationHiring and training an excellent staffPricing menu itemsDesigning the interior of the restaurantPurchasing and managing suppliesMarketing your restaurant to customers

If you’re looking for a new career as a restaurateur, oryou need new ideas for your struggling restaurant, Running aRestaurant For Dummies offers expert advice in a fun, friendlyformat. Packed with practical advice and expert wisdom on everyaspect of the food service business, this guide is all you need toget cooking.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.