The Girl at My Door: An utterly gripping mystery thriller based on a true crime

Bookouture
5
Free sample

‘Can I give this more than 5 stars? WOW, WOW, WOW. I absolutely loved this book. It completely blew my mind and I have not been able to stop thinking about it since I finished reading it! I devoured this in one sitting… Magnificent.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

An unputdownable mystery thriller based on a true story, about innocent young women turning to the wrong person in their hour of need. Perfect for fans of Gregg Olsen, Louise Douglas and Jess Lourey. Nail-biting, heart-breaking and unforgettable.

 

London, 1949: Beautiful, young Queenie Osbourne has worked so hard for her new life, moving to the big city, singing in front of growing crowds at little restaurants and smoky bars. As she applies bright red lipstick, excited for her best friend’s engagement party, she has no idea of the mistake she’s about to make.

 

The night is perfect: laughter, wine, dancing. But then a spark of attraction becomes impossible to ignore, and in a split second, Queenie’s life is changed forever.

 

Like countless young women of her time, Queenie finds herself desperate and alone, facing an impossible choice. Unbound by guilt, she turns to the only person who can help her, the quiet, ex-soldier John Reginald Christie.

 

It will be a relief to be in John’s capable hands. A relief to discover there is the possibility of a fresh start. But as Queenie stands outside the door of 10 Rillington Place, she starts to ask herself: what if she has put her trust in the wrong man?

 

Completely addictive and inspired by the true crime story of the Rillington Place murders, this stunning mystery will keep you reading long into the night.

 

This novel was previously published as The Rope Chair.

 

What readers are saying about The Girl at My Door:

 

OMG what a reading this was, right from the very start it give me everything that I love in a historical thriller, dark, creepy and will make you stay in your seat just to read.’ Spooky's Maze of Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

A page-turning thriller that will leave you breathlessI was completely hooked… It is brutal, tense and sexy, and an absolute stunner.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Completely engrossing from start to finish… deliciously dark and suspenseful… an addictive thriller with a difference.’ Confessions of a Bookoholic, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘I absolutely loved this book. It was hard to put down as it drew me in immediately… One of those books that sucked me in from the beginning and didn’t let go until I finished! Absolutely unputdownable… you won't want to miss this novel!’ @oh.happy.reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘A thrilling read… so many twists and turns that I was gripping the edge of my seat all the way to the end.’ Nat’s Bookish Corner

 

‘I can’t begin to tell you how much I loved this book… it kept me on the edge of my seat… a stunning book with unexpected twists and one of the creepiest portrayals of a serial killer I have ever read!’ Mychestnutreadingtree, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘A fantastic historical crime fiction novel, that’s dark, atmospheric, unsettling and totally engrossing.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Oh my gosh! What a chilling read!... The narrators did a fabulous job telling this story. I did not want to stop listening. It was captivating! Edge of your seat story!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

A book that will keep you on your toes and on the edge of your seatgave me goosebumps.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Read more
Collapse
4.2
5 total
5
4
3
2
1
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 23, 2021
Read more
Collapse
Pages
379
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781800198913
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Historical
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
True Crime / Murder / Serial Killers
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.