Lethal Intent (Bob Skinner series, Book 15): A grippingly suspenseful Edinburgh crime thriller

Sold by Headline
1
Free sample

Would you kill, to save a life?

DCC Bob Skinner faces a life-changing dilemma in Lethal Intenet, a gripping and thought-provoking novel in the Bob Skinner series from crime master Quintin Jardine. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

'Well constructed, fast-paced, Jardine's narrative has many an ingenious twist and turn' - Observer

Somewhere in Scotland the unthinkable is about to happen - something that would shatter the very bedrock of society. And Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner finds himself facing a triple threat. Ruthless Albanian gangsters have infiltrated Edinburgh's underworld. MI5 believe they are trying to take over the drug scene but could they be after a much bigger score? A police officer's son is found dead in suspicious circumstances. And Scotland's unscrupulous First Minister plans to take over the police force, threatening anyone who gets in his way. As the crimes begin to collide, fragments of the truth are revealed. Skinner and his team race against time to piece them together - but will it all come down to a shot in the dark?

What readers are saying about Lethal Intent:

'Brilliant, gripping story [from] start to finish'

'This [book] has you gripped and not able to put it down. A must read'

'Five stars'

Read more
Collapse

More by Quintin Jardine

See more
Countdown to disaster for Edinburgh's hardest cop...

Terrorists strike at the heart of the Edinburgh Festival in Skinner's Festival, Quintin Jardine's second novel in the ever popular Bob Skinner series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid.

'Robustly entertaining' - Irish Times

An explosion rocks Princes Street in the midst of the Edinburgh Festival. Responsibility is claimed by a group supposedly demanding political separation from Britain, but as atrocities escalate Skinner realises this is no gang of fanatics, but a highly professional team. The Fighters for an Independent Scotland want the English out of Scotland too and they're ready to back up their demands with bombings, murders and blackmail threats aimed at wreaking havoc at the Edinburgh Festival of the Arts.

But the Fighters haven't reckoned with Assistant Chief Constable Bob Skinner, head of the Edinburgh CID and security adviser to Secretary of State Alan Ballantyne. Even as craven Ballantyne vows empty defiance of the Fighters, defending his principles with the blood of innocent coppers and bystanders, Skinner assembles a crack task force, carries the ball when the Secretary fumbles on the air, and wrestles with the beast within, who emerges with periodic ferocity to foil a clever, greedy scheme involving the crown jewels and Skinner's own daughter.

What readers are saying about Skinner's Festival:

'Gripping, plot twisting brilliance, a true thriller'

'Suspense from beginning to end'

'Totally absorbing'

'Couldn't put it down'

4.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Headline
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 6, 2006
Read more
Collapse
Pages
300
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780755351022
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / City Life
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Noir
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Urban
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The New York Times bestselling author of Pucked and The Good Luck Charm delivers a Hollywood happily-ever-after where a famous heartthrob falls for his ultimate fangirl.
"As charming as its title, but it's also so much more... Fans of Jasmine Guillory's The Wedding Date and Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient will love Meet Cute." --The Washington Independent Review of Books
Kailyn Flowers was always calm, rational, and controlled--until she ended up sprawled all over Daxton Hughes, the former actor she totally crushed on as a teenager. Then she did the unthinkable: She became a mortifying fangirl in five seconds flat, which may or may not have included professing her undying love. And oddly, he didn't run away. In fact, their meet cute led to a friendship she never saw coming. Of course, she never saw his betrayal coming, either...
Now Dax needs her help. As guardian to his thirteen-year-old sister, he's in way over his head. And though Kailyn hasn't forgiven Dax, she isn't heartless enough to make him fend for himself, either. Soon their friendly meetings turn into flirty dinner dates, and Kailyn can feel their chemistry is as explosive as ever. But how can she possibly let down her guard again to a guy who has heartbreak written all over him?
Goodreads Hottest Romances of 2019Featured in Entertainment WeeklyO, The Oprah Magazine Best Romance Novels of 2019 Featured on PopSugarWomen's Health Best Romance Novels of 2019SheReads Most Anticipated Reads of 2019Heroes & Heartbreakers Anticipated Books of 2019Chatelaine's Hottest Romances of 2019
Edinburgh's toughest cop discovers the dangers of celebrity...

DCC Bob Skinner is about to find out that nothing is quite what it seems in Autographs in the Rain, the eleventh title in the bestselling crime series by Quintin Jardine. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.

'Jardine's delightful hero finds himself investigating a case very close to home, and this latest from the man the Glasgow Herald calls the Sean Connery of Scottish crime fiction delivers another cracker' - Murder One

As Bob Skinner takes an evening stroll with a gorgeous filmstar on his arm, surely the worst of his worries is that back at Headquarters, an ambitious new colleague is scheming to enlarge his territory at Skinner's expense. But when a frightening shot-gun attack sends Skinner and his old flame Louise Bankier diving for cover, it seems danger has zeroed in on him once again.

Returning to Scotland to shoot her latest film, Louise is one of Scotland's most popular exports. But it seems she has a stalker; someone who is clearly determined to scare her. For Skinner, tracking down her tormentor isn't just business - it's now very personal indeed. The Detective Chief Constable, however, is about to find out that nothing is quite what it seems...

What readers are saying about Autographs in the Rain:

'Skinner at his most fearsome'

'Utterly brilliant and thoroughly entertaining'

'The separate strands of the story mesh together to make it one of the best of the series'

'Thrilling, tightly written, with believable characters and a main character (Bob Skinner) who is so human I almost feel that I know him'

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.