Adrift: A Mer Cavallo Mystery

Sold by Alibi
11
Free sample

AGATHA AWARD NOMINEE • In this breathtaking mystery debut, a marine biologist turned divemaster stands accused of a chilling crime after a dive gone wrong. But do the murky circumstances point to an accident, a murder, or a supernatural encounter?
 
Mer Cavallo thought adjusting to a laid-back life in the Florida Keys would be a breeze. But when she rescues a floundering diver who claims to have seen a ghost, she’s caught in a storm of intrigue. News of the encounter explodes on social media, attracting a team of ghost hunters who want to capture proof that a greenish ghoul haunts Key Largo’s famed USS Spiegel Grove shipwreck.
 
Mer knows the wreck inside and out, and agrees to act as their safety diver. When Ishmael, the charismatic leader of the group, vanishes during a midnight dive, everyone except Mer is convinced the ghost has claimed another victim. Topside, the tenacious detective in charge of the investigation finds Mer’s involvement in both incidents suspicious, and her enigmatic neighbor resurrects ghosts from her past.
 
Determined to find a rational explanation, Mer approaches Ishmael’s disappearance as any scientist would—by asking questions, gathering data, and deducing the truth. But the victim’s life is as shrouded in mystery as his disappearance. Still, something happened under the water and before long, she’s in over her head. When someone tries to kill her, she knows the truth is about to surface. Maybe dead men do tell tales after all.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

An FBI National Academy graduate, Micki Browning worked in municipal law enforcement for more than two decades and retired as a division commander. Now a full-time writer, she won the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense and the Royal Palm Literary Award for her debut mystery, Adrift. Browning lives with her partner in crime and a vast array of scuba equipment in South Florida, where she’s working on the second Mer Cavallo mystery.
Read more
Collapse
4.4
11 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Alibi
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 10, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
274
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780425286418
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
USA TODAY and BARNES & NOBLE #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR • “A MASTER STORYTELLER” • OVER 800,000 BOOKS SOLD • OVER 3,000 FIVE STAR REVIEWS

Archaeology Professor James Acton has a knack for getting into trouble…

The mysteries of yesterday demand to be solved, but in the world of Archaeology Professor James Acton, sometimes it's safer to leave the past alone. Enter a world where the past and present confront each other, where friends and enemies aren’t always clear, where history invades the present with a vengeance, and where no one man can survive without the help of the woman he loves. 

And a few good men. 

The James Acton Thrillers Series: Books 1-3 includes the first three full-length novels in this action-packed series described as “a little bit of Jack Bauer and Indiana Jones.” If you like your action and intrigue mixed with history, then you’ll love J. Robert Kennedy’s USA Today Bestselling series. 

900+ pages. 3000+ five-star reviews. Find out why readers have fallen for USA Today bestselling author J. Robert Kennedy’s thrilling series!

Buy the box set now and get three full-length novels that will leave you breathless!

Included Novels:

THE PROTOCOL

THE FINAL SKULL HAS BEEN FOUND.
NOW ALL HELL’S BREAKING LOOSE.

For two thousand years the Triarii have protected us, influencing history from the crusades to the discovery of America. Descendant from the Roman Empire, they pervade every level of society, and are now in a race with our own government to retrieve an ancient artifact thought to have been lost forever.

BRASS MONKEY

WILL A FORGOTTEN WEAPON AND AN UNCONTROLLABLE HATE UNLEASH THE ULTIMATE WAR?

A nuclear missile, lost during the Cold War, is now in play–the most public spy swap in history, with a gorgeous agent the center of international attention, triggers the end-game of a corrupt Soviet Colonel’s twenty five year plan. Pursued across the globe by the Russian authorities, including a brutal Spetsnaz unit, those involved will stop at nothing to deliver their weapon, and ensure their pay day, regardless of the terrifying consequences.

BROKEN DOVE

WILL A SECRET DESPERATELY HIDDEN FOR OVER ONE THOUSAND YEARS BY THE ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH FINALLY BE REVEALED?

When the new Pope, a member of an ancient organization descendant from the Roman Empire, assumes control of the Roman Catholic Church, an organization founded by Saint Peter himself takes action, murdering one of the new Pope’s operatives. Detective Chaney, called in by the Pope to investigate, disappears, and, to the horror of the Papal staff sent to inform His Holiness, they find him missing too, the only clue a secret chest presented to each new Pope on the eve of their election, since the beginning of the Church.


About the James Acton Thrillers:

"If you want fast and furious, if you can cope with a high body count, most of all if you like to be hugely entertained, then you can't do much better than J. Robert Kennedy."

Though this book is part of the James Acton Thrillers series, it is written as a standalone novel and can be enjoyed without having read any of the previous installments.

"James Acton: A little bit of Jack Bauer and Indiana Jones!"

The James Acton Thrillers series and its spin-offs, the Special Agent Dylan Kane Thrillers and the Delta Force Unleashed Thrillers, have over 3000 Five-Star reviews and have sold over 800,000 copies. If you love non-stop action and intrigue with a healthy dose of humor, try James Acton today!

Available James Acton Thrillers:

The Protocol, Brass Monkey, Broken Dove, The Templar's Relic, Flags of Sin, The Arab Fall, The Circle of Eight, The Venice Code, Pompeii's Ghosts, Amazon Burning, The Riddle, Blood Relics, Sins of the Titanic, Saint Peter's Soldiers, The Thirteenth Legion, Raging Sun, Wages of Sin, Wrath of the Gods, The Templar's Revenge



USA Today bestselling author J. Robert Kennedy’s novels are ideal for fans of Dan Brown, Clive Cussler, James Rollins, Tom Clancy, and James Patterson, and those who enjoy intense action and intrigue with a healthy dose of humor and a touch of romance. Readers interested in action adventure, archaeological mysteries, historical fiction, men’s adventure, conspiracies and ancient mysteries, will love the James Acton Thrillers. If spies and espionage is your thing, then check out the CIA Special Agent Dylan Kane Thrillers for riveting tradecraft action. And for those who prefer the team approach and Special Forces, check out the Delta Force Unleashed series for exciting military thrills. Or maybe you just feel like a mystery? Check out the Detective Shakespeare Mysteries for dark, intense psychological thrillers.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Jane Hawk’s one-woman war comes to an explosive climax as the rogue FBI agent gambles everything against a terrifying conspiracy, for vengeance, for justice, and for humanity’s freedom—from the author of The Silent Corner.
 
“Jane Hawk is arguably the best character Koontz has created. . . . Simply put, wow.”—Associated Press
 
A visionary young filmmaker hunted for sport across a vast Colorado ranch by the celebrated billionaire at the heart of a monstrous cabal . . .
 
A brilliant computer hacker slipping through top-secret databases a whisper ahead of security trackers, gathering the facts to fight the all-powerful perpetrators of mass murder . . .
 
A pair of brutal operators, methodically shadowing their targets with every cutting-edge tool in the arsenal of today’s surveillance state . . .
 
A sequence of quiet heroes—everyday citizens—stepping up, stepping forward, intent on countering the advancing darkness . . .
 
A Vegas mob boss teamed with a homicidal sociopath, circling a beloved boy and his protectors, aiming to secure him as leverage against his fugitive mother . . .
 
And that fugitive mother herself, ex-agent Jane Hawk, closing in on the malevolent architects of ruin she has stalked as they stalk her, prepared to sacrifice herself to finally bring them down.
 
These are the people and circumstances of The Night Window, the thrilling new novel in Dean Koontz’s acclaimed Jane Hawk series. Replete—and then some—with the ingenious twists, the spellbinding action, the resonant themes, the sheer heart that have characterized Jane’s journey from the start, The Night Window follows its extraordinary heroine to her long-sought objective, in a stunning, unforgettable finale. 
 
Don’t miss any of Dean Koontz’s gripping Jane Hawk thrillers:
THE SILENT CORNER • THE WHISPERING ROOM • THE CROOKED STAIRCASE • THE FORBIDDEN DOOR • THE NIGHT WINDOW
 
“The spectacular finale to Jane’s story . . . will hit series fans with all the impact of a carefully calibrated hammer blow.”—Booklist (starred review)
 
“The best installment in the series since the first . . . [Koontz] revs it up with entertaining encounters and offbeat humor.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.