What I Know: An utterly compelling psychological thriller full of suspense

· Bookouture
4.6
25 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

“I STAYED UP UNTIL 1 A.M. FINISHING THIS BOOK… I tried going to sleep, I really did. But every time I closed my eyes, I just kept thinking about this book, and I neeeedddddeddddd to know how it finished. I was shocked at how much l liked this book.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I was eleven the first time my brother tried to kill me.


These days, Della is a loving wife, a dedicated teacher, a woman trying to do her best. She has put her past far behind her. But she hasn’t forgotten the lessons she learned.


It’s just a regular morning when Della welcomes Zoey to her English class. She treats her like any other new student: assigns her a desk, hands out the work. But then she meets Zoey’s cold, calculating eyes and freezes as terrifying memories threaten to overwhelm her.


Della knows what evil looks like when it hides behind a confident smile. Her own brother, the town’s darling, couldn’t keep his true nature hidden for ever. Della has been watching out for people like him ever since, determined to stop them before it’s too late.


When a student is viciously attacked and Della is sent a detailed account of the crime, she’s more convinced than ever that Zoey has darkness inside her.


But to make people believe her, she needs proof. Will she risk everything to get it? And without it, can she be sure she’s right?


Prepare to be hooked by this dark, gripping crime thriller, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn and Rachel Caine.


Readers absolutely love What I Know:


FANTASTIC… kept me on the edge of my seat. I was hooked from the very first page… so many twists and turns… I sped through this in one sitting” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“I devoured this book in one sitting. Got my heart racing, atmospheric, chilling and utterly gripping… Fantastic… nail-biting… one of the best books I have read this year. A MUST READ!!!!!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Boy did I enjoy it!! My heart was racing throughout… I didn't relax until the end. And what an ending it was!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


A page-turner if I’ve ever read one! I picked this up when I was having trouble sleeping and literally did not put down until I was finished several hours later… The twists were unpredictable and whoa!… everything I love in a great thriller!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


WOW! Hooked from the first chapter and couldn’t put it down… Excellent!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Enthralling! Captivating! One of the best page-turners I've read this year!… It will suck you in and keep you there from start to finish… a great summer read!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


My heart beat so fast!… just perfect!… a rollercoaster!… Like OMG!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


An absolute must for psychological thriller fans!!… so twisted and suspenseful!… the kind of book that keeps you up late at night!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Full of twists… Loved it!!!! Perfect reading.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Was honestly hooked! Fast paced and filled with plenty of twists! My kind of book! Enjoyed so much!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


SO good… a perfect psychological thriller. I can’t wait to tell EVERYONE about it.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Completely captivating. Dark and chilling with a plot twist you don't see coming. I kept frantically turning the pages to find out what happens.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


5 Stars!… a terrific story!… well written, well paced, and thoroughly entertaining. Loved it!” Adele Downs, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.6
25 reviews
Linda Strong
June 24, 2020
Della is a teacher, married to a physician, no children. They were childhood friends, actually Her husband was her brother's best friend when they were young. Today in early class, Della welcomes a new student, Zoey, even though there's only a few more weeks before summer vacation. Della feels something 'off' about Zoey ... her eyes seem cold and calculating. Zoey reminds her of her brother.. Her own brother, the town’s darling, couldn’t keep his true nature hidden for ever. Della has been watching out for people like him ever since, determined to stop them before it’s too late. And Zoey fits the bill. Again, no one agrees with her ... no one sees the evil .... just like when she was a youngster and she tried to warn people about her brother. She swore she'd never let what happened before, ever happen again. She needs proof ... that Zoey isn't the sweetness and light teenager that everyone else sees .. and they don't hear what she says to Della when no one is around. This extremely well written psychological thriller bounces back and forth .... when Della was a young child living at home with her parents and brother... the torment .. knowing what she knows but having no one believe her ... to today knowing what she knows but having no proof. The plot is tightly woven with skillfully drawn characters. It's like getting two stories for the price of one. I couldn't wait to find out what her brother did ... and I couldn't wait to see how far Zoey will go. The ending came fast and furious ... totally unexpected. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this compelling, suspenseful psychological thriller. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
February 22, 2022
My Review: Omg, loved this one!!!!! It really delved deeper into the human mind especially the darkness of it but also the lightness. The brain always has been a real interest of mine. What makes someone bad or even good? Is it determined by nature or nurture? I have so many questions that I’ll probably never really know the answers to. This book dealt with some heavy issues and that’s what made it so great. I have read many of this authors books and have loved them all. I do have to say though that this was by far her best book yet. I really loved the theme of this book along with characters and story line. It really got me thinking and will stay with me for the rest of my life. I would totally recommend this book and can’t wait to read another book by this author. Thanks to Miranda Smith for writing such a great book. In conclusion, the plot, the characters and all the twists in this book made this book an enjoyable read. I would definitely recommend it and happily give it 5 Hearts❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
Did you find this helpful?
Marnie Harrison
June 28, 2020
”My brother was thirteen the first time he tried to kill me” What a way to introduce a book! This first sentence of the blurb had me hooked right from the get go and I could not wait to get stuck into it. Chilling, thrilling and downright terrifying, What I Know will have you completely enthralled from beginning to end. Miranda has crafted a dark tale that had me completely on edge throughout its entirety. There is so much tension and suspense that is built up along the way, that there was no way I was able to relax while reading it. Miranda had me on the edge of my seat at all times, while furiously flicking the pages on my kindle to see how it was all going to unfold. The characters are all well rounded and have been written well. I was able to relate to Della and could feel the intensity of her obsession in trying to expose Zoey, as well as her frustrations when no one would really listen to her concerns. She really was quite an interesting character and was very believable. I enjoyed the structure of the book and how it alternated between the past and present, giving the reader insight into how it felt for Della growing up with her psychopath brother Brian, for it to then switch back to the present as old wounds are brought back to the surface for Della with the arrival of Zoey. There is one thing though that I would have liked to have seen and that would have been dedicated chapters for Brian and Zoey to really get into their minds, but the way it has been set up still works all the same. All up, What I Know is a fast paced, thrilling enjoyable read that will have you up until all hours. Miranda has done a great job with the book and I look forward to reading what she comes up with next. Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Miranda Smith for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Lies To Tell which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.