The Mind Witch

· The Magi Series Book 1 · Raglan publishing
4.9
7 reviews
Ebook
90
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

A wayward seeress. An arrogant wizard. A mysterious box that just might be Pandora’s—and contain a secret the fae world has been seeking for hundreds of years. 


My plan was simple and…mostly ordinary. Finish my PhD. Teach Celtic mythology in a tiny college town. Stop hearing the thoughts and feelings of every person I happen meet. 

As a seer just coming into her powers, I couldn’t avoid the last one. 

But the first two were just within my reach when sorcerer-particle physicist Jonathan Lynch appeared one chilly winter morning along two other shocks: 

The death of my grandmother, the most powerful seer in a generation;

And the mysterious box she protected, which just might have belonged to Pandora.

Suddenly I was tangled in a secret that had been unraveling for years, and my unruly talents and complicated inheritance were at the heart of it all. 

Ordinary life would have to wait. 

The extraordinary was coming for me after all. 

______________________________________________

A hot debut series in the tradition of Deborah Harkness, Diana Gabaldon, and Anne Rice weaves magic, scholarship, and romance for readers who crave a little adventure.

Do mind the cliff! But never fear—the next part is available in just a few weeks.

4.9
7 reviews
PP's Book World
March 1, 2021
I often say fantasy romance isn't my favourite but if it's something like The Mind Witch by Nicole Demery, then I get definitely obsessed. This story carries a mystical vibe with burning curiosity about otherworldly experiences. The smartly crafted words create a magical spell. A veil between known and unknown. A line between reality and surrealism. The author left us at the threshold and my mind is buzzing with barely controlled excitement to see what comes after this novella. I reviewed an early copy voluntarily
Did you find this helpful?
w0llfl0wr72
March 1, 2021
The Mind Witch centers around Cassandra Whelan, a seer coming to grips with her abilities and simultaneously navigating the complexities of being a college student in Boston - purposefully limiting interactions with those around her until a mysterious stranger randomly appears... The scenes between Cassandra and the stranger hint at a possible romance and left me even more curious of who he is and what exactly his interest in her is all about. Also, could there be a connection with her grandmother and the mystical box? The secondary characters are equally as interesting as you’ll wonder about the cause of the professor’s seemingly complete and utter disdain for anything Cassandra does and the role that the delightful Dr. Carly will play in this story. The author does a great job distinguishing between magical beings (sorcerers, sirens, seers, etc.) early on which is helpful for a relatively new reader of fantasy romance like myself. With magic, mystery, romance, and a cliffhanger ending, I’m eagerly awaiting the next installment.
Did you find this helpful?
Amy Thomas
May 6, 2021
This novella was amazing! I've never read a book about this type of myth and lore and this was the perfect place to start! The story never dragged, I took everything in greedily and was upset when it was over because I wanted more. The descriptions Nicole uses to explain all the different fey were amazing because I don't know all the lore. So, I never felt like I didn't understand why things were happening or what it meant. I immediately liked the main character Cassandra and am so intrigued by the mystery man that she meets. Although, she only takes place in Cassandra's memories, I also loved her Gran. This has set up the rest of the story perfectly and I cannot wait to read The Secret Sorcerer! Brillant work!
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Prior to becoming a USA Today best-selling author, Nicole Demery originally told stories as a literature and history instructor while working on her Ph.D. in early American Studies. When not writing, she spends time with her three children, her husband, a brooding scientist, and daydreaming about her next novel.

Nicole writes books that combine the fantastical with the historical, plus a solid dash of romance. Her characters explore the ins and outs of history and myth while remaining as real as anyone you might meet.

Subscribe to her list here: www.nicoledemery.com

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.