The Affair: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist

Bookouture
51
Free sample

The moment she opened her eyes, she knew everything had changed. The stale taste of alcohol; her uneasy stomach. She looked at her husband sleeping peacefully, and knew she would never tell anyone what happened last night.

 

You will think you know what happened to Alicia that night.

 

You will see a desperate wife, lying to her husband.

 

You will watch a charming lover, trying to win her back.

 

You will judge her, just like everyone else.

 

You will assume you know what happens next. But everything you think you know about the past, the relationships, what drives Alicia and her husband to lie... is wrong.

 

If you loved The Girl on the Train, The Wife Between Us and The Sister, you’ll love this compelling and gripping psychological thriller from Sheryl Browne. The Affair will have you hooked from the very first page!

 

What readers are saying about The Affair:

Wow... I'm speechless... it is just that amazing… seriously stop reading this review and just buy the book… I was so gripped by this that I read it in record time, and even when I paused for a break, my mind was still on it… This is addictive, compulsive book that has blown me away…  Clear yourself a few hours where you can lock yourself away from the real world… simply superb!Rachel’s Random Reads

 

Wow!!! I was totally taken away with this book from page one. A real page turner. Go 1-click this book today, you won't regret it. So many twists and turns.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘This was a really, really good book… twists on twists!... The ending was awesome!!!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘Great read!!!…Wow! Just as you think everything is settled, it isn't!!! This book is not to be missed! Recommend!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

Wow!! I read this book in just a weekend!!... I read it so fast!! If you like psychological thrillers, you should definitely pick this one up! :)’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

Wow!... The Affair is a hugely addictive book … A compelling story with dark and chilling moments, and it will have you gripped to the pages. A definite 5 star read.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘The story starts with a big shock, BAM, in your face and it carries on from there until the very last sentence… I LOVED it, a great read, told in this author’s special easy to read style that brings you in and keeps you there.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

Expect the unexpected, don’t try to predict the many twists and turns (you’ll NEVER guess the ending) and get the tissues ready.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

One hell of a bang… This book really plays with the emotions, there are times when I empathised with the main character but hated her. There were other times when I hated what she was doing but loved her. I really liked it.’ Nigel Adams Bookworm

 

An unputdownable read. I loved that I had no idea what the author had in store next for me.’ By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

‘It's an enthralling story that keeps your attention all the way through with an interesting twist to add even more spice.’ B for Book Review, 5 stars

 

‘The secrets and the family drama throughout this book. I couldn't put the book down, it's just so good.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

A suspenseful thriller with a flipping twist at the ending.’ Escape With a Book

 

‘Sheryl Browne is an author whose work I will watch out for from now on! It starts off with a bang and never quite lets up… the story gripping and emotional. Recommended!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘A compelling psychological thriller… Let's just say that there are many twists and secrets and lies aplenty… pulls you into the story and holds you there until the end!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

Read more
Collapse
4.2
51 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 10, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
350
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781786814616
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
‘Seriously I can not recommend it enough… From the end of the very first sentence I was entranced… will certainly make my top ten… I was gripped, I endured, I didn't have a clue and I survived it all. This book is something else.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

When city girl Shona moves with her partner Mikey and their baby to an idyllic cottage in rural Scotland, she believes that all that lies ahead for her family is happiness.

 

But with Mikey working long hours away from home, the frightening isolation of the Scottish countryside begins to get to Shona. She feels lonely and trapped.

 

That is, until she is rescued by a new friendship with the enchanting Valentina. Valentina enters Shona’s life like a whirlwind, bringing excitement and spontaneity to replace boredom and fear.

 

Now Shona has the perfect home, the perfect man, and the perfect new best friend – or does she?

 

As Shona’s fairytale life begins to unravel, the deep dark wood outside becomes the least of her fears...

 

From Amazon chart bestseller S.E. Lynes, Valentina is an unputdownable thriller with a twist that will take your breath away. Fans of Gone Girl, The Woman at the Window and The Wife Between Us will be gripped!

 

What readers are saying about S.E. Lynes:

 

'Wow, wow, wow... I absolutely devoured this book. An absolute must read.' Into the Reading Corner

 

‘Move over Gone Girl, you’ve got company on the top shelf.’ Read & Rated Book Reviews

 

'An intelligent psychological drama with a gasp-making twist.' Good Housekeeping – thriller of the month

 

‘I found myself completely consumed by this book, I was moved to tears … will suck you right up and spit you out at the other end as an emotional wreck … There are not enough stars or words strong enough to do this book justice’ Chapter In My Life, 5 stars

 

'Oh my! So many twists and turns in this book! I couldn’t stop reading just waiting to see what’s next! Then, oh my goodness, I didn’t see that coming! I literally couldn’t put it down... Exhilarating!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I am struggling to put into words exactly how good this book is… downright chilling… I truly can't wait for her next one!! I have no doubt that this will be in my top reads of 2017! 5 MASSIVE stars.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I didn't want to put it down and by 80% I was knocking it back like tequila. I was so engrossed in it during my lunch break today that I was 15 minutes late going back to work … 5 big fat stars from me, I would give it so many more if I could and I will be shouting its praise from the rooftops for a long time to come.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Gave me goosebumps, made my heart race and my blood run cold… it is pure genius… A very easy five stars from me, I'd give it more if I could.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘Wow! What a book!... So many twists, none of which I saw coming!... One of the best thrillers I have read!’ Renita D’Silva

 

'A thrilling read, this book has twists and turns galore and I devoured it in one sitting!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

The perfect family. A moment that will change everything.

 

Emma thought she had the perfect life: a beautiful home, a loving husband and a gorgeous son.

 

She was wrong.

 

When she wakes up to find herself in hospital, Emma has no memory of how she got there or why her husband and son won’t come to see her.

 

What happened to Emma’s family?

 

Emma is desperate to find out what happened – and that her loved ones are safe – but remembering the truth could be the most dangerous thing of all…

 

An addictive and page-turning psychological thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder and checking the doors are locked. If you love B.A. Paris, Shari Lapena and K.L. Slater, The Last Thing I Saw is for you.

 

Previously published as Don’t Let Me Die. This edition contains significant editorial revisions.

 

What readers are saying about The Last Thing I Saw:

 

‘One of the best I've read in a long time. Had me on the edge of my seat. I couldn't put it down until I found out what happened. A great thriller that had me double checking the locks on my door. Will definitely tell everyone to read this great book.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘Wowee, what a reveal right near the end!... The sense of fear and panic grows throughout the book… until we come to the final showdown. Which I have to say, is a cracker. Loved it!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would. This is a very well written, fast-paced, page-turner with a shocking ending that I did not see coming… If you are looking for a gripping thriller, I highly recommend this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘A fantastic page-turner! I got so caught up in this story I just had to keep reading… I really enjoyed this book, love a book that sucks you in at the start and doesn’t let you go ’til the very end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘This is one ending that will shock!! I would highly recommend it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘The opening chapters had me drawn in immediately and I found it almost impossible to put down this fabulous psychological read… A fantastic read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Absolutely amazing read!... A nonstop page-turning thriller with a twist… Highly enjoyable, would recommend 10 out of 10!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Truly compelling read! Read in one sitting, the author kept me guessing… I definitely wasn’t expecting that twist!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘A psychological thriller that had me guessing the whole book… A really good read… Scary, tense, exciting and generous in its twists and turns. 10/10.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘This was a fast-paced thriller that held my attention from beginning to end! The ending was definitely unexpected... Would definitely recommend.’ Netgalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Absolutely amazing! A thrilling, heart-pounding, brilliant tale, deftly told by a master of the art… An unputdownable and fabulous debut.’ Renita D’Silva, 5 stars

 

‘I loved the way the book kept me questioning what was going on and what had actually happened on that night… Creepy, spine-tingling and hypnotic!! A very much recommended read!!’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

‘I did not want to put it down. Each chapter reveals a bit more and pulls you in deeper, and you keep flipping those pages… A great read!!’ Tropical Delusions, 5 stars


‘If you like a psychological thriller that takes you on a roller-coaster ride and makes you want to keep turning the pages, then this book is for you! I thought I had it figured out – but I was way off! I didn’t want to put this one down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.