A Summer Fling

Sold by Simon and Schuster
32
Free sample

THE QUEEN OF FEEL-GOOD FICTION!

'Every time you discover a new Milly book, it’s like finding a pot of gold' Heat

When five women become friends, it's one for all, and all for one! A heartwarming and hilarious novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Afternoon Tea at the Sunflower Cafe and The Queen of Wishful Thinking.

When dynamic, power-dressing Christie blows in like a warm wind to take over their department, five very different women find themselves thrown together at work. But none of them could have predicted the fierce bond of friendship that her leadership would inspire ...

Anna, 39, is reeling from the loss of her fiancé, who ran off with a much younger woman. Her pride in tatters, these days Anna finds it difficult to leave the house. So when a handsome, mysterious stranger takes an interest in her, she's not sure whether she can learn to trust again? Then there's Grace, in her fifties, trapped in a loveless marriage with a man she married because, unable to have children of her own, she fell in love with his motherless brood. Grace worries that Dawn is about to make the same mistake: orphaned as a child, engaged to love-rat Calum, is Dawn more interested in the security that comes with his tight-knit, boisterous family? When a sexy, footloose rock singer catches her eye, will Dawn have the courage to follow her heart?

At 28, Raychel is the youngest member of their little gang. And with a loving husband, Ben, and a cosy little nest for two, she would seem to be the happiest. But what dark secrets are lurking behind this perfect facade, that make sweet, pretty Raychel so guarded and unwilling to open up?
Read more
Collapse

More by Milly Johnson

See more
4.3
32 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 29, 2010
Read more
Collapse
Pages
496
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781849831024
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A family wedding. A fake boyfriend. A recipe for disaster! A funny, feel-good romantic comedy from bestseller Jo Platt

Singleton Dot Riley’s grandmother, Nanny Flo, is on her deathbed, surrounded by family and distraught at the thought of Dot being all alone in the world. Desperate to make Flo’s final moments happy ones, Dot invents a boyfriend – plumping in panic for her childhood friend, Felix, a firm favourite of Flo, but whom Dot hasn’t actually seen for 15 years.

But when Flo makes an unexpected recovery a few weeks before a family wedding, Dot is faced with a dilemma. Should she tell her frail grandmother that she lied and risk causing heartache and a relapse? Or should she find Felix and take him to the wedding?

Dot opts for finding Felix. But it’s not long before she discovers that finding him is the easy bit: liking him is the real challenge.

An uplifting romantic comedy about finding something you didn't even know you were looking for. Finding Felix is perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Tracy Bloom and Debbie Viggiano.

Praise for Jo Platt

‘This book is fantastic. I read it in less than a day, I couldn't put it down. I would absolutely recommend this book to others, and I look forward to reading more by Jo Platt’ 5 star rating – NetGalley Reviewer – Adrienne Worrall

'So easy to fall in love with... guaranteed to make you smile even when just thinking about the book. You can't go wrong with one of Jo Platt's stories. Wonderful, joyous and hilarious.' 5 star rating – NetGalley Reviewer – Sarah N

'The top of my favourite authors list, her characters are completely believable, and people you actually want to befriend, and she is extremely funny!' 5 star rating – NetGalley Reviewer – Sara Clifford-Gray

'I’m always in awe of authors who can put words down on paper which make the reader giggle with the mental image it conjures up, and Jo Platt has it nailed! I adored this one from start to finish. This is the kind of book which leaves you grinning like an idiot when you recall the hilarious moments – and there are many. If you enjoy a good, funny read with an entertaining story line and easy, polished writing then I would most definitely recommend this one to you.' 5 star rating – Blogger – Good and Read-y

‘I absolutely love jo Platt's books. They are a very relaxing easy read that you won't want to put down’ 5 star rating – Amazon Review – Nic





THE QUEEN OF FEEL-GOOD FICTION!

'Every time you discover a new Milly book, it’s like finding a pot of gold' Heat

'Clear your house and clear your mind. Don't let life's clutter dictate to you. Throw it away and take back the control!' 

When Lou Winter picks up a dog-eared magazine in the dentist's waiting room and spots an article about clearing clutter, she little realises how it will change her life. What begins as an earnest spring clean soon spirals out of control.

Lou's loved ones grow disgruntled. Why is clearing out cupboards suddenly more important than making his breakfast, her husband Phil wonders? The truth is, the more rubbish Lou lets go of, the more light and air can get to those painful, closed-up places at the centre of her heart.

Even lovely Tom Broom, the man who delivers Lou's skips, starts to grow concerned about his sweetest customer. But Lou is a woman on a mission, and not even she knows where it will end . . .

For fans of Katie Fforde and Cathy Bramley, A Spring Affair will warm your heart. 

What people are saying about Milly Johnson: 

‘An irresistibly feel-good read’Jane Costello

‘There should be a public health warning with this book: only read if you can afford to lose a day. I emerged from its pages in a mood of sublime contentment’ Debby Holt

‘Another gem from Milly Johnson’ The Sun
 
‘An irresistibly warm and romantic read’ S Magazine
 
‘A warm, funny, and touching tale about friendship, relationships, and everyday lives. I loved it’ Matt Dunn
THE QUEEN OF FEEL-GOOD FICTION!

'Full of love and laughter' Daily Express
'Full of characters you can identify with and an uplifting sense of warmth' Debbie Johnson 
‘Johnson is a bona fide commercial blockbuster author and her latest offering is a treat … a properly juicy novel' Grazia
‘Always rooted in the deep issues that shape and shake women’s lives … Sprinkled with festive cheer’ The Lady

Eve Glace - co-owner of the theme park Winterworld - is having a baby and her due date is a perfectly timed 25th December. And she’s decided that she and her husband Jacques should renew their wedding vows with all the pomp that was missing the first time. But growing problems at Winterworld keep distracting them … 

Annie Pandoro and her husband Joe own a small Christmas cracker factory, and are well set up and happy together despite life never blessing them with a much-wanted child. But when Annie finds that the changes happening to her body aren’t typical of the menopause but pregnancy, her joy is uncontainable. 

Palma Collins has agreed to act as a surrogate, hoping the money will get her out of the gutter in which she finds herself. But when the couple she is helping split up, is she going to be left carrying a baby she never intended to keep?

Annie, Palma and Eve all meet at the ‘Christmas Pudding Club’, a new directive started by a forward-thinking young doctor to help mums-to-be mingle and share their pregnancy journeys. Will this group help each other to find love, contentment and peace as Christmas approaches?

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Perfectly Imperfect Woman, The Mother of All Christmases is a gorgeous read full of love, life, laughter, a few tears - and crackers!

'Brings love, life and laughter' Yours
'A festive-themed, big-hearted feast bursting with love, laughter, tears, a cast of characters that readers will love as much as their own best friends' Lancashire Post
'Every time you discover a new Milly book, it’s like finding a pot of gold' Heat
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.