Penance of the Damned

Mysteries of Ancient Ireland

Book 27
Sold by Minotaur Books
Free sample

Ireland, AD 671. King Colgú of Cashel is shocked to learn that his loyal Chief Bishop and advisor has been murdered in the old enemy fortress of the Uí Fidgente. When word reaches Cashel that the culprit will be executed under new law, a larger conflict looms.

Dispatched to investigate, Fidelma and her companion Eadulf discover that the man facing punishment is Gormán—commander of the King’s bodyguard. But Fidelma cannot believe Gormán would carry out such an act—and yet he was found locked in a chamber with the body, weapon in hand. The evidence is stacked against him.

If they are to exonerate Gormán and keep the peace between the kingdoms, Fidelma and Eadulf must find the true culprit. As the threat of war looms, the date of execution drawers ever closer...

Read more

More by Peter Berresford Ellis

See more
2 total

Additional Information

Minotaur Books
Read more
Published on
Jul 25, 2017
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Peter Tremayne's Fidelma of Cashel mysteries, set in ancient Ireland, will delight readers with their confounding puzzles and brilliant characters. Here together for the first time are the first three books in the series.

Absolution by Murder:
In A.D. 664, someone murders the Abbess Etain, a supporter of the Celtic way, during the synod between the Roman and Celtic churches. Sister Fidelma, of the Celtic Church, is assigned to use her legal training and mental smarts to find out who wanted the abesss dead, and why. Along the way she is paired up with Brother Eadulf, who belongs to the Roman Church, and it becomes immediately apparent that there might be more between them, as they work together to find the killer and prevent civil war.

Shroud for the Archbishop:
Sister Fidelma and Brother Eadulf travel to Rome to deliver a message to his Holiness. But then the Archbishop is found dead, strangled in his chambers, and a monk is observed fleeing the scene of the crime. Convinced of the monk’s innocence, Fidelma pledges to help reveal the truth, but instead she stumbles across far too few clues, an abundance of motives, and a trail that is strewn with bodies.

Suffer Little Children:
Fidelma, sister of Colgu, who has just become the king of Muman, the largest of the five Irish kingdoms, is tasked with solving the mystery of who murdered the Venerable Dacan, a highly respected elder from a nearby kingdom. This death has far-reaching implications for the peace between the kingdoms, and Fidelma must work to find out what happened to Dacan before a bloody war breaks out between the many factions and families of sixth century Ireland.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.