Pieces of January

Sold by Simon and Schuster
Free sample

A record breaking cold front has dropped a foot of snow on Shenandoah County and brought activity on the lake to a near standstill. All is well with ex-Army Special Forces member, Salem Matthews, and his family…until a dead body is found.

Two more murders, by a group calling itself the Committee for Morality and Decency, spurs Salem to take action. When he finds a note in his own mailbox, he knows it’s time to find and eliminate the members of the Committee, before they can destroy his family and community.

Time is running out, and it appears the killer is just getting started.
Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
Jun 20, 2018
Read more
Pages
354
Read more
ISBN
9781682992913
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A DARK FORCE STALKS SHENANDOAH MOUNTAIN LAKE AND PEOPLE ARE DYING AND THERE'S NO END IN SIGHT.

A deadly menace stalks the placid shores of Shenandoah Mountain Lake. A serial killer is on the loose and the bodies are piling up. The residents of Shenandoah County are terrified, afraid to leave their homes and hoping for news of the killer’s capture before there’s another victim. With over five hundred miles of shoreline to cover, the sheriff’s office cannot protect the local citizens.
Leading citizen Salem Matthews is worried. As an important property owner and business manager he knows that he and his family could be a prime target. When a valued employee and friend becomes the next murder victim, Salem and his buddy Anderson, both ex-military special forces, realize the backwater sheriff hasn’t a clue. If the killer is to be stopped, Salem and Anderson have to do it.
The killer is smart. With no discernible con-nection among the victims and no physical evidence left at any of the crime scenes, Salem and Anderson don’t know where to begin.
There are plenty of suspects such as the mysterious pastor of Holy Covenant Spiritual Center; the strange psychiatrist who has turned the former Lakeside Academy elementary school into a mental health facility; the manager and employees of Pirates South, the enormous and strange theme park that has recently opened on the lake’s western shore.
As Salem and Anderson close in on the crazed predator, they know they’re in a race against time before they become targets themselves.


"Full of suspense... A definite page-turner!"—Sandra Ely, Author of the "Immortal Hearts" series.

“...the bucolic Shenandoah mountains of Virginia...the unlikely setting for...gruesome murders...”—Rodney Page, Author of "Powers Not Delegated" and "The Xerces Factor."

“...hard to put down...keeps you guessing at each turn of the pages...A good read for a rainy and dark afternoon...” —Grant R Gregory , Author of the "Critter Corner Blog", http://thevlm.org/critter-corner

“...powerful characters...keeps his readers guessing...A must read for all murder mystery aficionados”.—G.J. Wise, Author of the paranormal horror novel "Spiritwood".

“...Rate it a five of five and suggest you put Mr. Paxton on your list of "to read" authors.”—Danney Clark, author of "Shield of Faith."

"...a serial killer who likes his victims young, female, and available...”—Jess Frankel, author.

“...[gives]the "Who Done It"...a shot of twisted adrenaline that will have readers hanging onto each line.”—James Sanders, author of "Situations: An Urban Crime Novel"
Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

A DARK FORCE STALKS SHENANDOAH MOUNTAIN LAKE AND PEOPLE ARE DYING AND THERE'S NO END IN SIGHT.

A deadly menace stalks the placid shores of Shenandoah Mountain Lake. A serial killer is on the loose and the bodies are piling up. The residents of Shenandoah County are terrified, afraid to leave their homes and hoping for news of the killer’s capture before there’s another victim. With over five hundred miles of shoreline to cover, the sheriff’s office cannot protect the local citizens.
Leading citizen Salem Matthews is worried. As an important property owner and business manager he knows that he and his family could be a prime target. When a valued employee and friend becomes the next murder victim, Salem and his buddy Anderson, both ex-military special forces, realize the backwater sheriff hasn’t a clue. If the killer is to be stopped, Salem and Anderson have to do it.
The killer is smart. With no discernible con-nection among the victims and no physical evidence left at any of the crime scenes, Salem and Anderson don’t know where to begin.
There are plenty of suspects such as the mysterious pastor of Holy Covenant Spiritual Center; the strange psychiatrist who has turned the former Lakeside Academy elementary school into a mental health facility; the manager and employees of Pirates South, the enormous and strange theme park that has recently opened on the lake’s western shore.
As Salem and Anderson close in on the crazed predator, they know they’re in a race against time before they become targets themselves.


"Full of suspense... A definite page-turner!"—Sandra Ely, Author of the "Immortal Hearts" series.

“...the bucolic Shenandoah mountains of Virginia...the unlikely setting for...gruesome murders...”—Rodney Page, Author of "Powers Not Delegated" and "The Xerces Factor."

“...hard to put down...keeps you guessing at each turn of the pages...A good read for a rainy and dark afternoon...” —Grant R Gregory , Author of the "Critter Corner Blog", http://thevlm.org/critter-corner

“...powerful characters...keeps his readers guessing...A must read for all murder mystery aficionados”.—G.J. Wise, Author of the paranormal horror novel "Spiritwood".

“...Rate it a five of five and suggest you put Mr. Paxton on your list of "to read" authors.”—Danney Clark, author of "Shield of Faith."

"...a serial killer who likes his victims young, female, and available...”—Jess Frankel, author.

“...[gives]the "Who Done It"...a shot of twisted adrenaline that will have readers hanging onto each line.”—James Sanders, author of "Situations: An Urban Crime Novel"
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.