The Rise of Nine

Lorien Legacies

Book 3
Sold by Harper Collins
Free sample

In Pittacus Lore’s The Rise of Nine, third in the New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series, the stakes are higher than ever as John, Six, and Seven try desperately to find the rest of the Garde before it’s too late.
The Mogadorians who destroyed the planet Lorien continue to hunt down the Garde, the small group of Loric survivors who have taken refuge on Earth. The Garde must come together. They are Lorien and Earth’s only hope.
During the dangerous mission at the Mogadorian base in West Virginia, John found and rescued Nine. But even with their combined powers, special abilities known as Legacies, the pair barely escaped with their lives—and they lost Sam in the process.
In order to save our world and their own, John and Nine must join forces with Six and Seven who have been battling the Mogadorians in Spain, and who are now trying to locate Number Eight in India.
Power in numbers will save us all.
Read more

About the author

Pittacus Lore is Lorien's ruling Elder. He has been on Earth preparing for the war that will decide Earth's fate. His whereabouts are unknown.

Read more
490 total

Additional Information

Harper Collins
Read more
Published on
Aug 21, 2012
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Young Adult Fiction / Action & Adventure / Survival Stories
Young Adult Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Young Adult Fiction / Science Fiction / Alien Contact
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

See entire series

The first book of the #1 New York Times bestselling series and the inspiration for the hit movie from Dreamworks!

This enhanced edition contains:

exclusive videos of maps that will guide readers to clues about The Power of Six, the second volume in the Lorien Legacies seriesa sneak peek at The Power of Sixcharacter bios a guide to the Lorien horoscopeSarah Hart’s Journalan extended scene from the bookThe Power of Six book trailertrailers and stills for the I Am Number Four film from Dreamworks

John Smith seems like an ordinary teenager, living a normal life with his guardian Henri in Paradise, Ohio. But for John, keeping a low profile is essential, because he is not an ordinary teenager. He’s an alien from the planet Lorien, and he’s on the run. A group of evil aliens from the planet Mogadore, who destroyed his world, are hunting anyone who escaped.

Nine Loric children were sent to Earth to live in hiding until they grew up and developed their Legacies, powers that would help them fight back—and help them save us. Three of them are now dead. John is Number Four, and he knows he’s next….

Michael Bay, director of Transformers, raved: “Number Four is a hero for this generation.” This epic story is perfect for fans of action-packed science fiction like The 5th Wave series by Rick Yancey, The Maze Runner series by James Dashner, and Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game.

The battle for Earth’s survival wages on. Read all of the books: #2: The Power of Six, #3: The Rise of Nine, #4: The Fall of Five, #5: The Revenge of Seven, #6: The Fate of Ten, and #7: United as One.

Don’t miss the first book in the brand-new I Am Number Four spin-off series: Generation One.

The fourth book in the blockbuster phenomenon MAZE RUNNER SERIES now features chapters from The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated conclusion to the series—the novel that finally reveals how the maze was built!

    Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth, killing most of the population.
    Mark and Trina were there when it happened. They survived. But now a virus is spreading. A virus that fills humans with murderous rage.
    They’re convinced that there’s a way to save those who are left—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some you’re worth more dead than alive. 
    The Maze Runner and Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials are now major motion pictures featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster. The third movie, Maze Runner: The Death Cure, will hit screens in 2018.
   Also look for James Dashner’s edge-of-your-seat MORTALITY DOCTRINE series!
Praise for the Maze Runner series:
A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series
A USA Today Bestseller
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick
"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."—
“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.”—Newsday
“[A] nail-biting must-read.”—
“Breathless, cinematic action.”—Publishers Weekly
“Heart pounding to the very last moment.”—Kirkus Reviews
“Exclamation-worthy.”—Romantic Times

“James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred

"Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book."-Deseret News

A világszerte nagy sikert aratott sorozat folytatódik! A Védők évekig titokban harcoltak a mogadoriakkal. Most mindez egyik napról a másikra megváltozott: elkezdődött az invázió. John, a Negyedik beleveti magát a New Yorkban dúló csatába. Váratlan segítség számára, hogy legjobb barátja, Sam meghökkentő módon felfedezi, hogy kifejlődött egy tálentuma. Miközben a két fiú próbál Ötödik és Kilencedik nyomára bukkanni a megszállás zűrzavarában, kiderül, hogy nem Sam az egyetlen ember, aki immár olyan képességgel bír, amilyennel korábban csak a Védők. De vajon a többiek barátok vagy ellenségek? Mindeközben Hatodik, Marina és Adam igen szorult helyzetbe kerül Mexikóban. Kemény küzdelem árán elérték a Szentélyt, felébresztették az ott rejlő ősi erőt, ám most nem tudnak kapcsolatba lépni a többiekkel. A mogok pedig seregestül közelednek... A Védők szétszóródtak, több fronton harcolnak. Egyetlen esélyük az lehet, ha végleg leszámolnak a mogadoriak vezérével - ám az ő sorsa egybefonódik Elláéval. Ha végeznek Setrákus Rával, a lánynak is vége. Ha viszont nem állítják meg a mogokat, akkor az emberiségre ugyanaz a sors vár, ami a Lorienre: a megsemmisülés. Elsővel Malajziában végeztek. Másodikkal Angliában. Harmadikat Kenyában ölték meg. Nyolcadik Floridában halt meg. Sorra legyilkolták őket. Most az egész emberiség ellen indulnak harcba, nem hagyjuk, hogy a Föld is a Lorien sorsára jusson. Megkezdődött a végső összecsapás. A Negyedik, A Hatok hatalma, a Kilencedik titka, az Ötödik csapdája, valamint a Hetedik bosszúja folytatása - a Lorieni Krónikák hatodik könyve.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.