The Night Raven: An Urban Fantasy Paranormal Mystery Novel

Crow Investigations Urban Fantasy Mystery Series Book 1 · Siskin Press Ltd
4.1
7 reviews
Ebook
248
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

**'I'm a huge fan!' Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels**


The Night Raven is the first book in Crow Investigations, an exciting paranormal mystery series from bestselling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter. 


Meet Lydia Crow...


Lydia has always known she has no power, especially next to her infamous and more-than-slightly dodgy family. Which is why she carved her own life as a private investigator far away from London.

When a professional snafu forces her home, the head of the family calls in a favour, and Lydia finds herself investigating the disappearance of her cousin, Maddie.

Soon, Lydia is neck-deep in problems: her new flatmate is a homicidal ghost, the intriguing, but forbidden, DCI Fleet is acting in a distinctly unprofessional manner, and tensions between the old magical families are rising.


The Crows used to rule the roost and rumours claim they are still the strongest.

The Silvers have a facility for lying and they run the finest law firm in London.

The Pearl family were costermongers and everybody knows that a Pearlie can sell feathers to a bird.

The Fox family... Well. The less said about the Fox family the better.


For seventy-five years, a truce between the four families has held strong, but could the disappearance of Maddie Crow be the thing to break it?


The Night Raven is the first book in Crow Investigations, an exciting paranormal mystery series from bestselling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter. 


‘My favourite new urban fantasy series, clever and twisty and deliciously magical, with a shivery sense of wonder that feels utterly grounded in its London setting. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Genevieve Cogman or Robert Galbraith!’

Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled and Masks and Shadows

‘Clever and charming and funny – and a bit creepy!’

Keris Stainton, author of If You Could See Me Now and Counting Stars

'All my favourite things together - mystery, crime, a sassy female PI and a magical underworld going on right under Londoner's noses.'

Author A.L. Michael



KEYWORDS: urban fantasy, paranormal mystery, female detective, private eye, magical London, urban fantasy series, British fantasy, ghost mystery, supernatural crime fiction, magic crime family, woman PI mystery, sleuth.

4.1
7 reviews
Maria Mk
September 28, 2022
for the first time in years I've been hooked in a book series all the way. Could be the fact that this series is just one long book. The thing that fascinates me the most is that I didn't loose interest once in the seven books I've read so far. (eagerly waiting for book eight) there's not many authors that can keep my interest for this long. 10/10 would recommend
Did you find this helpful?
Audrey S
February 13, 2021
underwhelming with not enough world building.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
gladys howard
August 17, 2022
🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Sarah is the bestselling author of contemporary magical fiction, 'book club' fiction, and urban fantasy. She also has two non-fiction books for writers.

Sarah lives in rural Scotland with her husband and children. She drinks too much tea, loves the work of Joss Whedon, and is the proud owner of a writing shed.

For more information and access to her free readers' club please visit:

www.sarah-painter.com

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.