Sawkill Girls

· Sold by HarperCollins
3.6
14 reviews
Ebook
464
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

“Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power.” —Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth

“An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength.” —Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

FIVE STARRED REVIEWS

NAMED ONE OF YALSA’S 2019 BEST FICTION FOR YOUNG ADULTS

A BRAM STOKER AWARD NOMINEE

A LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD NOMINEE

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.

Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

3.6
14 reviews
Ritu Nair
October 3, 2018
Sawkill Girls brings about a murder mystery with the gothic charm of The Raven Cycle and a slice of Supernatural. For generations, girls have been disappearing from the island, girls who are friends of the Mortimer family, girls who are never found again. Now, three girls are called to face down the evil that plagues the island. The plot is has strong gothic vibes, and revels in the horror atmosphere it creates. The writing lends to a mystery being built up, to a supernatural conclusion and a hard fight that takes the protagonists beyond the known world. The story is narrated by three main characters, Valerie, Marion and Zoey. Valerie has been brought up in an abusive household, raised to serve a monster and told she has no alternative other than the one she is told. Her character development is complicated, and written cleverly to portray its journey from a feigned carelessness to an impassioned longing. Marion, who has learnt to push down her feelings to be a strong person for her family finally gets a chance to feel things, when she meets Val. Her personal loss is also a great impetus for her character to make decisions in the book. And Zoey, who is a marvelous fighter, strikes back against the things that are traditional for the island, be it the attitude of the people or the way monsters are fought. Together, they herald a change for their world. The writing, as described before, is very atmospheric. Marion’s POV, particularly, records her changes, her evolving senses and strengthening connection with the island. Val’s POV shows us the ruthlessness of the monster lurking as well as the cruelty of her family; something she can been complicit in, but also feels remorse for. Zoey’s is partly grief and partly fire, and her righteous cause is tempered with Marion’s caution, and the friendship between the two of them, while developed shortly, forms a strong bond. Zoey’s relationship with Grayson is also portrayed with sensitivity as well as the levity required for teenagers. The only thing where the book didn’t satisfy me is the pacing – it spent most of the first half just building up the atmosphere and everything, and was dragging on for a lot of parts. It does horror well, but the stakes aren’t raised until like 2/3rd of the book. Overall, it is an atmospheric read, perfect for fall.
Did you find this helpful?
Leta
December 12, 2018
Murder, monsters, the patriarchy ... and queer identities, feminism, magic, hope. A truly eerie story with lush prose, Sawkill Girls is the kind of story I wish I'd had as a teen and am so grateful to have an an adult.
Did you find this helpful?
Charity Frye
June 5, 2019
A mysterious curse on a small island. A cast of strong, diverse, young women. Magic, monsters and mayhem. All of these elements come together to make a thriller with many twists and turns.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Claire Legrand is the author of Foxheart, The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, The Year of Shadows, and Some Kind of Happiness, as well as the New York Times-bestselling young adult fantasy Furyborn and its sequels. She is one of the four authors behind The Cabinet of Curiosities. Claire Legrand lives in New Jersey.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.