The Chasm: A New Adult Enemies to Lovers Dystopian Fantasy Romance

· Madion War Trilogy Book 2 · Sun's Golden Ray Publishing
4.0
5 reviews
Ebook
195
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

From award-winning author S. Usher Evans comes a luscious tale of forbidden love, survival, and overcoming the odds. Fans of Mary Pearson's Kiss of Deception and Marie Rutkowski's The Winner's Curse will fall in love with this magicless fantasy romance, featuring a prince and pilot from warring nations who become stranded on an island.  

Four months after Prince Galian was discovered alive on a remote island, he's adjusting slowly to life at the hospital under the Kylaen media's glare. His promises to Theo remain unfulfilled as fear of his father keeps him from taking concrete action. And the more he learns about the machinations in Kylae, the less sure he is that it's possible to make a difference.

Across the great Madion Sea, Major Theo Kallistrate struggles to navigate the tricky political waters of Rave's presidential staff. To make positive change for her people, she must remain relevant and interesting to the Raven media and to the president. When he asks her to deliver a speech on her supposed two-month imprisonment at Mael, she's not sure she can stomach the lies.

The Chasm is S. Usher Evans' breathtaking, fast-paced follow-up to The Island, which readers say is "not to be missed."

Keywords: fantasy romance, dystopian fantasy romance, enemies to lovers, human heroine, hero redemption, anti-hero, hate to love, magicless fantasy, pilot, prince, royal fantasy romance, action adventure, survival romance, action adventure romance, new adult fantasy romance, new adult fantasy, fantasy new adult, new adult & college romance, Girls and Women’s Issues, Survival Stories

4.0
5 reviews
Chelsea Coates
February 14, 2017
What I Loved This doesn’t happen often, but I think I actually liked this book MORE than the first one! I know, crazy right? I just felt like I could connect with the characters a little bit more and the plot was faster paced for me. I was disappointed that there was less Galian/Theo moments but since they were in different countries it seems fair. I just want them to be happy and live happily ever after! Why is that so hard?! Can I just say that while I love Galien, I think I might like Rhys more! I loved that we got to see more of him in this book and that only lead to me falling in love with him. Also their mother? Where did she come from?! I think it’s my new life goal to “grow up” and become just as badass as her! I’d really looking forward to seeing what she ends up doing to end this war. I feel something epic coming on! I also admired how true to the first book the author was. I’ve been noticing a lot more lately that authors are basically changing the personalities of their characters in their later books. I was SO GLAD that this didn’t happen here. I loved how easily Theo could stand up to people and how genuinely good Galian is. They really do make a perfect match. I kind of like the idea that there’s no “good” country exactly. They all have their faults and are all coming at this war from all the wrong angles. I like that the villains of this book were from each country. I hated every single politician we met (for good readsons) and I actually had fun hating them through the duration of the book. I was not expecting that last move at the end! The author has no problem surprising me apparently! I’m also really like that this is a new adult book. I find most new adult books are contemporary and I’m always excited when I find a fantasy one! Especially one as good as this series! What I Didn't Like I don’t know if I can think about anything I didn’t like. While I wasn’t crying from amazement, it was still a REALLY good book and an even better sequel. The only complaint I could possibly think of was that the beginning was a little slow due to all the politics that took place. I do understand why it had to happen though. Who I'd Recommend To I’d recommend this to any YA fantasy lovers that are looking to read more new adult books. I love that this wasn’t too sex or violence heavy but it had just the perfect amount for anyone who is looking to transition. Also it’s just amazing and every needs to read it, especially if you love romance mixed with your fantasy!
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
MC
December 23, 2016
After reading The Island, which mainly takes place, well, on an island, the switch to The Chasm was definitely a change of pace. The main characters, Theo and Galian, were mainly the only characters we encountered in the first book, so I already knew and loved them both. But in The Chasm, a whole new cast of characters is introduced and expanded upon. And I LOVED IT. I found myself so connected to the characters that I cried when they cried, laughed when they laughed. I absolutely adored meeting the people that brought Theo and Galian joy...as well as those that brought them pain. I actually think I enjoyed The Chasm just a teensy bit more that The Island. Meeting so many wonderful characters really sucked me in and sold me on this story. I am really looking forward to seeing what happens to all of these beloved characters in the final book in the trilogy, The Union, which releases on Valentine's Day 2017!
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Theresa Snyder
February 17, 2017
Theo and Galian are back in their own countries, which are still at war. Both are trying to find ways to end the war. Like the first book, it's told from alternating point of views, which I really like. In this book, we see both characters grow, from feeling helpless to do anything to finding there is something they can do. Of course there is the love!!! Being kept separated so long, 'does he still love me' 'does she still love me' .... then the Prince Galian manages to find a way for them to be together again! *SWOON* (I don't normally swoon, but this one, yes, it got to me!!!) of course there's more to the war and we do get some history as to what's it's going on. More politics, corrupt government, etc... As always, I couldn't put this book down!!! I liked this book even better than the first, so now I'm really looking forward to the next book: The Union!!! (less)
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.