Always: A Novel

Sold by Ballantine Books
26
Free sample

A gripping novel about the kind of love that never lets go, and the heart’s capacity to remember, from the New York Times bestselling author of Blackberry Winter and The Violets of March

Enjoying a romantic candlelit dinner with her fiancé, Ryan, at one of Seattle’s chicest restaurants, Kailey Crain can’t believe her good fortune: She has a great job as a journalist and is now engaged to a guy who is perfect in nearly every way. As she and Ryan leave the restaurant, Kailey spies a thin, bearded homeless man on the sidewalk. She approaches him to offer up her bag of leftovers, and is stunned when their eyes meet, then stricken to her very core: The man is the love of her life, Cade McAllister.

When Kailey met Cade ten years ago, their attraction was immediate and intense—everything connected and felt right. But it all ended suddenly, leaving Kailey devastated. Now the poor soul on the street is a faded version of her former beloved: His weathered and weary face is as handsome as Kailey remembers, but his mind has suffered in the intervening years. Over the next few weeks, Kailey helps Cade begin to piece his life together, something she initially keeps from Ryan. As she revisits her long-ago relationship, Kailey realizes that she must decide exactly what—and whom—she wants.

Alternating between the past and the present, Always is a beautifully unfolding exploration of a woman faced with an impossible choice, a woman who discovers what she’s willing to save and what she will sacrifice for true love.

Praise for Always

“[Sarah] Jio’s novel is a fantastic read that explores the world of lost love in a poignant and beautiful way, while still being light and easy to digest. The protagonist is one whom readers can relate to. . . . Jio’s tale also beautifully blends stories from both the past and the present. . . . It’s a great read and comes with high recommendations.”RT Book Reviews 

“Jio’s newest novel explores intersections of past and present and the complexities of love. . . . [Kailey] must confront her own past as she tries to figure out what she really wants. . . . Fans of Jio’s work will still find her signature emotional depth.”Publishers Weekly

“A heartwarming story of personal growth and the power of nostalgia . . . Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emily Giffin should enjoy this warm and compassionate novel.”Booklist

“Perfect for fireside reading.”PopSugar

“When it comes down to it, Always isn’t just one love story. It’s layers of love stories to which everyone can relate. Choices, sacrifices, actions, reactions. All lead to true love.”—Fort Worth Star-Telegram

“This quick beach read will appeal to those seeking a clean romance as well as to fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Karen White.”Library Journal

“A beautiful combination of heartfelt struggles, deep connections and social issues that should not be ignored . . . Five stars indeed!”—Winter Haven Books

“Powerful, heartbreaking, and beautiful.”—Open Book Society
Read more

About the author

Sarah Jio is the #1 international, New York Times, and USA Today bestselling author of eight novels. She is also a longtime journalist who has contributed to Glamour, The New York Times, Redbook, Real Simple, O: The Oprah Magazine, Cooking Light, Woman’s Day, Marie Claire, Self, and many other outlets, including NPR’s Morning Edition, appearing as a commentator. Jio lives in Seattle with her three young boys.
Read more
4.1
26 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Ballantine Books
Read more
Published on
Feb 7, 2017
Read more
Pages
288
Read more
ISBN
9781101885031
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Debbie Macomber returns with a powerful standalone novel about a woman forced to start her life anew, embarking on the most courageous journey of all—to a place where she learns what love and trust really mean.
 
Shay Benson adored her younger brother, Caden, and that got her into trouble. When he owed money, Shay realized she would do anything to help him avoid the men who were threatening him, and she crossed lines she never should have crossed. Now, determined to start fresh, she finds herself in search of a place to stay and wanders into a church to escape from the cold.
 
Pastor Drew Douglas adored his wife. But when he lost her, it was all he could do to focus on his two beautiful kids, and his flock came in a distant third. Now, as he too is thinking about a fresh start, he walks through his sanctuary and finds Shay sitting in a pew.
 
The pair strike up a friendship—Drew helps Shay get back on her feet, and she reignites his sense of purpose—that, over time, turns into something deeper, something soulful, spiritual, and possibly romantic. Even Drew’s two children are taken with this woman who has brought light back into their lives. Perhaps most important, Shay learns to trust again as she, in turn, proves herself trustworthy to her adopted community.
 
But Caden’s return to town and a disastrous secret threaten to undo the life Shay has tried so hard to rebuild. It will take the utmost courage and faith if she and Drew hope to find healing and open their hearts to a brighter future.

Praise for Any Dream Will Do 

“Emotional, romantic and inspirational, the latest novel from romance maven Macomber is a must read! . . . Shay’s journey is one of courage, and there’s something in her story for every reader.”—RT Book Reviews
 
“Any Dream Will Do is . . . so realistic, it’s hard to believe it’s fiction through the end. Even then, it’s hard to say goodbye to these characters. This standalone novel will make you hope it becomes a Hallmark movie, or gets a sequel. It’s an inspiring, hard-to-put-down tale. . . . You need to read it.”—The Free-Lance Star
 
“Any Dream Will Do by Debbie Macomber is a study in human tolerance and friendship. Macomber masterfully shows how all people have value.”—Fresh Fiction
 
“Macomber never disappoints. The message is uplifting and inspirational. Fans of Christian fiction or crossover works with a positive message will enjoy this book.”—Library Journal
Read the book that has book clubs everywhere falling in love! From the New York Times bestselling author of If You Only Knew comes an irresistible, heartbreaking novel.

Praise for On Second Thought:

“Higgins has perfect pitch when it comes to her upstate New York protagonists and their expanded worlds that even extend to Brooklyn. Emotional depth is seared into every page along with wry banter, bringing readers to tears and smiles. Another hit for Higgins.”—Library Journal, starred review

“A captivating read about two sisters dealing with love, loss and new beginnings. What sets this book apart is how one event changes both women's lives. Kate is refreshingly frank in her inner monologue, and Ainsley is charmingly self-aware and wry.”—RT Book Reviews, *5 STARS* Top Pick!

“Higgins' complex, witty characters will seem like close friends, and readers will savor each and every page as they find that love comes in many different flavors and forms. Demand will be high for the latest from this women's-fiction star.”—Booklist, starred review

Ainsley O'Leary is so ready to get married—she's even found the engagement ring her boyfriend has stashed away. What she doesn't anticipate is being blindsided by a breakup he chronicles in a blog…which (of course) goes viral. Devastated and humiliated, Ainsley turns to her older half sister, Kate, who's struggling with a sudden loss of her own.

Kate's always been the poised, self-assured sister, but becoming a newlywed—and a widow—in the space of four months overwhelms her. Though the sisters were never close, she starts to confide in Ainsley, especially when she learns her late husband was keeping a secret from her.

Despite the murky blended-family dynamic that's always separated them, Ainsley's and Kate's heartaches bind their summer together when they come to terms with the inevitable imperfection of relationships and family—and the possibility of one day finding love again.

Остров Бора-Бора, 1943 год.Анна Кэллоуэй решает сбежать от наскучившей тепличной жизни и отправляется в качестве военной медсестры с подругой Кити на острова Французской Полинезии. Но вскоре подруги начинают отдаляться друг от друга. Анна знакомится с Уэстри Грином, обаятельным солдатом, которому удается развеять ее тоску о доме и о потерянной дружбе. Однажды они находят неподалеку от дикого пляжа старую заброшенную хижину, в которой когда-то жил известный художник. Пытаясь сохранить находку и свои зарождающиеся чувства в тайне, они становятся свидетелями жуткого происшествия...Сиэтл, наши дни.Женевьева Торп отправляет на имя Анны Кэллоуэй письмо, в котором говорится об убийстве, произошедшем много лет назад на острове Бора-Бора. Женевьева намерена пролить свет на случившееся, но для начала ей нужно поделиться с Анной важной информацией...
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.