A Memory of Light: Book Fourteen of The Wheel of Time

· Wheel of Time Book 14 · Sold by Macmillan
1.87K reviews

About this ebook

The Wheel of Time is now an original series on Prime Video, starring Rosamund Pike as Moiraine!

With Robert Jordan’s untimely passing in 2007, Brandon Sanderson, the New York Times bestselling author of the Mistborn novels and the Stormlight Archive, was chosen by Jordan’s editor—his wife, Harriet McDougal—to complete the final volume in The Wheel of Time®, later expanded to three books.

In A Memory of Light, the fourteenth and concluding novel in Jordan’s #1 New York Times bestselling epic fantasy series, the armies of Light gather to fight in Tarmon Gai’don, the Last Battle, to save the Westland nations from the shadow forces of the Dark One.

Rand al’Thor, the Dragon Reborn, is ready to fulfill his destiny. To defeat the enemy that threatens them all, he must convince his reluctant allies that his plan—as foolhardy and dangerous as it appears—is their only chance to stop the Dark One’s ascension and secure a lasting peace. But if Rand’s course of action fails, the world will be engulfed in shadow.

Across the land, Mat, Perrin, and Egwene engage in battle with Shadowspawn, Trollocs, Darkfriends, and other creatures of the Blight. Sacrifices are made, lives are lost, but victory is unassured. For when Rand confronts the Dark One in Shayol Ghul, he is bombarded with conflicting visions of the future that reveal there is more at stake for humanity than winning the war.

Since its debut in 1990, The Wheel of Time® by Robert Jordan has captivated millions of readers around the globe with its scope, originality, and compelling characters. The last six books in series were all instant #1 New York Times bestsellers, and The Eye of the World was named one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's The Great American Read.

The Wheel of Time®
New Spring: The Novel
#1 The Eye of the World
#2 The Great Hunt
#3 The Dragon Reborn
#4 The Shadow Rising
#5 The Fires of Heaven
#6 Lord of Chaos
#7 A Crown of Swords
#8 The Path of Daggers
#9 Winter's Heart
#10 Crossroads of Twilight
#11 Knife of Dreams

By Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson
#12 The Gathering Storm
#13 Towers of Midnight
#14 A Memory of Light

By Robert Jordan and Teresa Patterson
The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time

By Robert Jordan, Harriet McDougal, Alan Romanczuk, and Maria Simons
The Wheel of Time Companion

By Robert Jordan and Amy Romanczuk
Patterns of the Wheel: Coloring Art Based on Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Ratings and reviews

1.87K reviews
Kevin Presley
April 23, 2023
The Wheel of Time cannot be fairly described with just a thousand characters. It is probably the best work of literature ever produced by human kind. 14 books each far longer than would normally be thought comfortable, each a masterwork better than anything else in the genre, capped by a thousand pages of sheer intensity that even the death of the author himself could not stop. My sadness that we shall never see its like come again is only matched by my sheer joy that in this digital age this masterwork can never be lost. While all the other books now pale by comparison, Jordan makes each of them better for having shown a light on the darkness of our own souls and the truth of nobility in even the worst of us. As Card did in Ender's Game, Jordan has set an impossible standard for all who come after, but praise the light what a gloriously inspiring goal it will forever be. Thank you, and especially thank Sanderson for being the perfect prophet to carry his visions beyond death.
Did you find this helpful?
Cyd Manro
January 2, 2015
Great job by Robert Jordan to conceive of this ending and prepare the notes so that Brandon Sanderson could finish. Robert Jordan's character development is carried through well enough by Sanderson even though it is not his strong suit. It is amazing to have been able to tie up so many plot threads as neatly and as expertly as was done in the final three books. Having met both authors and the editor, I am happy to have bought all of the books in hard cover as well as in Google play. Would read again.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Michael McIntosh
May 22, 2014
The Book was good but not five stars IMO it was a four star book. The good: The action is fast and furious really cool sense's the shear amount of death and cranage is staggering when Robert Jordan chose to name it the last battle he meant it... The bad: the rapid and constant POV change can get annoying at times. Also there two unknown characters introduced who get quiet a lot of pages dedicated to them. Also two disappointing roles Matt's and the seanchan's role In this book is awful and then there is the actual fight between rand and the dark one is a little disappointing but I think that is because that by the time you get to the finale you have what you imagine the final fight will be like and when it isn't its disappointing. SPOILERS. @james powers the pipe thing i believe there are two possibilities one Rand has become him "full" self and in the process is now able to bend the wheel to himself to that degree b/c he's taveren second possibility and my preferred explanation during Rands fight with dark one they both create and recreate the world and rand realizes like the Ariel believe that the world is a dream wake from when you die maybe it's like the world of dream.
9 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

ROBERT JORDAN (1948-2007) is best known for his internationally bestselling epic fantasy series The Wheel of Time®, which has sold over 40 million copies in North America and is currently being adapted for the screen. A native of Charleston, Jordan graduated from The Citadel, the Military College of South Carolina, with a degree in physics. He served two tours in Vietnam with the U.S. Army and received multiple decorations for his service.

BRANDON SANDERSON grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Utah with his wife and children and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University. He is the author of such bestsellers as the Mistborn® trilogy and its sequels, The Alloy of Law, Shadows of Self, and The Bands of Mourning; the Stormlight Archive novels The Way of Kings, Words of Radiance, and Oathbringer; and other novels, including The Rithmatist and Steelheart. In 2013, he won a Hugo Award for Best Novella for The Emperor's Soul, set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, Elantris. Additionally, he was chosen to complete Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time® sequence.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.