The Honeymoon: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller

· Bookouture
4.1
35 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

‘I’m your husband, Chloe. We’re a partnership now and we do what’s best for us as a couple.’


Chloe finally feels like she’s got her life together. After a difficult childhood and losing both parents,  she worked hard for the life she loves in lively Brighton, helping people as a physiotherapist. And then she meets the perfect man.


It’s a whirlwind romance, but Dan is handsome, funny, and simply the kindest man she’s ever met. When she sees him standing by the altar, tears glistening in his eyes, she knows this will be for always.


As they sunbathe on their honeymoon island, laughing over drinks, planning  their future with their feet in the sand, Dan jokes that he’d like them to stay there forever.


At first, Chloe couldn’t agree more. It’s tempting to imagine truly leaving her troubled past behind. But as the honeymoon goes on, he becomes increasingly adamant. They shouldn’t leave. In fact, he won’t let her…


Is he protecting her, as he claims? Or is it something more sinister? An utterly gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Clare Mackintosh, and The Wife Between Us.


Readers are loving The Honeymoon:

A story full of secrets, twists and unexpected wow moments! This thriller will keep you hanging on the edge of your seat until the very last page. I highly recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

I loved how many twists there were… It made it so exciting to read and the whole book I was dying to know what was going to happen next… And I could never have guessed… Such a rollercoaster ride!... Exciting and twisty.’ Goodreads reviewer


A 5 star book for me! It had that ball of mixed feelings, adrenaline, twists!... I absolutely loved The Honeymoon and cannot recommend the book enough! Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


An enthralling read packed full of secrets and lies. It’s one of those books that draws you straight in from picking it up and making it very hard to put back down again. Will certainly keep you on your toes and have you on the edge of your seat.’ By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars


Kept me guessing the whole way through… I absolutely loved this book, it was a real page turner… Bursting with mystery and deeply buried secrets.’ Ramblings of a Book Addict

 

‘I absolutely 100% loved this book! A 5 star readThe Honeymoon had it all...twists, turns, a beautiful setting, characters we want to hate and ones we want to love, paranoia, and a sense of something bad about to happen… CRAZY AND TWISTED!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A twisty book, full of surprises… I couldn't put down even if I tried, I was reading practically open mouthed at the way the finale picked up pace (well what I thought was the finale!). And still the shocks kept on coming, all the way to the last page.’


A must-read gripping, twisty, addictive, brilliant read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘I devoured this book in one night—it definitely kept me on the edge of my seat! There were many unexpected twists, right up to the very end! Highly engaging book, I definitely recommend!’ Goodreads reviewer


Five big shiny well deserved stars!A story full of secrets, twists and unexpected wow moments! This thriller will keep you hanging on the edge of your seat until the very last page. I highly recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


So many twists and turns; right when you think you know what is going on, the author throws another twist at you to prove how wrong you are. Wow the ending was amazing I never saw it coming and it hit you like a ton of bricks. I wish could read this story again for the first time just to get that huge shock. Great read ,I loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Ratings and reviews

4.1
35 reviews
Marnie Harrison
June 7, 2019
I am a sucker for a great cover and this one had me hooked before I even read what the book was even about. I mean who doesn’t love a great book cover! All looks so peaceful and relaxing and then you get into the story….. After a 2 month courtship Chloe and Dan get married. Some may think it is too quick, but for them their relationship could not be more perfect so why wait! For Chloe, Dan is the man of her dreams. Having a strained relationship with her Grandma, brother and sister, Chloe gets caught up in the whirlwind romance in the hopes for a better life where she is wanted and needed. All looks great for the happy couple, but when Dan is late to their wedding ceremony and then changes the location of their honeymoon from the Maldives to Menorca without any input from Chloe, this is when she first has doubts whether she has made the right decision in marrying Dan so quickley without really getting to know him first. Pushing those thoughts aside, she decides to make best of the situation and enjoy the new destination. But as the days roll on, Chloe soon realises that Dan is hiding something from her, and when he suggests that they stay in Menorca permanently, at first she thinks he is just joking but when it becomes apparent that he isn’t, this is when Chloe’s nightmare begins. Dan becomes obsessed in making sure that she can not escape from him, and hiding her passport and phone are just some of lengths that Dan goes to to make sure that this doesn’t happen. But what is Dan hiding to keep to her trapped like this, and is Chloe’s life in danger from her new husband? This is a fast paced psychological thriller that had me gripped from the start. I enjoyed Rona’s writing style and the way she was able to make me feel all of the emotions that Chloe felt of at first feeling protected by Dan to being trapped and suffocated by him. Character wise, though not many in this book, were well developed and I loved how strong and determined Chloe was at all times. If you love a story full of suspense, twists and turns then this is the book for you. This is the first book I have read from Rona and I will be definitely be checking out her other books and on the lookout for new books from her in the future. Do I recommend this book: Absolutely! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Thank-you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Rona Halsall for allowing me to read an advance copy of the Honeymoon in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and are not biased in any way.
1 person found this review helpful
Cathy Geha
May 31, 2019
The Honeymoon by Rona Halsall As I finished I thought, “twisted web” then had to look the words up and realized it was a tangled web quote I was thinking of, “O, what a tangled web we weave when first we practise to deceive!” and Walter Scott definitely would have agreed with me that this story was both tangled and twisted, too. We know from the beginning of the book that Chloe, on her way to her dream honeymoon, will soon be having second thoughts. As the story moves from the race to the plane to the first inklings of something not right then on to more and more to question I wondered why Chloe kept giving her husband Dan the benefit of the doubt. There were several flashbacks to the meeting and courtship period between Chloe and Dan and then I scratched my head more than a few times thinking of how naive and gullible Chloe seemed to be. As I read I questioned and though there were times that I disagreed with Dan’s behavior and questioned his veracity I felt that I was missing part of his backstory and was curious about what he was hiding. I have to say that there was more than one option I saw as the end of this story BUT I was surprised that it ended as it did and for a person who reads the end of a book out of order...this book still kept me guessing. Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC ~ This is my honest review. 4-5 Stars
3 people found this review helpful
Lee Husemann
July 16, 2019
Chloe meets Dan when he brings his mum in for physical therapy. After a 2-month whirlwind courtship, they wed and leave for a honeymoon in the Maldives. However, Dan has surprised Chloe and changed their destination to Menorca. This sets off a series of events which has Chloe wondering if her prince charming is really the devil in disguise. I really enjoyed this quick easy read which was full of suspense and surprises. I found the characters pretty much unlikeable including her Gran, but overall it is a very good book and I especially liked the ending. Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the opportunity to read an ARC of this page-turner in exchange for an honest review.
3 people found this review helpful

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.