Salt River

A Doc Ford Novel

Book 26
Sold by Penguin
This book will become available on February 11, 2020. You will not be charged until it is released.

Marine biologist and former government agent Doc Ford returns for a thrilling adventure in Florida in this timely new novel from New York Times-bestselling author Randy Wayne White.

Marion "Doc" Ford is sure he's beyond the point of being surprised by his old friend Tomlinson's madcap adventures. But he's stunned anew when avowed bachelor Tomlinson reveals that as a younger man he'd fathered multiple children via sperm bank donations. Thanks to ancestry and DNA websites, Tomlinson's now-grown offspring have tracked him down, seeking answers about their roots. But one of them might have something far more nefarious than a family reunion in mind...and when strange things start happening in Tomlinson's presence, it will be up to Doc to prevent his friend's past sins from turning into deadly present-day dangers.
Read more
Collapse

More by Randy Wayne White

See more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Penguin
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 11, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
384
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780735212749
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
INTERNATIONAL THRILLER WRITERS AWARD FINALIST • For readers of Harlan Coben and Robert Crais, Robert McClure’s rollicking crime novel of family and felony takes readers on a relentless thrill ride through the L.A. underworld.
 
Fresh off a nine-year stint in San Quentin, career hitman Babe Crucci plans to finally go straight and enjoy all life has to offer—after he pulls one or two more jobs to shore up his retirement fund. More than anything, Babe is dead set on making up for lost time with his estranged son, Leo, who just so happens to be a rising star in the LAPD.
 
The road to reconciliation starts with tickets to a Dodgers game. But first, Leo needs a little help settling a beef over some gambling debts owed to a local mobster. This kind of thing is child’s play for Babe–until a sudden twist in the negotiations leads to a string of corpses and a titanic power shift in gangland politics. With the sins of his father piling up and dragging him down, Leo throws himself into the investigation of a young prostitute’s murder, a case that makes him some unlikely friends—and some brutally unpredictable enemies.
 
Caught up in a clash of crime lords, weaving past thugs with flamethrowers who expend lives like pocket change, Babe and Leo have one last chance to face the ghosts of their past—if they want to live long enough to see their future.
 
Praise for Deadly Lullaby
 
“Robert McClure is the real deal, an author who produces pulp fiction the way Chandler and Hammett did—with depth and heart.”—Otto Penzler, editor, The Best American Mystery Stories
 
“Too compelling to put down.”—Roger Hobbs, bestselling author of Ghostman
 
“Deadly Lullaby is, at heart, a father-son story, but one in which the father is a ruthless gangster and the son a cynical cop. I loved both of these flawed characters. Robert McClure has written a rousing debut, elevated by pitch-perfect dialogue and a whiplash pace.”—Peter Swanson, author of The Kind Worth Killing

“The writing is excellent, and the family relationship offers an interesting angle.”—I Heart Reading
In these Hawker adventures, the New York Times–bestselling author of the Doc Ford and Hannah Smith novels once again “raises the bar of the action thriller” (The Miami Herald).
 
Chicago cop James Hawker had a choice: Follow orders to stand down or take out a murderous terrorist. Hawker pulled the trigger—but not before the terrorist killed two children. Now exiled from his career, Hawker won’t stop fighting for justice.
 
Detroit Combat: Hawker’s one-man crusade against organized crime has taken him to Detroit and the rotten-to-the-core center of the pornography industry, where a vicious gang is kidnapping women and turning them into sex slaves. Now, it’s up to America’s toughest vigilante to rescue them.
 
Terror in D.C.: In the last six weeks, there have been seven bombings in the nation’s capital as terrorists attempt to bring the citizens of Washington, DC, to their knees. A radical student group is behind the attacks, but Hawker is about to teach them a lesson they’ll remember till their dying day—which may come a lot sooner than they think.
 
Atlanta Extreme: The CIA wants Hawker dead, but an anticommunist crusader wants his help. Col. Wellington Curtis—originally from Atlanta, Georgia—has been financing and arming rebels in Central America. It seems the two men have at least one thing in common: They’re both targets. Now, in Belize, it’s up to Hawker to sort out the good guys from the bad, before somebody succeeds in putting the vigilante out of business permanently.
 
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.