Always: A Novel

· Sold by Ballantine Books
4.1
34 reviews
Ebook
288
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

A gripping novel about the kind of love that never lets go, and the heart’s capacity to remember, from the New York Times bestselling author of Blackberry Winter and The Violets of March

Enjoying a romantic candlelit dinner with her fiancé, Ryan, at one of Seattle’s chicest restaurants, Kailey Crain can’t believe her good fortune: She has a great job as a journalist and is now engaged to a guy who is perfect in nearly every way. As she and Ryan leave the restaurant, Kailey spies a thin, bearded homeless man on the sidewalk. She approaches him to offer up her bag of leftovers, and is stunned when their eyes meet, then stricken to her very core: The man is the love of her life, Cade McAllister.

When Kailey met Cade ten years ago, their attraction was immediate and intense—everything connected and felt right. But it all ended suddenly, leaving Kailey devastated. Now the poor soul on the street is a faded version of her former beloved: His weathered and weary face is as handsome as Kailey remembers, but his mind has suffered in the intervening years. Over the next few weeks, Kailey helps Cade begin to piece his life together, something she initially keeps from Ryan. As she revisits her long-ago relationship, Kailey realizes that she must decide exactly what—and whom—she wants.

Alternating between the past and the present, Always is a beautifully unfolding exploration of a woman faced with an impossible choice, a woman who discovers what she’s willing to save and what she will sacrifice for true love.

Praise for Always

“[Sarah] Jio’s novel is a fantastic read that explores the world of lost love in a poignant and beautiful way, while still being light and easy to digest. The protagonist is one whom readers can relate to. . . . Jio’s tale also beautifully blends stories from both the past and the present. . . . It’s a great read and comes with high recommendations.”RT Book Reviews 

“Jio’s newest novel explores intersections of past and present and the complexities of love. . . . [Kailey] must confront her own past as she tries to figure out what she really wants. . . . Fans of Jio’s work will still find her signature emotional depth.”Publishers Weekly

“A heartwarming story of personal growth and the power of nostalgia . . . Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emily Giffin should enjoy this warm and compassionate novel.”Booklist

“Perfect for fireside reading.”PopSugar
4.1
34 reviews
Kristina Anderson
February 16, 2017
Always is the latest novel by Sarah Jio. Kailey Crain is a journalist with the Herald in Seattle, Washington in 2008. Kailey and her fiancé, Ryan are leaving a restaurant when she spots a homeless man outside. Kailey walks over to give him her leftovers, and discovers it is Cade McAllister. Cade and Kailey were very much in love and she had just discovered she was pregnant when he disappeared. Kailey has not heard from him since early August of 1998. Cade had co-owned Element Records with his best friend, James. Cade’s Aunt Fay had lent them the money to start the company. But, the business relationship between Cade and James started to deteriorate rapidly when James wanted to take the company in a different direction. Kailey is shocked to find Cade in such a state. She slowly wins his trust and gets him to a doctor. It turns out that Cade suffered a TBI (traumatic brain injury) which has left him in a state of confusion (has Swiss cheese memory). The doctor recommends a new program for Cade that will help him recover and get back the skills he has lost. Over time, he might regain his memory. Cade re-entering her life creates a dilemma for Kailey. She thought she had moved on from Cade, but seeing him has brought all the feelings back to the surface. Kailey, though, is also in love with Ryan. Kailey needs to make a choice. Which man has captured Kailey’s heart? I look forward to Sarah Jio’s new book every year. But I did find Always to be a disappointment. I found Always to be a cliché romance novel. It is nicely written and had a good pace (for the most part). The story is somewhat intriguing (especially in the beginning), but then it turns into a predictable romance novel. There are some interesting music references in the book based on Cade’s love of music. I did find the characters to be a little flat (one-dimensional). I give Always 3 out of 5 stars (there are readers who will enjoy it). It is easy to figure out what happened to Cade in 1998. I was a little disappointed that Ms. Jio finishes the book with unanswered questions. The reader never finds out how Cade survived the ten years on the street especially with his injuries. There are areas that will have you shouting at Kailey. Cade just enters the program and Kailey is the only person he knows. He counts on her to visit him. But, Kailey goes on a vacation to Cabo with Ryan. Is this the best time for a romantic trip to Mexico? Does she really think Cade will handle not seeing her? Another moment that was odd (and had me shaking my head with disbelief) is when Kailey finally tracks down Cade (not the first night she sees him outside the restaurant). Instead of taking him somewhere to get immediate assistance, she takes off to visit James. If you had been hunting for this man, would you just leave him again? Kailey had no idea if she would be able to locate him once again. I wish less time had been devoted to Kailey thinking about Cade (how he looked, his charm, etc.). It reminded me of the Harlequin romance novels I read as a teenager. Always was not up to Sarah Jio’s normal standards (like The Violets of March or Blackberry Winter). I will, of course, order Ms. Jio’s next book. Always could have been an off novel for her.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
A beautiful love story...so different from anything I've ever read. Loved the characters and the story line. Everyone has a story and this one was very enjoyable.
A Google user
I was reading right along---but somehow, the ending was a disappointment--too easy a solution.

About the author

Sarah Jio is the #1 international, New York Times, and USA Today bestselling author of eleven novels. She is the host of the ModAboutYou podcast and also a longtime journalist who has contributed to Glamour, The New York Times, Redbook, Real Simple, O: The Oprah Magazine, Bon Appétit, Marie Claire, Self, and many other outlets, including NPR's Morning Edition. Jio's books have been published in more than twenty-five countries. She lives in Seattle with her husband, three young boys, three stepchildren, and two puppies.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.