Michael Vey 4

Michael Vey

Book 4
Sold by Simon and Schuster
430
Free sample

Michael and his friends must rescue a child prodigy as the thrilling action continues in this electrifying fourth installment of the New York Times bestselling series!

Michael, Taylor, Ostin and the rest of the Electroclan head to China in search of a girl who may have discovered why Michael and his friends became electric. Her name is Lin Julung, or Jade Dragon, and she’s a child prodigy with an IQ higher than Einstein’s—and Ostin’s.

But Hatch gets to her first, and the Elgen are holding her prisoner in their Taiwan Starxource plant. Now the Voice wants Michael and the Electroclan to go to Taiwan and free her before Hatch can realize his dreams of an army of electric children.

The hunt for Jade Dragon is on, and it’s a race against time!
Read more
Collapse

More by Richard Paul Evans

See more
4.7
430 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 16, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
336
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781481424400
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / General
Young Adult Fiction / Action & Adventure / General
Young Adult Fiction / Science & Technology
Young Adult Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
For readers of Sarah J. Maas and of Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy comes Disruptor, the sequel to Traveler, the thrilling conclusion to the Seeker series.

“Readers of the first two volumes will find their long-awaited conclusion here, and Dayton will have found fans for life.” -Booklist

   Quin has spent her life as her father’s pawn. She was trained to kill and manipulated to guarantee her family’s power. And now that she’s broken free of that life, she’s found herself trapped again, hostage to a plot that has been centuries in the making.
   It’s taken generations for the pieces to come together, and finally all is in place. Her best friend Shinobu’s mind has been corrupted, the Young Dread has aligned with her enemy John, and the bloodthirsty Watchers are being awakened and gathered. Now there is nothing that can stop the force of time.
   But Quin will no longer be a pawn. Quin is a Seeker. She stands for light in a shadowy world. She will face the vengeance of the past and its enemies and save herself and the ones she loves, or she will die trying.

Praise for the Seeker series:

“Katniss and Tris would approve.” —TeenVogue.com
 
“This book will not disappoint.” —USAToday.com
 
“Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Marie Lu’s Legend, and Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived.” —SLJ
 
“Secrets, danger, and romance meet in this unforgettable epic fantasy.” —Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable
 
“A tightly woven, action-packed story of survival and adventure, Seeker is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.” —Tahereh Mafi, author of the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series
For fans of Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams comes a hilarious new space and time adventure.

The year is 2509 and Earth is a rather polluted blue dot that suffers from global warming, overpopulation and not enough people using deodorant.

Blake Carter, star agent with the Planetary Bureau of Investigation, isn’t having a good day. First he’s beaten up by a bunch of religious zealots, and then he’s assigned a robot—sorry, cyborg—as his new partner, right before his ex-wife calls to tell him his daughter has gone missing. His car keeps criticising his driving, and finally, to top things off, the world is held to ransom by his nemesis, evil genius Bartholomew Badde.

Can things get any worse?

Yes!

Darrell Pitt began his lifelong appreciation of Victorian literature when he read Sherlock Holmes stories as a child, quickly moving on to H. G. Wells and Jules Verne. This early reading led to a love of comics, science fiction and all things geeky. Darrell is the author of A Toaster on Mars and the Jack Mason Adventures, a series of five novels including The Firebird Mystery (a Notable book int he 2015 CBCA awards) and, most recently, The Lost Sword. He lives in Melbourne.

‘The adventures of Blake Carter and Nicky Steel, along with commentary by editor Zeeb Blatsnart, bring a lighthearted science fiction story to life. A Toaster on Mars is a laugh-out-loud and thoroughly enjoyable read!’ Melanie Nemer, Austrek President

‘This is a fun, exuberant book to read which sees the main character, Blake Carter, on a non-stop race around the solar system ending up on the titular Mars (Carter on Mars anyone?)...The book is an obvious homage to Douglas Adams but is not slavish in its interpretation and what I really liked, as an SF fan, was picking up on all the other SF references in the story. I particularly enjoyed the inclusion of an immersive 3D version of Plan Nine from Outer Space...4.23657 toasters out of 5.’ Dallas Jones, Doctor Who Club of Australia

‘This novel crackels with wit...the fun doesn’t let up.’ Reading Time

‘Upper Primary and Lower Secondary students who appreciate the ridiculous will enjoy this fast paced book with its zany sense of humour. There is nothing subtle about the irony in the novel which creates many laugh-out-loud moments.’ ReadPlus

‘This pseudo-science-fiction book provides laughs of all types: readers will progress from snickers to giggles to, finally, belly laughs and shouts of outrage...puns, shaggy dog stories, snarky remarks, and hoaxes are just a few of the humorous elements used expertly here.’ Kirkus Reviews

‘A jaded (some might say washed up), hardened investigator with a twelve-year-old is an unusual narrator for a YA tale, but Australian author Pitt pulls it off with aplomb...It’s not quite Douglas Adams amounts of interstellar wonkiness, but given the fact that there’s a sentient Swiss cheese sandwich threatening their lives at one point, it comes close’ Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

‘A manic caper full of talking cards, espionage blunders, Brady Bunch psychosis, and comedic interjections from the book’s fictional editor, as Carter and his partner travel from the depths of the Mariana Trench all the way to Mars (where, spoiler alert, there are no toasters). Packed with references to contemporary culture, this satirical, quirky sci-fi adventure might appeal to fans of Douglas Adams’ well-loved Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.’ Booklist

‘The adventure begins and holds its own in a tale full of jokes, puns and carnivorous sandwiches, yes, really. A comic tale that doesn’t disappoint, curl up with a cuppa and a sandwich (if you dare!) and enjoy...’ AND Guide

‘Works exceptionally well...I can’t wait to see what weird adventures are next in store for our heroes.’ Bookbag

The world is virtual, but the danger is real in book one of the bestselling Mortality Doctrine series, the next phenomenon from the author of the Maze Runner series, James Dashner. 

Includes a sneak peek of The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated conclusion to the Maze Runner series—the novel that finally reveals how the maze was built!

   The VirtNet offers total mind and body immersion, and the more hacking skills you have, the more fun it is. Why bother following the rules when it’s so easy to break them? But some rules were made for a reason. Some technology is too dangerous to fool with. And one gamer has been doing exactly that, with murderous results.
   The government knows that to catch a hacker, you need a hacker. And they’ve been watching Michael. If he accepts their challenge, Michael will need to go off the VirtNet grid, to the back alleys and corners of the system human eyes have never seen—and it’s possible that the line between game and reality will be blurred forever.

The author who brought you the #1 New York Times bestselling MAZE RUNNER series and two #1 movies—The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials—now brings you an electrifying adventure trilogy an edge-of-your-seat adventure that takes you into a world of hyperadvanced technology, cyber terrorists, and gaming beyond your wildest dreams . . . and your worst nightmares.
 
Praise for the Bestselling MORTALITY DOCTRINE series:

“Dashner takes full advantage of the Matrix-esque potential for asking ‘what is real.’” —io9.com
 
“Set in a world taken over by virtual reality gaming, the series perfectly capture[s] Dashner’s hallmarks for inventiveness, teen dialogue and an ability to add twists and turns like no other author.” —MTV.com
 
“A brilliant, visceral, gamified mash-up of The Matrix and Inception, guaranteed to thrill even the non-gaming crowd.” —Christian Science Monitor
Reality just became a virtual nightmare in book two of the bestselling Mortality Doctrine series, the next phenomenon from the author of the Maze Runner series, James Dashner.

Includes a sneak peek of The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated conclusion to the Maze Runner series—the novel that finally reveals how the maze was built!
 
   Michael thought he understood the VirtNet, but the truth he discovered is more terrifying than anyone at VirtNet Security could have anticipated.
   The cyber terrorist Kaine isn’t human. It’s a Tangent, a computer program that has become sentient. And Michael just completed the first step in turning Kaine’s master plan, the Mortality Doctrine, into a reality. The Mortality Doctrine will populate Earth entirely with human bodies harboring Tangent minds. The VNS would like to pretend the world is perfectly safe, but Michael and his friends know that the takeover has already begun. And if they don’t stop Kaine soon, it will be game over for humanity.

The author who brought you the #1 New York Times bestselling MAZE RUNNER series and two #1 movies—The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials—now brings you an electrifying cyber-adventure trilogy that takes you into a world of hyperadvanced technology, cyber terrorists, and gaming beyond your wildest dreams . . . and your worst nightmares.
 
Praise for the Bestselling MORTALITY DOCTRINE series:
 
“Dashner takes full advantage of the Matrix-esque potential for asking ‘what is real.’” —io9.com
 
“Set in a world taken over by virtual reality gaming, the series perfectly capture[s] Dashner’s hallmarks for inventiveness, teen dialogue and an ability to add twists and turns like no other author.” —MTV.com
 
“A brilliant, visceral, gamified mash-up of The Matrix and Inception, guaranteed to thrill even the non-gaming crowd.” —Christian Science Monitor
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.