Revolutionary Road

Sold by Vintage
21
Free sample

In the hopeful 1950s, Frank and April Wheeler appear to be a model couple: bright, beautiful, talented, with two young children and a starter home in the suburbs. Perhaps they married too young and started a family too early. Maybe Frank's job is dull. And April never saw herself as a housewife. Yet they have always lived on the assumption that greatness is only just around the corner. But now that certainty is about to crumble.With heartbreaking compassion and remorseless clarity, Richard Yates shows how Frank and April mortgage their spiritual birthright, betraying not only each other, but their best selves.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Richard Yates was born in 1926. The author of several acclaimed works of fiction, including Revolutionary Road, Eleven Kinds of Loneliness, Disturbing the Peace, and The Easter Parade, he was lauded during his lifetime as the foremost novelist of the post-war "age of anxiety". He died in 1992.
Read more
Collapse
4.7
21 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Vintage
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jul 8, 2008
Read more
Collapse
Pages
368
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780307456274
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
'A sprawling and surprising story of love, grief, loss and change that crosses generations and continents' - Kate Forsyth

Matthew Fenchurch, patriarch and landowner of the northern NSW property Jarulan, lives in a grand decaying folly, invaded by ghosts and the local fauna. His wife is dead, one son has fallen on a battlefield in France, and another lives in exile as a remittance man on a marae in New Zealand. His only company are the farmhands, an old family servant and a part-time laundry maid with dreams above her station.

When Matthew builds a memorial above the river for his brave lost son – and all the boys of the district who have died fighting for King and Country – his daughters and grandchildren return for the unveiling. They bring with them someone who will change life at Jarulan forever, who will fight the ghosts of the past and the claimants of the present, and ensure a dynasty, though not as anyone expected.

Epic, sensuous, brimming with wildlife, love, beauty, babies, ill deeds, revenge, and unions – illicit and condoned – Jarulan by the River is a glorious story of passion and homecoming. A novel with the magic of Colleen McCullough, Bryce Courtenay and Cloudstreet.

Author's note: 'Jarulan' is an Alawa (Roper River, Northern Territory) word for fires started by raptors. These large birds have been observed for hundreds of years dropping burning sticks in grassland and then waiting for the fire to take hold to drive out prey, which they then swoop upon. This description is inspired by a passage in the 1962 book, I, the Aboriginal, by Australian journalist Douglas Lockwood and Waipuldanya (Phillip Roberts), an Alawa language group man from the Roper River country in the Northern Territory. In it, Waipuldanya recalls his own observations of a fire hawk:

'I have seen a hawk pick up a smouldering stick in its claws and drop it in a fresh patch of dry grass half a mile away, then wait with its mates for the mad exodus of scorched and frightened rodents and reptiles. When that area was burnt out, the process was repeated elsewhere. We call these fires Jarulan.'

PRAISE

'Jarulan by the River is lushly detailed. The settings are varied from New Zealand to Australia and this makes for an interesting and multilayered kind of narrative. The characters are believable and well created. So too are the family dramas that will have most readers nodding in agreement. A good read for saga lovers' Christopher Bantick, Weekly Times

'Jarulan by the River with its mysteries, obscured parentage, black-sheep sons, inheritances, mixed-race relationships, and exotic landscapes is very definitely story-rich' David Herkt, Stuff NZ

“The Summer Wives is an exquisitely rendered novel that tackles two of my favorite topics: love and money. The glorious setting and drama are enriched by Williams’s signature vintage touch. It’s at the top of my picks for the beach this summer.”

—Elin Hilderbrand, author of The Perfect Couple

New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams brings us the blockbuster novel of the season—an electrifying postwar fable of love, class, power, and redemption set among the inhabitants of an island off the New England coast . . .

In the summer of 1951, Miranda Schuyler arrives on elite, secretive Winthrop Island as a schoolgirl from the margins of high society, still reeling from the loss of her father in the Second World War. When her beautiful mother marries Hugh Fisher, whose summer house on Winthrop overlooks the famous lighthouse, Miranda’s catapulted into a heady new world of pedigrees and cocktails, status and swimming pools. Isobel Fisher, Miranda’s new stepsister—all long legs and world-weary bravado, engaged to a wealthy Island scion—is eager to draw Miranda into the arcane customs of Winthrop society.

But beneath the island’s patrician surface, there are really two clans: the summer families with their steadfast ways and quiet obsessions, and the working class of Portuguese fishermen and domestic workers who earn their living on the water and in the laundries of the summer houses. Uneasy among Isobel’s privileged friends, Miranda finds herself drawn to Joseph Vargas, whose father keeps the lighthouse with his mysterious wife. In summer, Joseph helps his father in the lobster boats, but in the autumn he returns to Brown University, where he’s determined to make something of himself. Since childhood, Joseph’s enjoyed an intense, complex friendship with Isobel Fisher, and as the summer winds to its end, Miranda’s caught in a catastrophe that will shatter Winthrop’s hard-won tranquility and banish Miranda from the island for nearly two decades.

Now, in the landmark summer of 1969, Miranda returns at last, as a renowned Shakespearean actress hiding a terrible heartbreak. On its surface, the Island remains the same—determined to keep the outside world from its shores, fiercely loyal to those who belong. But the formerly powerful Fisher family is a shadow of itself, and Joseph Vargas has recently escaped the prison where he was incarcerated for the murder of Miranda’s stepfather eighteen years earlier. What’s more, Miranda herself is no longer a naïve teenager, and she begins a fierce, inexorable quest for justice for the man she once loved . . . even if it means uncovering every last one of the secrets that bind together the families of Winthrop Island.

The war is over – but are their troubles just beginning?

 It’s 1951 and rationing is finally coming to an end. But while Liverpool is recovering from the ferocity of war, a family is about to be torn apart…

Dora Rodgers is adjusting to life a new life in Liverpool with her young daughters Carol and Jackie. After the fear of the war years and a difficult break up with her husband Joe, Dora is finally building a future with her children.

But then an unexpected knock at the door rips her family in two.

To Dora’s horror, Carol is taken away by a welfare officer to live with Joe. She is determined to fight for her child, but when a tragic accident leaves her mother in hospital, and shocking news from Joe breaks her heart again, she struggles to cope.

 With her family in pieces and her marriage over for good, will Dora ever manage to get her daughter Carol home where she belongs?

The Forgotten Family of Liverpool is a brave and tear-jerking story of one woman’s quest to protect her family. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Annie Murray and Kitty Neale.

Read what everyone’s saying about The Forgotten Family of Liverpool:

‘A fantastic story… Anyone who likes a good family saga will absolutely love this book.’ I Love Reading, 5 stars

‘WOW what a fabulous book!!… Loads of laughter and tears… A book you will not be able to put down until you finish it, for that reason I had sleepless nights!! I can’t recommend it highly enough.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Pam has written a fabulous sequel which I simply couldn’t put down… I loved every minute of it.’ A Writer’s Journey, 5 stars

‘Beautifully written… Tugs at your heartstrings, so have your tissues ready! I can’t wait until the next one is out!!’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

‘I've read heaps of saga books in the last few years… this series really stands out from all the rest… I enjoyed every bit of this emotional, honest, gritty, raw and endearing story.’ Shaz’s Book Blog, 4 stars

‘A real page-turner that will test your emotions.’ Ali the Dragon Slayer, 5 stars

‘Honestly one of the best family sagas I have ever read.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘I really loved this story.’ Books from Dusk Till Dawn, 5 stars

‘I loved this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Pam Howes has a fantastic knack of bringing her characters to life… This book was one I just didn’t want to put down until I’d finished it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Loved this book and thoroughly recommend it. Fantastic characters and a book which I enjoyed from the first page.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘I read a lot of family sagas but this is my first by this author, but definitely won’t be the last! Really enjoyed it, great writing!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.