Fire and Vengeance

· Oceanview Publishing
4.5
4 reviews
Ebook
336
Pages
Eligible
60% price drop on Apr 1

About this ebook

A heinous conspiracy—a volcano exacting revenge—an island paradise in anguish

Having killed his father's nemesis and gotten away with it, Hilo, Hawaii Chief Detective Koa Kane, is not your ordinary cop. Estranged from his younger brother, who has been convicted of multiple crimes, he is not from a typical law enforcement family. Yet, Koa's secret demons fuel his unwavering drive to pursue justice.

Never has Koa's motivation been greater than when he learns that an elementary school was placed atop a volcanic vent, which has now exploded. The subsequent murders of the school's contractor and architect only add urgency to his search for the truth.

As Koa's investigation heats up, his brother collapses in jail from a previously undiagnosed brain tumor. Using his connections, Koa devises a risky plan to win his brother's freedom. As Koa gradually unravels the obscure connections between multiple suspects, he uncovers a forty-year-old conspiracy. When he is about to apprehend the perpetrators, his investigation suddenly becomes entwined with his brother's future, forcing Koa to choose between justice for the victims and his brother's freedom.

Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and James Lee Burke

While all of the novels in the Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Death of a Messenger
Off the Grid
Fire and Vengeance
Treachery Times Two
Retribution

Ratings and reviews

4.5
4 reviews
Linda Strong
September 5, 2020
Chief Detective Koa Kane is not an ordinary cop. He has murdered someone who was threatening family member .. and gotten away with it. His younger brother has been convicted of numerous, multiple crimes. His is not a typical law enforcement family. Yet it is his fervent wish to pursue justice and give victims and their families closure. BOOK BLURB: Never has Koa's motivation been greater than when he learns that an elementary school was placed atop a volcanic vent, which has now exploded. The subsequent murders of the school's contractor and architect only add urgency to his search for the truth. While his investigation takes off, he's confronted with a family problem. His brother has a previously undiagnosed brain tumor. Kane will go to great lengths to get his brother out of prison. BOOK BLURB: As Koa gradually unravels the obscure connections between multiple suspects, he uncovers a forty-year-old conspiracy. When he is about to apprehend the perpetrators, his investigation suddenly becomes entwined with his brother's future, forcing Koa to choose between justice for the victims and his brother's freedom. Kane and his are faced with an explosive crime, a corrupt government committed to a cover-up and billowing issues with his family. This is a well written crime fiction / mystery that is well paced from beginning to end. The characters are deftly drawn and lend a credible feel to the story. The two stories are woven together with great care. Multiple suspects to watch lead to a stunning conclusion. Although second in the series, this serves well as a stand alone. I do, however, recommend reading them in order. Many thanks to the author / Oceanview Publishing/ Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime mystery. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Did you find this helpful?
brf1948
July 11, 2020
I received a free electronic ARC copy of this Hawaiian novel from Netgalley, Robert McCaw, and Oceanview Publishing. Thank you all for sharing your hard work with me. I have read this novel of my own volition, and this review reflects my honest opinion of this work. For all you other fans of Five-0, this is an essential book for you. I could not put the novel down. The protagonists are sympathetic, the background is lovingly portrayed, and the action never stops. Koa Kane is a cop in Kona, and we open with a hurricane bringing down century-old trees and massive quantities of rain to the islands. It is that rainfall that triggers the catastrophic explosions at the year-old elementary school, killing 20 children and four teachers, with no end of trouble in sight. Before another day dawns, it is obvious that the builders knowingly erected the school over a volcanic vent. The question now is how far up the food chain did that knowledge and coverup rise? Because if Koa Kane has anything to do with it, heads will roll.
Did you find this helpful?
Pamela Ringener
June 13, 2020
Book was good! It has hard to get interested in until Chapter 4.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Robert McCaw grew up in a military family traveling the world. After graduating from Georgetown University, he served as a lieutenant in the U.S. Army before earning his law degree from the University of Virginia. After law school he spent a year as a judicial clerk for Supreme Court Justice Hugo L. Black. Thereafter, he was a partner in a major international law firm with offices in Washington, D.C. and New York City, representing clients in complex civil and criminal cases. For a number of years, McCaw maintained a home on the Big Island of Hawaii, studying its history, culture, and people. Putting himself in the shoes of Detective Koa Kane, he has walked the streets, courthouse corridors, and parks of Hawaii's Big Island. Fire and Vengeance is his third Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.