The Girls of Mersey Square: An utterly heartbreaking and uplifting historical saga novel

· Bookouture
Ebook
332
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

A totally heart-wrenching but ultimately uplifting historical novel from bestselling author Pam Howes, about young women facing dark times together with friendship and courage. Fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe and Nancy Revell will be captivated.


Mersey Square, Stockport, 1959Jane Wilson’s parents met during the war in the north of England, but Jane is more interested in listening to the new rock music than hearing stories about the Blitz. When she meets handsome drummer Eddie Mellor, with his sparkling blue eyes and cool black leather jacket, she knows her life is about to start.


But Jane’s parents think Eddie’s rebellious ways will lead their beloved daughter into trouble. They forbid her from seeing Eddie, telling Jane to get a proper job as a nurse. But Jane cannot stand the idea of life without the boy she loves and secretly continues to see Eddie. The day she finds out that Eddie has betrayed her, she is utterly distraught. Were her parents right all along?


Jane is desperate to rebuild her life. Her friends rally round to support her and she gets a job at the local music shop she loves, when to her shock, Eddie invites her to his family home and begs her to reconsider. Just as Jane is feeling tempted, someone pounds on the door of the house bringing shocking news that will change both of their lives forever…


Can Jane find happiness with Eddie? And if she does, will her family ever forgive her?


This book was previously published as That’ll Be The Day.


What readers are saying about Pam Howes:


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘Heart-wrenching… You will need tissues… I just loved it all… Brought tears to my eyes as I read… Just perfect… 10/10.’ NetGalley reviewer


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘My heart felt like it was literally going to burst… Gripping… A powerful and moving story that I didn’t want to end… A must-read.’ By the Letter Book Reviews


‘The stories, the characters, the music… this series has it allSuperb!’ Bestselling author Mandasue Heller


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘I love this book so much… So many tears were shed whilst reading this I got a blocked nose!… Oh my days I’m so into this… Fantastic.’ Read Along With Sue Ward


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘WOW what a fabulous book!!… Loads of laughter and tears – it is absolutely a book you will not be able to put down until you finish it, for that reason I had sleepless nights!! I can’t recommend it highly enough.’ Goodreads Reviewer


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘Oh what a corker… Fantastic… Tissues ready though, okay?… Literally moved me to tears, filled my arms with goosebumps… Truly spell-binding, humble, and utterly poignant… Historical fiction at its finest.’ The Writing Garnet


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘I loved this book!… You can’t help but get caught up in the story and not let up until the very last page… I’ve laughed and I’ve cried. I do warn you to have a supply of tissues ready, as I certainly needed them!… Kept me reading until the early hours. I just didn’t want it to end.’ Stardust Book Reviews


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘Utterly impossible for me to put down… Devoured the entire book in just one sitting… I loved this book.’ Little Miss Book Lover 87

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.